Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2004 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 253 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Great Road Car

By on Saturday, June 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My LS has over 215,000 and runs as well as it did when I first bought it. I owned a GS 400 which I loved. This car is an absolute dream and I am still incredibly pleased with its performance at over 25 mpg highway. I replaced the timing belt as suggested. Typical items are beginning to show their age, such as the steering column motors have stopped working and compressor switch needs some care to keep the air conditioning working properly. All to be expected for over 200m miles. I am looking for a 2006 LS now because I love the body style. This car is a winner."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best ever owned

By on Sunday, May 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ride, No road noise, performance, safetydetail...truly a world class vehicle...Will buy nothing else"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever

By on Saturday, February 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought an 03 ls430 after keeping my brother in law's for a weekend. Was shopping Mercedes but the 430 stole my heart and it's been a great marriage every since. The car is awesome! Super comfort, great fuel economy, complete head turner,doesn't break down... the pros never stop! Will own an L from now on!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 24, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my 4th Lexus and easily the best. While styling is somewhat vanilla I've put 49,000 miles on the car and it's never been in the shop for problems."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My 6th LS since 1992. Best vehicle there is, regardless of price. Never had any problems, and any shortcomings have always been corrected on the next car. Which is why I will have an LS460 in November."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my Lexus

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"Quiet, smooth ride. The comfort in my Lexus is amazing. Great road trip vehicle even for those in the back seat. I think it is boring to look at from the outside but I forget all about that while I am in the drivers seat."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LIKE A DREAM RIDE

By on Friday, January 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"BEST AUTO EVER OWNED-ALWAYS OWNED HIGH END AUTOS-WILL BE DIFFUCULT TO REPLACE-(HAD A JAG XK-8, BEFORE THIS LEXUS-MAKES THE JAG LOOK LIKE A FAILURE-WILL NEVER OWN ANOTHER JAG -HAVE HAD 3 EARLIER JAGS 65, 67, 69 -ALL MUCH BETTER THAN THE NEWER ONES--LEXUS STANDS BEHIND THEIR CARS-GREAT SERVICE)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, November 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car used from my boss, '02 w/ 113,000 miles. Performance is awesome, faster than a speeding bullet & 30 mpg on recent trip! Very reliable- only 2 seperate tail light bulbs have been replaced. Super comfortable on recent trip from Boise to Sacramento= no fatigue what so ever. Only complaint- it drives like a Buick, too soft, my E-class Merecedes was much more FUN to drive! I think my next car will be a GS430!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Sunday, November 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I really love this car it has great power handling roomy no problems passing sports cars on the roads. lots of power ! ! ! !"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"Value, reliability, quality, performance and comfort are equal to the more pricey German competitors. I had a 98 LS prior to this one and will definitely continue to purchase Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Tuesday, June 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just bought my fourth LS. Have driven an LS since 1998. In 17 years I have spent less than $1,500 in repairs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding

By on Wednesday, January 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride, comfort, convienience, options, performance"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

sweet ride

"This just might be the finest sedan ever made. If you can find one with low miles , buy it ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

sweet ride

Best car so far

By on Saturday, August 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quick, comfort, luxury,sound system"

Cons: "fuel consumption could be better 18/24 mpg outside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2004 LS430 ultra, best car I have ever owned. Quick, comfortable even on long trips. No real problems, brakes, tires, timming belt & water pumpdoor lock cruise control. I hate to get rid of it, I love it, but it's hard to find the equivalent equipment on a new model. I highly advise anyone to get one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SUPER FIRST CLASS RIDE

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "aLL THE EXTRAS MAKE THIS A DELIGHT TO DRIVE."

Cons: "GAS COULD BE BETTER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"FANTASTIC RIDING CAR AND WITH ALL THE EXTRAS PLUS BACK UP CAMERA. THIS IS FUN TO DRIVE, VERY SAFE AND A CROWD PLEASER. I DON'T LIKE PREMIUM GAS AND THE SOUND SYSTEM CAN BE IMPROVED A NOTCH, BUT DRIVE FOR 10 HOURS WITH NO PAIN. THE AIR CONDITION IS PERFECT FOR KEEPING THE TEMP. I HAVE ONLY NEW CARS AND BOUGHT THIS 04 IN 1-10 AND LOVE DRIVING IT. i HAD A BMW 740 BEFORE BUT THIS IS A COMFORT CALL."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the finest overall vehicles ever built!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tight, smooth, quiet, fast"

Cons: "not a BMW feel but close"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic overall. A benchmark"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best luxury sedan ever!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent design in and out,fast for a heavy sedan"

Cons: "wish the ultra pkg wasn't so much of a costly upgr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my silver cloud (2002 Lexus LS430) in 2008 from a private party and what a smart decision that was! talk about speed and cruising down the highway on butter soft leather seats, feeling like you're on clouds...and that is just the tip of it...for being the BIG one of the Lexus line, it performs quickly in both city and highway driving and the amenities for my base model are too much to name...for the Silver Cloud's "birthday", I replaced the alloy rims with Lexus chrome rims and trimmed the black pillars with chrome...what a nice touch...i am convinced that Lexus is THE luxury car to invest in...it really changed my mind about the possible BMW I had my eye on...a 2005 Mercedes Benz E300 friend of mine borrowed my Lex for 2 weeks and came back raving about the differences in our cars..all in favor of the Lexus, of course...the handling, the seats, the overall performance...I am super pleased!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Frustrated :)

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride"

Cons: "conservative styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my '01 LS used with 29k and 9 years later have driven it to 140k. Drives as good today as the day I bought it. It's even better than the new cars I'm interested in. I'm starting to get frustrated ... drive a new car, get back in my '01 LS and it drives better. If you can find one, buy it. The mechanics tell me this car is one of the best that Lexus made and has many more miles ahead. Now for my new care search ..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Can't imagine better vehicle for comfort and value

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, reliability, comfort, performance, etc"

Cons: "Needs 4 great snow tires in winter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second LS I've purchase USED. First was an '89 I bought with 139K miles and 7 yrs old. Pushed it to 300K and sold it for $3k. Best stereo ever (Nakamishi)even in a home. This one, 2002, bought with 80K miles - now have 210K miles heading to who knows what. These cars are amazing - and could last forever. Paid less than $20k for each and have enjoyed years of the best cars on the road for only 19 cents per mile ownership and maintenance. Only drawback - horrible in the snow except when I put 4 Toyo Observe snows on in the winter - and it drove like a 4WD vehicle. Waiting for next move, but in no hurry!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Buy

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was ahead of its time. I own the Ultra Luxury Package model which has more features in 2002 then the majority of 2012 vehicles. With 96,000 miles I have had no major issues. Highly recommend."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Value!

By on Wednesday, August 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, comfort"

Cons: "Hate 6-CD Changer, too many controls for my liking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. We purchased it at 2 yrs (former lease car according to CarFax) through a dealer and got the extended warranty. We really haven't had any major problems with it and rarely have had anything other than normal maintenance on it. Gets great gas mileage on the highway-25 mpg despite the V8. We take it on long trips because it is really comfortable and gets better mileage than our F150 4x4. Would purchase another one used again. Despite being 10 yrs old, the style of the grill is still fantastic (the rear end a bit dated)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle

By on Monday, May 09, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my second LS, I owned a 95 and now recently purchased a 2003 LS with low miles. Drive is quiet and smooth; more than enough power under the hood for what I need and the gas mileage 21.2 average isn't bad for this luxury sedan. I looked at some newer ones but found this one with only 45k so decided to go with the older style LS. I like the upgrades and improvements Lexus has made from 1995 to 2003 with this model. I am pleased. My next vehicle will be another LS. I was an Acura aficionado for years and considered purchasing the RL but hands down, the LS outperforms the Acura RL in every category."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, February 19, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A Great Car

By on Friday, January 21, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The LS 430…one person summed it up perfectly-- A great car at a great price! I have read great things about it, did my homework on it, seen plenty of them on the road (still in excellent condition). I wouldn't change a thing about this car. The only con, which in my opinion is not much of a con, is the hp. 290hp, but really, who wants to fly over 100mph while enjoying a smooth, quiet, comfortable automobile like this? Every time I think I want to trade in my 430 (becasue I think I'm missing something), I look at reviews on other luxury cars and they have more cons then I wish to deal with. Also, Lexus provides excellent customer service at their service departments (the prices could be a little cheaper, but they take good care of me). I've had mine for over 2 years now (it’s a 2005 LS430). I like the body style (I'm not impressed with the LS460). Great standard features, roomy and not bad on gas (for a luxury car). Did I mention this is a "great car"! I would definitely recommend this car to all my friends. Forget what they say about it being an upscale Camry. There is a difference, ask any Lexus owner. This is our third Lexus (LS 400 and RX350). And, I'll most-likely buy another (the wife has her eye on a SC430), that's if the price is reasonable. You differently pay for what you get with these vehicles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, November 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

a luxurious workhorse

By on Tuesday, September 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I highky recommend this car. I have owned it for over six years. I drove it to the Super Bowl in Miami fron North Central Indian and Back in February 2010. It climed the mountains in Tenn like they were nothing. and drove through icy conditions very well I now have over 13500 miles and the only repairs were new brakes and wheel bushings."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals