Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2001 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 249 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

I am going to buy the LS 460 because of this car.

By on Wednesday, November 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "not enough characters to say it all"

Cons: "not cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is so comfortable and quite (i can hear myself breathing when driving it) it is amazing. The Mark Levinson sound system is a must(WOW).The full leather and genuine wood interior looks and smells so good that it is very calming in Seattle traffic. I could say more but you will start to think i am stupid(I'm not)so i will stop here."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

BEST CAR & BEST VALUE IN ANY CAR I'VE OWNED!!!!

By on Friday, September 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safety, reliability, solid feel, good for 400k +!"

Cons: "wish it was sportier, drives like a Buick!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used from a customer w/ 106,000 on it,& now it has 168,000. My wife has a '91 LS400 w/ 179,000 . They are just phenominal cars. With the miles on them, there are generally minor repairs that you would expect. I use Mobil 1 oil & change it every 10,000 & less than 1/2 a quart down. I wish it drove a little sportier. It does have a tight turning radius that amazes all my friends. I'm hooked on the 'top of the line from Lexus!' & don't forget the safety issue....I feel very safe in this car!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Luxury Car

By on Thursday, September 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,558

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Build quality, smooth ride, great engine etc."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2004 Lexus LS430 is the best luxury car because it is very reliable, has a very smooth ride and alot of power. It is also very quiet and the build quality is excellent. I have owned and driven many cars from Mercedes, BMW, Audi, Cadillac, Buick, Oldsmobile etc. and none compare. Most expensive luxury cars are always in and out of the shop having something repaired but the Lexus is not and when you do have to take your car in for routine maintenance you receive outstanding customer service from the Lexus Dealership."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolute best vehicle i have ever owned in over 50

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Could have a little sportier look"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this vehicle since it was new. I am buying a new one soon. Fantastic bang for the buck. No real problems with the car, only maintainance. A joy to drive on long trips."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

THE BEST VEHICLE I'VE EVER OWNED!

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING, EVERY SINGLE THING"

Cons: "NOTHING, NOTHING, NOT A SINGLE THING"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of my 2004 Lexus LS430. It still looks and runs like the day I bought it and I expect will continue to do so for many years to come. It was pricey back in 2004, but WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY. Considering how far technology has come in eight years, this car has just about everything you could want in today's cars with the exception of USB ports which didn't exist back then. In short, when I come out to get in my car, and look over at it, it still takes my breath away. How many people can say that about their car after 8 years. I'll bet, not many. I LOVE THIS CAR!"

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

GREAT

By on Sunday, August 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT VALUE AND RELIABILITY"

Cons: "SHOULD HAVE STANDARD 19'' WHEELS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned two of these great vehicles, '03 and an '06, Great"

The best

By on Friday, July 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car still runs like new,extremely quiet, I've loved it for years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

So far it has been an excellent automobile.

By on Monday, June 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, quiet cabin and roomy interier"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with 130,000 miles on it. It now has 152,000 miles on it. So far it has been an excellent automobile. I haven't had any problems. I just keep the oil changed, clean it and drive it. This model is also a very stylish automobile. I have a friend that has a black one. I loved it so much, when I saw this blackcherry one for sale, I had to buy it. I was a little worried about the miles on it, but the previous ownder took such good care of it. It rides like a new car, especially on the highway."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Thursday, April 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"157000 miles and still rides fantastic . Fast, quick, great ride, smooth, quiet, and still gets 25 mpg cruising at 80mph down interstate."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best vehicle ever"

SUPER FIRST CLASS RIDE

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "aLL THE EXTRAS MAKE THIS A DELIGHT TO DRIVE."

Cons: "GAS COULD BE BETTER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"FANTASTIC RIDING CAR AND WITH ALL THE EXTRAS PLUS BACK UP CAMERA. THIS IS FUN TO DRIVE, VERY SAFE AND A CROWD PLEASER. I DON'T LIKE PREMIUM GAS AND THE SOUND SYSTEM CAN BE IMPROVED A NOTCH, BUT DRIVE FOR 10 HOURS WITH NO PAIN. THE AIR CONDITION IS PERFECT FOR KEEPING THE TEMP. I HAVE ONLY NEW CARS AND BOUGHT THIS 04 IN 1-10 AND LOVE DRIVING IT. i HAD A BMW 740 BEFORE BUT THIS IS A COMFORT CALL."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best luxury car on the road

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extraordinary value and very reliable"

Cons: "Absolutely none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car when it was 2 years old with 28K miles. We've put almost 100K on it. We've replaced a water pump based on the dealers recommendation (It had not failed/was not leaking) and rear wheel bearings. One set of brakes and two sets of tires and one battery. That is phenominal reliability and very low cost of ownership. This LS 430 is technically and functionally superior in every category to my 2001 BMW 740i. Seat adjustment, seat heating, seat comfort,sound system, Nav system, windshield wippers are all significantly better on the LS430. Ours has the rare "Performance Suspension" and handles noticeably better than the standard LS 430. The BMW is a little more fun to drive - it is a driving machine - just not well engineered for durability/reliability."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Ultimate Ride!!!!!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride comfortable, plush"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Black Gold.......Texas Tea

"This car is awesome!!! All aspects of it are pure luxury, elegance, and style. The ride is silky smooth, if you test drive it please pay attention to the speedometer. The cabin is so quiet, at 60 or 70 mph it does not feel like it. The suspension and handling are great for a 4 ton car, it cannot be compared to it's rivals....it is one of a kind. My reccomendation, drive it,buy it, love it!!! My best car EVER!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Black Gold.......Texas Tea

excellent motorcar

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great investment"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"handling, comfort, instruments, ergonomics are great"

This vehicle is the height of luxury!

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is the most comfortable ride you will ever have. Lumbar support in the seats are great. The leg room is great, especially with the range of movement within which the seat can be adjusted. The car is great on gas, considering it is a V8, especially when you stick with premium grade fuel as recommended; I get about 20 MPG on average between city and highway driving. The pick up is outstanding, particularly when ECT is engaged. This car really moves, considering it's size. 90 MPH feels like you're going 40 MPH - the ride is so smooth, no vibrations at faster speeds (goes up to 160 MPH). The styling is great to look at; the Mark Levinson sound is awesome, the trunk is huge...I could go on and on. If I gave you this car to drive without telling you how old it was, you would never guess that it is over 10 years old. I will definitely buy another one in the next year or two - I just love this one so much and it is in such excellent condition, I haven't really been able to justify replacing it yet. My only one small complaint is the rear wheel drive (not so good in New England winters), but the new ones come with AWD as an option, so that problem goes away."

Best car ever before purchasing my 2008 LS.

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Extremely reliable vehicle and the best car we have owned."

Simply great

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a dream. even at it's age it still runs and ride great. Super Quiet. Little heavy on gas consumption, but otherwise perfect."

excellent vehicle, well enginered, attractive and

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great vehicle even if you were to buy this used"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent HP"

Great car

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything, wonderful car"

Cons: "Non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. I love it. Comfortable, quiet, rides like a dream. Tons of power. Very fast."

One of the best, comfortable,reliable cars

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "extremely comfortable, powerful"

Cons: "cup holders do not hold larger cup,I know tradgec"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was just checking the trade-in value on this 7 year old, 100,000 mile vehicle. I'm 58 an this is my wife's car and it is without a doubt the best overall vehicle we have owned. On the highway there is no comparison, it is so smooth, powerful and comfortable that while my wife is looking at the Lexus SC, I will not let her trade this in because in my opinion it would be hard pressed for another vehicle to match this one and I drove this from Albuquerque to El Paso 5 days a week (roundtrip of almost 580 miles a day) for over 6 months without so much as a hickup in performance."

One of the finest overall vehicles ever built!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tight, smooth, quiet, fast"

Cons: "not a BMW feel but close"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic overall. A benchmark"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best luxury sedan ever!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent design in and out,fast for a heavy sedan"

Cons: "wish the ultra pkg wasn't so much of a costly upgr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my silver cloud (2002 Lexus LS430) in 2008 from a private party and what a smart decision that was! talk about speed and cruising down the highway on butter soft leather seats, feeling like you're on clouds...and that is just the tip of it...for being the BIG one of the Lexus line, it performs quickly in both city and highway driving and the amenities for my base model are too much to name...for the Silver Cloud's "birthday", I replaced the alloy rims with Lexus chrome rims and trimmed the black pillars with chrome...what a nice touch...i am convinced that Lexus is THE luxury car to invest in...it really changed my mind about the possible BMW I had my eye on...a 2005 Mercedes Benz E300 friend of mine borrowed my Lex for 2 weeks and came back raving about the differences in our cars..all in favor of the Lexus, of course...the handling, the seats, the overall performance...I am super pleased!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lexus flagship is the way to go

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smoothness, reliability, just about everything..."

Cons: "Initial cost of new car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can't go wrong with a Lexus. The LS430 is smooth, quiet, powerful, full of options, spacious, the list just goes on. I would definitely buy another LS whenever this car gives up. I've read that this car can go over 200,000 miles."

i love my lexus

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my lex on 20's is the best"

Now 8 model years old and never a problem.

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2004 -- one new set of tires, one new battery and front brake pads and that is the total of work done to the car in 8 years. Reliable, still good looking and it gets 29 mpg on the road. (Around town mpg is not good, however -- about 17 mmpg.) Comfortable luxury at its best."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals