Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2005 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 238 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Best luxury car on the road

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extraordinary value and very reliable"

Cons: "Absolutely none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car when it was 2 years old with 28K miles. We've put almost 100K on it. We've replaced a water pump based on the dealers recommendation (It had not failed/was not leaking) and rear wheel bearings. One set of brakes and two sets of tires and one battery. That is phenominal reliability and very low cost of ownership. This LS 430 is technically and functionally superior in every category to my 2001 BMW 740i. Seat adjustment, seat heating, seat comfort,sound system, Nav system, windshield wippers are all significantly better on the LS430. Ours has the rare "Performance Suspension" and handles noticeably better than the standard LS 430. The BMW is a little more fun to drive - it is a driving machine - just not well engineered for durability/reliability."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Ultimate Ride!!!!!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride comfortable, plush"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Black Gold.......Texas Tea

"This car is awesome!!! All aspects of it are pure luxury, elegance, and style. The ride is silky smooth, if you test drive it please pay attention to the speedometer. The cabin is so quiet, at 60 or 70 mph it does not feel like it. The suspension and handling are great for a 4 ton car, it cannot be compared to it's rivals....it is one of a kind. My reccomendation, drive it,buy it, love it!!! My best car EVER!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Black Gold.......Texas Tea

excellent motorcar

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great investment"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"handling, comfort, instruments, ergonomics are great"

This vehicle is the height of luxury!

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is the most comfortable ride you will ever have. Lumbar support in the seats are great. The leg room is great, especially with the range of movement within which the seat can be adjusted. The car is great on gas, considering it is a V8, especially when you stick with premium grade fuel as recommended; I get about 20 MPG on average between city and highway driving. The pick up is outstanding, particularly when ECT is engaged. This car really moves, considering it's size. 90 MPH feels like you're going 40 MPH - the ride is so smooth, no vibrations at faster speeds (goes up to 160 MPH). The styling is great to look at; the Mark Levinson sound is awesome, the trunk is huge...I could go on and on. If I gave you this car to drive without telling you how old it was, you would never guess that it is over 10 years old. I will definitely buy another one in the next year or two - I just love this one so much and it is in such excellent condition, I haven't really been able to justify replacing it yet. My only one small complaint is the rear wheel drive (not so good in New England winters), but the new ones come with AWD as an option, so that problem goes away."

Best car ever before purchasing my 2008 LS.

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Extremely reliable vehicle and the best car we have owned."

Simply great

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a dream. even at it's age it still runs and ride great. Super Quiet. Little heavy on gas consumption, but otherwise perfect."

excellent vehicle, well enginered, attractive and

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great vehicle even if you were to buy this used"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent HP"

Great car

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything, wonderful car"

Cons: "Non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. I love it. Comfortable, quiet, rides like a dream. Tons of power. Very fast."

One of the best, comfortable,reliable cars

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extremely comfortable, powerful"

Cons: "cup holders do not hold larger cup,I know tradgec"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was just checking the trade-in value on this 7 year old, 100,000 mile vehicle. I'm 58 an this is my wife's car and it is without a doubt the best overall vehicle we have owned. On the highway there is no comparison, it is so smooth, powerful and comfortable that while my wife is looking at the Lexus SC, I will not let her trade this in because in my opinion it would be hard pressed for another vehicle to match this one and I drove this from Albuquerque to El Paso 5 days a week (roundtrip of almost 580 miles a day) for over 6 months without so much as a hickup in performance."

One of the finest overall vehicles ever built!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tight, smooth, quiet, fast"

Cons: "not a BMW feel but close"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic overall. A benchmark"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best luxury sedan ever!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent design in and out,fast for a heavy sedan"

Cons: "wish the ultra pkg wasn't so much of a costly upgr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my silver cloud (2002 Lexus LS430) in 2008 from a private party and what a smart decision that was! talk about speed and cruising down the highway on butter soft leather seats, feeling like you're on clouds...and that is just the tip of it...for being the BIG one of the Lexus line, it performs quickly in both city and highway driving and the amenities for my base model are too much to name...for the Silver Cloud's "birthday", I replaced the alloy rims with Lexus chrome rims and trimmed the black pillars with chrome...what a nice touch...i am convinced that Lexus is THE luxury car to invest in...it really changed my mind about the possible BMW I had my eye on...a 2005 Mercedes Benz E300 friend of mine borrowed my Lex for 2 weeks and came back raving about the differences in our cars..all in favor of the Lexus, of course...the handling, the seats, the overall performance...I am super pleased!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lexus flagship is the way to go

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smoothness, reliability, just about everything..."

Cons: "Initial cost of new car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can't go wrong with a Lexus. The LS430 is smooth, quiet, powerful, full of options, spacious, the list just goes on. I would definitely buy another LS whenever this car gives up. I've read that this car can go over 200,000 miles."

i love my lexus

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my lex on 20's is the best"

Now 8 model years old and never a problem.

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2004 -- one new set of tires, one new battery and front brake pads and that is the total of work done to the car in 8 years. Reliable, still good looking and it gets 29 mpg on the road. (Around town mpg is not good, however -- about 17 mmpg.) Comfortable luxury at its best."

Frustrated :)

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride"

Cons: "conservative styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my '01 LS used with 29k and 9 years later have driven it to 140k. Drives as good today as the day I bought it. It's even better than the new cars I'm interested in. I'm starting to get frustrated ... drive a new car, get back in my '01 LS and it drives better. If you can find one, buy it. The mechanics tell me this car is one of the best that Lexus made and has many more miles ahead. Now for my new care search ..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned just about everything, including an S-class Mercedes. The quality and reliability of this car are outstanding, and despite manufacturer claims I have exceeded 30 mpg on long trips, cruising at 75. I aim to keep this a little longer but there is no question what my next car will be."

Unbelievable car

By on Saturday, December 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth ride, short turning radius, comfy"

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had it almost 4 years and am still discovering features. The only car model I will ever drive. Get one that's 2-3 years old to avoid the showroom prices. Can't say enough good things about it; a very well thought out car! Climate control works great, which is much appreciated after years of driving Mercedes! Sound system is terrific."

Maybe the best car ever made.

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Even after 150000 miles everything works perfectly"

Cons: "Tends to wander a little at freeway speeds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car used when it had 97000 miles. Have maintained it meticulously ever since and the car has been a dream. I have had Lincolns, Buicks, and a host of other domestic cars and there is no comparison. I now have 150000 miles on it and it looks and feels exactly like when I got it. People are shocked when I tell them the mileage. Most think it has 30000 miles or less. The Lexus LS430 is not a drivers car but if you want comfortable trouble free driving this is the one. I am convinced that almost any used LS is a much better deal than even a new car at the same price."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT CAR"

This is the best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,320

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive effortless excelleration"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car for my dad's 80th birthday. When he could no longer drive he insisted that I keep it. This car while not driven much is fantastic. Long drives seem short. The ride and handling are impressive for a vehicle of this size and weight. This is my second LS and it does make it difficult to look at something else. While it is not as sporty as say a BMW 5 series, in many ways it is so much better. This will not be my last LS."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Total comfort; would love to have the latest model. Plan to purchase LS 460 within the next year. Will probably be a Lexus owner from now on. Nothing else seems appealing now that I have owned one for the past 7 years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2003 Lexus LS430

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, power, ride, dependability"

Cons: "maintenance cost at the dealer, snow tires a MUST"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used three years ago and drive about 60,000 miles per year. Besides some general maintenance, I have had no issues. This car still purrs and runs better than most new cars. I feel like I could drive it forever. I am not a super aggressive driver and usually get 26-28 MPG hwy out of this 290 h.p. V8! I put 389,000 miles on my last Lexus ('01 GS430) and plan to do the same with this one. Best car I've ever owned."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Can't imagine better vehicle for comfort and value

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, reliability, comfort, performance, etc"

Cons: "Needs 4 great snow tires in winter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second LS I've purchase USED. First was an '89 I bought with 139K miles and 7 yrs old. Pushed it to 300K and sold it for $3k. Best stereo ever (Nakamishi)even in a home. This one, 2002, bought with 80K miles - now have 210K miles heading to who knows what. These cars are amazing - and could last forever. Paid less than $20k for each and have enjoyed years of the best cars on the road for only 19 cents per mile ownership and maintenance. Only drawback - horrible in the snow except when I put 4 Toyo Observe snows on in the winter - and it drove like a 4WD vehicle. Waiting for next move, but in no hurry!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Pure enjoyment

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, Low gas consumption, Comfortable..."

Cons: "Do not see any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you enjoy driving a long distances, this is your car. Comfortable"

AMAZING, by all means.

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Speed, Luxury.. everything!"

Cons: "Cup holder broke"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is beautiful, luxurious, comfortable and absolutely amazing to drive!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals