Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1999 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 161 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Better gas mileage than new

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great steering, power, roomy leather interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the LS400 new in 1998. I now have 147,000 miles and it still averages 23 in the City to 25-28MPG freeway. I was disapointed to find the newer Lexus LS 460 only gets 16MPG city. This model is a keeper. What I love most is the steering...turns on a dime and u-turns are no problem at all. Virtually maintenance free except for oil changes, but plan to spend $1-2K on maintenance and repairs about every other year."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

By far best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, reliability, comfort"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my LS400 when it was 2 years old with 30,000 miles on it. It has far exceeded my expectations in every way. The reliability, luxurious ride, classic good looks and easy maintenance have been a pleasure. I will purchase another. After accumulating more than 200,000 miles on it, I still would not hesitate to put it on the road going anywhere. It's just that good."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Hard to part with

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Total luxury."

Cons: "Cupholder could be bigger for larger cups."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved and driven this car for 11 years. Every time I have went car shopping in the last few years to replace it, I have realized that the luxury of this car is unbeatable. I have heard from a friend of mine who used to sell the Lexus that this particular year of the LS is the best ever. I agree. I have 235,000 on my car and am shopping for a newer Lexus. It will be hard to replace this one."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

excellent reliable vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Comfortable, Roomy, Body holds up well"

Cons: "gas mileage is about 20MPG; it is heavy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very comfortable to drive. The engine lasts - I use a full synthetic with Lucas Oil Stabilizer and it still purrs at 266000 miles. The only issue I have had was the alternator and the power steering pump. This car is an excellent buy and I would highly recommend buying one. I may have to sell mine since I am commuting to work and I would like to get over 30 MPG, but I am certainly not going to part with it for $4500. Maybe $6000, but not at the prices quoted here."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best v8 at his class

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"price value and quality all are top at his class"

Great Vehicle for being 13 yrs old

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,444

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Longevity and Cost fun to drive reliability"

Cons: "water leaks in the spare tire spot in the trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have had the car since 2004 got it with 40k now it has aprox 107xxx Ive not had one problem the whole time. Im about to purchase a new one. Love the feel, the comfortability, the reliability and the smoothness in which the engine and transmission operate at"

The best car I have ever had.

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Still a little tight for someone over 6'4"."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 1998 as a certified car from Lexus. Other than regular maintenance on the only thing I have ever had to do was rebuild the transmission in 2010. The reason for that was the glue around the pan broke off and got into the system. If not for that I would not have had any issues at all. I've had Mercedes and BMW but this is by far the best ever. About to buy a new 2012 LS and can hardly wait."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable and most comfortable ride, safe,

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "what a luxury car should be"

Cons: "dealer maintence is expensive find a good independ"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I get 20 mpg in town and 26 to 27 on the highway"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the perfect used car

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable luxury"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has never let me down. Very reliable. Comfortable and luxurious even after almost 20 years. Few repairs but when necessary parts are affordable and readily available."

I Love this Car

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,740

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Ride, Quiet"

Cons: "I didn't buy one earlier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of the best cars that I have ever owned. The quality of the materials in this car is unbelievable. The ride on the open highway is shocking because it rides better than some new cars that I have driven. This car is 17 years old and still looks great. I was shocked by the year when I purchased it because I thought it was newer than what it really was. Great Car!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals