Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2000 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 173 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

best I ever had

By on Thursday, June 26, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is by far the most luxurious car I have ever owned. Including BMW 740IL, and Lincoln Continental, Mercedes Sedan. Owned it for 10 years and I'm sure its good for 10 more. No more than a few minor problems early on with this one. Oil change every 3000 to 5000 miles. Yearly tune ups. Garaged and treated with love and respect!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Super Car

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my 1992 Lexus LS400 as a total loss vehicle with 90000 miles. Insurance didnt want to fix a 1992 Lexus with little front end damage. I had it fixed and the car runs and looks like new. It is without a doubt the finest car I have ever driven."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The rear-wheel drives makes it not the best vehicle on ice, but otherwise it's wonderful."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Highest Quality Production Sedan

By on Monday, December 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehicle for 4 years and am very pleased with it. I did have to change a starter, but no other maintenance other than routine scheduled. Best car I have ever owned, and I have had Cadillacs, Mercedes, Nissan, etc....plan to drive it at least 300K."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Luxury

By on Friday, October 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car from a friend who had kept it in immaculate condition. Except the gas consumption of the car, I am absolutely thrilled with the LS. It is extreamly comfortable and easy to drive. I would not hesitate to recomend it to any one who is looking for the luxury sedan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would only buy this car!

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for over 7 years and it ran like dream! Unfortunately, somebody hit me in the rear and buckled the frame and now it is a total loss.... :-( I am sooooo mad! This car is the best ever! The only thing that went bad was the battery.... Nothing ever! It is the best vehicle ever made!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Most comfortable car I've owned with a ton of power. A rocket powered couch on wheels!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable and comfortable driving car

By on Friday, May 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable ride"

Cons: "cup holder too small for larger cups these days"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent car in every way. The quality of the ride is still great. Everything still works. Maintenance little higher than the average but I haven't had to replace a part a second time outside of tires and light bulbs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Parts and service are high

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Ive owned my 1997 LS400 for four years. Its been a good car but rather expensive to maintain over the past few years. Once it hit 100,000 miles, seem to be the costly years.. Rod"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best manufactured care on the planet for its day.

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, comfort, ride."

Cons: "Cup holder is too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is 13 years old, has 112,000 miles on it and still rides smoother and quieter than any new car I have been in for years, other than Lexus. Still rides like brand new. Rock solid dependable, not a single thing wrong with it except a couple elements in the stereo system LCD display."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT INTERIOR..FRESH PAINT

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20PLUS MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WELL MAINTAINED, NEW TIRES AND ALL BELTS"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best car I have ever had.

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Still a little tight for someone over 6'4"."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 1998 as a certified car from Lexus. Other than regular maintenance on the only thing I have ever had to do was rebuild the transmission in 2010. The reason for that was the glue around the pan broke off and got into the system. If not for that I would not have had any issues at all. I've had Mercedes and BMW but this is by far the best ever. About to buy a new 2012 LS and can hardly wait."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love this Car

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,740

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Ride, Quiet"

Cons: "I didn't buy one earlier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of the best cars that I have ever owned. The quality of the materials in this car is unbelievable. The ride on the open highway is shocking because it rides better than some new cars that I have driven. This car is 17 years old and still looks great. I was shocked by the year when I purchased it because I thought it was newer than what it really was. Great Car!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the greatest passenger vehicles of all time

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The LS 400 sells itself. All someone has to do is drive this car and it is over. I have switched so many of my friends from other brands to Lexus after letting them drive mine. After 175,000 trouble free miles and 13 years with this car, I still look for excuses to drive it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car. Excellant value if bought used.

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,540

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and high quality"

Cons: "No manual transmission option and initial price ne"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Make car parts for Toy and Lex. Bought car from my company (was the presidents car). MPG is better that I had hoped for and very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, April 15, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Awesome car. Hands down the finest car I have actually owned. Built so solid. A friend of mine wrecked his and he swears it saved his life. This car was top of the line for Lexus in 1998, and they didn't hold anything back. I will be happy until mile 250,000 like my Toyota."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle, best owned

By on Thursday, April 14, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my LS400 from a young lady whom I knew. She took excellent care of it, seeing that it was serviced regularly, oil changed, tuned up regularly and drove it with care. the car is clearly the best car I have ever owned-virtually free of maintenace and has never let me down."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

VERY GOOD VEHICLE

By on Wednesday, February 02, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I HAVE HAD TWO LS MODELS AND ONLY ONE MINOR PROBLEM. ONE OF THE BEST VEHICLES I EVER OWNED."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

one of best vehicles ever

By on Thursday, January 06, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is wonderful, I bought it used with 92000 miles, it's the platinum series with navigation system and namikichi audio for a 10 year old car that's great, not even 10000 miles per year. nothing has been broken or servised, other than oil changes. The great thing is that you could drive up to 400 miles without worring where to stop and re fill. I driving it to Texas and on 776 miles to my parents house I fill it twice,the second thank is 3 quarters full when we get there. On computer on board was dialing up to 28 miles to the gallon incredible. I drove for 500 miles and when stopped to re fill there were still 2 and a half gallons left, as I was only able to put 19 and some change gallons.Impresive for reals. the seats are a bit tiredsome and hard for long trips but is just a great car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AWESOME CAR

By on Sunday, September 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you want luxury car, this is it. The Look, the Feel, the way it Drives is truly incredible. I feel safe in this car...it is well built. It drives so smooth and quiet you can't tell if you are driving too fast. The quick acceleration leaves everyone behind. Never had any problem in the 4 years I had this car. Never thought I would LOVE this car more than my 1988 BMW 528E...which by the way is another incredible car....280K mileage put into this BMW. I LOVE MY 2000 LEXUS LS400!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best ever

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car that I have ever owned. Not much maintance required, fast, quite, and in style. I would purchase another one if possible."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Luxury Car For The Money

By on Friday, June 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"After owning my 1990 LS400 and putting 166k on the odometer, I sold her and purchased a 1998 LS400 with 92k. What can I say.... absolutely fantastic cars. Jack Nickolson starred in a movie titled "As Good As It Gets" and that title pretty much sums it up. My experiences with Lexus and the LS400's have been nothing more than awe inspiring. Highly recommended... can you tell?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the best

By on Sunday, August 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car I have ever owned, having owned Mercedes and Jaguar."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent performance and comfort

By on Sunday, August 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my second Lexus I have taken to just over 300 thousand miles. With regular maintenience this car has out performed any other car I have ever had. I travel extensively and people are surprised by its age and miles. It performs well in the snow. I just bought my third"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Lexus, Redo

By on Monday, August 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Smooth, fast, beautiful, dependable and is able to go long distances between pit (gas)stops. The Ideal girlfriend or The perfect car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals