Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2000 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 176 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Excellent Car

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my Lexus LS400 now for 12 years - mostly due to not finding anything that I love more - it runs excellent, has never had any major mechanical problems, still rides comfortably and quiet, and the beige/gold exterior still looks great - most people think it's a much newer car. In terms of value and luxury, it truly has been the best purchase I've made yet."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car

By on Monday, October 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our 1995 Lexus LS-400 with 140000mi and it now has over 190000. I've known them to go for ever if you take care of them. It is the smoothest car ever. No bumps, horsepower deluxe, good looking and does 30+mgp all at the same time. Had to replace the struts on the front and the hood but other than that it's been the best car. I would definatly recommend this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love Love Love

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for over 3 years and this 13 year old car is better than the brand new car I leased before it. I have the 1995 LS and couldn't be happier. The only problems I have encountered have been minor and have been my fault. I left it sitting un-started, on an incline, in the freezing New England weather for about 4 months, so it was understandable that the breaks had a serious squeak and groan to them when I started to drive it again, but that quickly wore off and she's my fantastic beauty once again. I plan on driving this car until it won't go anymore, so I guess I'll be driving it until I'm ready to be buried, it's always so good to me."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Choose No Other

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'm a small-time used car dealer that can drive any car I want and I choose the LS400 over any other car out there - more expensive or not. You can't do any better, regardless of price. The quality, fit, finish are impeccable - I like perfection! These cars don't cost that much to work on which differs from what most think.....if there ever need it. I've seen them with 300K miles purring like a kitten. Be sure and get one that has the HID headlight system if you can, makes a big difference. Don't really notice that much difference with the Nakamichi sound system though. Good luck on your hunt for the best."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Poor at the pump, excels everywhere else.

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just inherited a 1996 LS from my father with 205k miles. He bought it off-lease from the wife of an ACC basketball coach who received a new car every year. We've had this vehicle from mile 6k to mile 205k. With standard preventative maintenance, premium fuel, and timing belt changes, we've had to replace only lightbulbs. The hood and trunk lifts gave out long ago, but otherwise, everything runs like day one. This is an amazing vehicle. Without using hyperbole, I've been asked twice if I would sell it in the parking lot. Granted, when I inherited it, I went to town on the pearl white paint with a rotary buffer and she's been garaged day and night since day one. Buy without hesitation. Bad gas mileage (right around 15.5 around town, 22 on the highway), but the peace of mind makes it worthwhile. Especially given that you can pick one of these up now for about $7k in prime condition."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1997 Lexus LS400

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this 97 LS400 in 2000 with 28k miles. Simce then it has run with very few repairs. Normal maintenance is a little expensive. This is an awesome car, the best I have ever owned by far. I just leased a 2007 BMW 750Li and I think I prefer the lexus ride."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Extremely Reliable and Well Made

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been perfect for the last 9 years. Very little maintenance has been needed and the car literally looks and runs like new. I am sold on the LS series"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car I"ve ever owned!!

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car was a little pricey, but it is well worth it. I've had it for 7 years and never had a problem with it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent reliable vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Comfortable, Roomy, Body holds up well"

Cons: "gas mileage is about 20MPG; it is heavy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very comfortable to drive. The engine lasts - I use a full synthetic with Lucas Oil Stabilizer and it still purrs at 266000 miles. The only issue I have had was the alternator and the power steering pump. This car is an excellent buy and I would highly recommend buying one. I may have to sell mine since I am commuting to work and I would like to get over 30 MPG, but I am certainly not going to part with it for $4500. Maybe $6000, but not at the prices quoted here."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Superb Vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Superb vehicle, everything promised and more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car, Reliable and enjoyable

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 316,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, ride, roomey interior, great sound system"

Cons: "Pricey as a new car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used in 2002 at 7 years old so it has also been a GREAT VALUE. I maintained it well and it has has been very reliable and a pleasure to own. Appearance of interior and exterior still looks like it is only a few years old."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 11 of its 13 years, and it has been nothing but dependable and solid. Drives like a dream, smooth, comfortable. My 90 year mother loves to go for road trips with me in it, and I have never been stiff or uncomfortable on long drives. It has 206,000 miles on it, and all original major parts. I just now am having things like the radiator and alternator replaced, after all these miles and years! It has been a tank that has been nothing but good, dependable and powerful. 1998 must have been an stellar year for Lexus! I love my Lexus LS 400!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car EVER!

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,832

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1997 in 2000. It has over 150,000 miles and it still runs like it's brand new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's well worth it's value price."

Cons: "Mileage could be better, but that's okay."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like this car better than any new car I've ever seen! It's a heavier car, but to me that means I'm protected better in case of an accident! I love the body style and the interior. It will hold 5 people comfortably...love the roominess...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

truly best vehicle ever owned

By on Friday, August 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 97 LS has 234500 wonderful miles, still averaging 22 mpg, inexpensive to maintain at Toyota."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, August 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"car has 176000 miles. I've owned it for 8 years. only had to do regular services to keep the car on the road. If your tired of your technician spending more time with your vehicle than you, then consider one of these. 4 liter v8 getting 22-25 mpg on highway 15-20 in the city."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle for money

By on Thursday, August 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought as second owner. Had over two years no mechanical issues. Very nice ride. Very quiet. Good value for the money"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Afet owning for a year...

By on Tuesday, December 22, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I actually really like this vehicle. I will say that it is a major gas hog -- bad (18MPG)... That being said - I enjoy the ride -- it is reliable and looks great..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

First time Lexus owner. Amazing!

By on Thursday, February 05, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'm absolutely sold on Lexus after purchasing a used '98 LS400. Bought it in 2003 and have been exceptionally pleased with everything about it. Extremely smooth, quiet ride. I think a lot of folks would be surprised by the punch it has when you get your foot into it. That said, good mileage for a heavy V8 (25 / hwy). Quality fit & finish. Still looks great and runs like a top. I absolutely love this car and plan on keeping it until it just won't go anymore. I have a feeling that's many years down the road. By the way, "Lexus Certified Used Car Warranty" is very extensive. Local Lexus Service Center is top notch. Yeah, the service is a bit pricey, however, this car is 11 years old and runs like new. Just as important, you're genuinely treated like a valued customer."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bless car

By on Friday, November 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I give God the glory for such wonderful car, this car is wonderful and no major problems at all. It still drives great and looks great too. The car is twelve years old but I get so many compliments on it and even people asking to buy it from me. I will not sell it but I will upgrade to the LS430 but will still hold on to the LS400. Lexus are excellent vehicles. If you do not own one, get one and you will be glad you did."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I Loved this car

By on Saturday, September 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car used from a friend, and love the way it drives. Has lots of power, shocked me at how much power it has. But rides so smooth and comfy. even for being an older car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best I ever had

By on Thursday, June 26, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is by far the most luxurious car I have ever owned. Including BMW 740IL, and Lincoln Continental, Mercedes Sedan. Owned it for 10 years and I'm sure its good for 10 more. No more than a few minor problems early on with this one. Oil change every 3000 to 5000 miles. Yearly tune ups. Garaged and treated with love and respect!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Super Car

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my 1992 Lexus LS400 as a total loss vehicle with 90000 miles. Insurance didnt want to fix a 1992 Lexus with little front end damage. I had it fixed and the car runs and looks like new. It is without a doubt the finest car I have ever driven."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The rear-wheel drives makes it not the best vehicle on ice, but otherwise it's wonderful."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Highest Quality Production Sedan

By on Monday, December 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehicle for 4 years and am very pleased with it. I did have to change a starter, but no other maintenance other than routine scheduled. Best car I have ever owned, and I have had Cadillacs, Mercedes, Nissan, etc....plan to drive it at least 300K."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals