Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 242 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Extreme Pleasure

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, Comfortable, Great inside design"

Cons: "Outdated on the outside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car back in 2009 with 38000 on it. Ever since, I serviced this car regularly and the only problem I had was lack of any problems with this car. It is comfortable, quiet (Michelin Primacy MXV4) and easy to drive on a long trips. Great visibility through a large windshield. Ample power from V8 if needed. Smooth engine sound. After all years it has new car smell. I guess the leather is really of the best quality. Rear seats are comfortable, a lot of knee space. Trunk is large and easy to access. After 10 years this car rides like a new one. Best purchase ever."

Very Reliable Luxury

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great looks, reliable, longevity."

Cons: "Not the best city gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. I have the Custom Luxury package with Euro-Suspension and 18" chrome rims. Handles very well. I would recommend this option because the handling can be a bit soft will the smaller wheels and struts. Fit and trim are stellar. Along side the 2007 which has a new body style, this car outclasses it by a mile. It looks as though they cut corners on the body styling in the 2007 through 2012. Gas mileage can be very nice in the upper 20's when traveling long distances going 75 miles per hour or lower, but suffers in town around 19 MPG. I have not had one problem with this car other than maintenance and I own 2 of them. I am seeing many of these with nearly 500,000 miles and still operating. This is a testament to the Lexus quality. Highly recommended."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Owned

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, Smooth Ride, Current Price, Awesome Design"

Cons: "Cup Holders too low. Tall cups fall out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2001 Lexus LS 430 from an elderly couple in their 80's. They bought it brand new and kept it garaged and lightly driven for 12 years. All the maintenance was done at Lexus the entire time they owned it. I immediately fell in love with the smooth ride and shifting. The large roomy interior. The Mark Levinston sound system was great but all the speakers were dry rotted, so I replaced all the speakers including the subwoofer and wow, what a sound. I drove it for 13 hours to Kansas City and it was like floating on a cloud. Even though it is an 8 cylinder using premium gas, it really got pretty good gas mileage. I was first intimidated by only being able to use premium gas but since I don't drive it daily, that's no problem at all. Now I can't wait to graduate to the 2006 LS 460 and up. I have been driving Toyota Avalon's for years so I'm very familiar with quality. I did have to replace 2 of the tires and it road even smoother after that."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love the LS!

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Lexus LS in a row and the ride, the quality, and the comfort can't be beat. I have tried Mercedes and Audi and although they are comparable in ride and comfort they do not come close to the quality and are just not up to par with the Lexus. My prior 1999 LS traded in with 192,000 miles and still going strong with only maintenance items, tires, brakes, oil changes, etc. Show me an Audi or Mercedes that can do that!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

ew

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "NONE"

Cons: "EVERYTHING"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"THIS CAR IS AWFUL"

5 people out of 19 found this review helpful

best care for vehicle

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,239

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "like a new car"

Cons: "old?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"one owner kept in the garage, kept all maintenance to the day has kept with care every 4 weeks. beautiful car hate to trade it in but is 10 ys old. Services has been done by car company that sold the vehicle"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

best & most reliable car I ever owned

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks great, top notch drive, smooth, great lookin"

Cons: "few imperfections/ can be easily fixed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my car! It looks great on the road and anywhere. The paint job is still perfection, pearl white. With a wax job it looks almost new! Fantastic sound system. Everyone loves the Lexus 430! Great model."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent condition , like new, all service record

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new. It has been serviced every 5000 miles. Always parked car where it could get no door damage. It was always serviced at the Lexus dealer. I have all records and so should Charles Barker Lexus. New breaks, new tires. All service recommend by dealer has been complied with. This car was going to be my last car. Have friends that have same car with over 400, 000 miles. Car has always be garage . Waxed once a month since new."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

excellent luxury vehicle

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "body integrity; engineering; amenities"

Cons: "uses premium gas; poor cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My LS 430 is the most reliable and quite vehicle I've ever driven. I have driven it thousands of miles across several states and that is when you really appreciate the engineering and luxurious amenities it has. It doesn't tire you out."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great cardependable

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car..just want a new one"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals