Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2002 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 230 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.9/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

One of the best, comfortable,reliable cars

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extremely comfortable, powerful"

Cons: "cup holders do not hold larger cup,I know tradgec"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was just checking the trade-in value on this 7 year old, 100,000 mile vehicle. I'm 58 an this is my wife's car and it is without a doubt the best overall vehicle we have owned. On the highway there is no comparison, it is so smooth, powerful and comfortable that while my wife is looking at the Lexus SC, I will not let her trade this in because in my opinion it would be hard pressed for another vehicle to match this one and I drove this from Albuquerque to El Paso 5 days a week (roundtrip of almost 580 miles a day) for over 6 months without so much as a hickup in performance."

One of the finest overall vehicles ever built!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tight, smooth, quiet, fast"

Cons: "not a BMW feel but close"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic overall. A benchmark"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best luxury sedan ever!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent design in and out,fast for a heavy sedan"

Cons: "wish the ultra pkg wasn't so much of a costly upgr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my silver cloud (2002 Lexus LS430) in 2008 from a private party and what a smart decision that was! talk about speed and cruising down the highway on butter soft leather seats, feeling like you're on clouds...and that is just the tip of it...for being the BIG one of the Lexus line, it performs quickly in both city and highway driving and the amenities for my base model are too much to name...for the Silver Cloud's "birthday", I replaced the alloy rims with Lexus chrome rims and trimmed the black pillars with chrome...what a nice touch...i am convinced that Lexus is THE luxury car to invest in...it really changed my mind about the possible BMW I had my eye on...a 2005 Mercedes Benz E300 friend of mine borrowed my Lex for 2 weeks and came back raving about the differences in our cars..all in favor of the Lexus, of course...the handling, the seats, the overall performance...I am super pleased!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lexus flagship is the way to go

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smoothness, reliability, just about everything..."

Cons: "Initial cost of new car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can't go wrong with a Lexus. The LS430 is smooth, quiet, powerful, full of options, spacious, the list just goes on. I would definitely buy another LS whenever this car gives up. I've read that this car can go over 200,000 miles."

i love my lexus

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my lex on 20's is the best"

Now 8 model years old and never a problem.

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2004 -- one new set of tires, one new battery and front brake pads and that is the total of work done to the car in 8 years. Reliable, still good looking and it gets 29 mpg on the road. (Around town mpg is not good, however -- about 17 mmpg.) Comfortable luxury at its best."

Frustrated :)

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride"

Cons: "conservative styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my '01 LS used with 29k and 9 years later have driven it to 140k. Drives as good today as the day I bought it. It's even better than the new cars I'm interested in. I'm starting to get frustrated ... drive a new car, get back in my '01 LS and it drives better. If you can find one, buy it. The mechanics tell me this car is one of the best that Lexus made and has many more miles ahead. Now for my new care search ..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned just about everything, including an S-class Mercedes. The quality and reliability of this car are outstanding, and despite manufacturer claims I have exceeded 30 mpg on long trips, cruising at 75. I aim to keep this a little longer but there is no question what my next car will be."

Unbelievable car

By on Saturday, December 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth ride, short turning radius, comfy"

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had it almost 4 years and am still discovering features. The only car model I will ever drive. Get one that's 2-3 years old to avoid the showroom prices. Can't say enough good things about it; a very well thought out car! Climate control works great, which is much appreciated after years of driving Mercedes! Sound system is terrific."

Maybe the best car ever made.

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Even after 150000 miles everything works perfectly"

Cons: "Tends to wander a little at freeway speeds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car used when it had 97000 miles. Have maintained it meticulously ever since and the car has been a dream. I have had Lincolns, Buicks, and a host of other domestic cars and there is no comparison. I now have 150000 miles on it and it looks and feels exactly like when I got it. People are shocked when I tell them the mileage. Most think it has 30000 miles or less. The Lexus LS430 is not a drivers car but if you want comfortable trouble free driving this is the one. I am convinced that almost any used LS is a much better deal than even a new car at the same price."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT CAR"

This is the best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,320

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive effortless excelleration"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car for my dad's 80th birthday. When he could no longer drive he insisted that I keep it. This car while not driven much is fantastic. Long drives seem short. The ride and handling are impressive for a vehicle of this size and weight. This is my second LS and it does make it difficult to look at something else. While it is not as sporty as say a BMW 5 series, in many ways it is so much better. This will not be my last LS."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Total comfort; would love to have the latest model. Plan to purchase LS 460 within the next year. Will probably be a Lexus owner from now on. Nothing else seems appealing now that I have owned one for the past 7 years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2003 Lexus LS430

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, power, ride, dependability"

Cons: "maintenance cost at the dealer, snow tires a MUST"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used three years ago and drive about 60,000 miles per year. Besides some general maintenance, I have had no issues. This car still purrs and runs better than most new cars. I feel like I could drive it forever. I am not a super aggressive driver and usually get 26-28 MPG hwy out of this 290 h.p. V8! I put 389,000 miles on my last Lexus ('01 GS430) and plan to do the same with this one. Best car I've ever owned."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Can't imagine better vehicle for comfort and value

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, reliability, comfort, performance, etc"

Cons: "Needs 4 great snow tires in winter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second LS I've purchase USED. First was an '89 I bought with 139K miles and 7 yrs old. Pushed it to 300K and sold it for $3k. Best stereo ever (Nakamishi)even in a home. This one, 2002, bought with 80K miles - now have 210K miles heading to who knows what. These cars are amazing - and could last forever. Paid less than $20k for each and have enjoyed years of the best cars on the road for only 19 cents per mile ownership and maintenance. Only drawback - horrible in the snow except when I put 4 Toyo Observe snows on in the winter - and it drove like a 4WD vehicle. Waiting for next move, but in no hurry!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Pure enjoyment

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, Low gas consumption, Comfortable..."

Cons: "Do not see any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you enjoy driving a long distances, this is your car. Comfortable"

AMAZING, by all means.

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Speed, Luxury.. everything!"

Cons: "Cup holder broke"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is beautiful, luxurious, comfortable and absolutely amazing to drive!"

best car ever

By on Monday, November 07, 2011

I own this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ecellence condition"

good car

By on Saturday, October 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"over all 9/10"

One of the best cars I have owned in 40 years .

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This car is the most enjoyable car I have owned."

Cons: "The trunk space cannot accommodate a walker."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is one of the best cars I have owned in my 40 years of driving experience. The reason I am selling it is I am purchasing a new car. I need a walker and the trunk space is limited. I am reluctant to part with it!!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

another great lexus product

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "much more car for your money than most others"

Cons: "none to speak of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I continue to be impressed by Lexus. My first one was a 1992 SC400 that may well have been the best car I ever owned, but I foolishly sold it with 302,000 miles on it. Since then I also had an 2002 SC430, one of the most enjoyable cars to drive (and be seen in) I've had. Currently, I have a 2003 GS300 (Sport Edition) with 168,000 on it, which has been wonderful in all aspects, and a 2001 LS430 which redefines the luxury car. Extremely comfortable, nimble, and powerful with all the creature comforts one could ask for. If you're considering one, go for it! I've put a total of about 600,000 miles on my Lexuses and never needed more than routine maintenance."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought car when 3 years old with 35,000 miles. I loved it then, still love it just as much now. Most comfortable car I've ever riden in. I have back problems and cannot ride in most back seats. Height and depth of back seat means I can ride 8 hours without ill effects. I does turn on a dime, and jumps onto freeway when I accelerate to allow me to quickly merge in any type of traffic. Don't know what I'll do when it wears out-newer models don't compare to this body style"

What a luxury car is all about!

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "More expensive, but you get what you pay for!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car deserves a five star rating and I still love it. It drives as well today as the day that we drove it off the lot. In addition to the obvious features that are excellent, I have enjoyed the insulated windows which reduce the road noise and the seat bottom that adjusts to the length of my long legs. The seat belt also adjusts down so that it fits comfortably across my shoulder and not in my neck. It turns on a dime. It has never required service over and above maintenance, battery and tires. I honestly can't think of one negative thing to say!"

Good Buy

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was ahead of its time. I own the Ultra Luxury Package model which has more features in 2002 then the majority of 2012 vehicles. With 96,000 miles I have had no major issues. Highly recommend."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most comfortable road car ever. Drives great High gas mileage...27 mpg on the interstate. 6 years old and only a couple minor repairs. Big and roomy, esp back seat. Love the LS."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details