Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1996 Lexus LX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 31 Ratings for the 1996 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Best Luxury SUV

By on Friday, April 08, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought it used with 150k and have never had any problems with it. I was debating between the Land Cruiser/LX450 or a Range Rover. Although more expensive to buy upfront, the overall ownership costs are lower than other same class luxury SUVs like Range Rover. I also have to say that I really don't understand people complaining on here about the MPG rating of this vehicle. The EPA rated it as 13 MPG city and 15 highway. You should have expected to get that mileage. If your MPG are within that range then I think you have no right to complain."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

tough truck

By on Saturday, March 29, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I tried to tell my wife this was a "truck" and she agreed after driving it. She loves it, and we have owned it for 8 years now. Bought it 3 yrs old with 30k miles, now it has 168k miles. The front brakes are probably the weak point, dealer pads were only lasting 20k miles. After market pads are now lasting 40k. Agree with other reviewers - doesn't need repairs often, but they are really expensive when it does. Gas mileage is around 13, with best of about 16 on the road."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

solid and tight

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had mine since 115,000 miles and it still runs/drives like new...now has 185,000 miles (has a small oil drip, oh well) and goes off road like no other vehicle (it's a LandCruiser). Love it...just wish the gas milage was a bit better."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 06, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased this car in 2001 with 50,000 miles on it. This thing was loaded and my wife wanted it right then. This has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. We change the fluids and get the recommended service but other than that we have not put another penny into this car. The only problem that I can find is that the V-6 is not very powerful. I tried to tow my boat one time and the last time. My wife plans to drive this car until it reaches 200k."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great suv

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this suv since 2000. It is extremely reliable, but when it breaks it is expensive to fix. It drives more like a truck than a luxury suv, but it is very comfortable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LX near Honolulu. See local deals