Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1999 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 176 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

This car is simply the best ever made.

By on Monday, September 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The most dependable car ever owned. A pleasure to drive."

Cons: "Nothing that I can think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1999 Lexus LS400

"I have owned many automobiles during the past 60 years. This Lexus is the best overall car I have ever owned and driven. Nothing compares to it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

1999 Lexus LS400

Outstanding!

By on Saturday, May 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my '98 LS400 in 2003. Best car I've ever had! Overall look still stylish today. Smooth, powerful, quiet and handles well for a big sedan. Extremely reliable. Keep fresh fluids in it and pay attention to the maintenance schedule and it's really not pricey to maintain. Over the long haul, a LOT LESS than I'd spend on a comparable Mercedes / BMW. I'm looking into buying a Lexus GX470. My wife asks me how much we'd get for the LX. I tell her zero. I'm never selling this car!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

nice vehicle

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"good riding vehicle, if you take vehicle to dealership for repairs, it will cost you an arm and a leg. go to an independent mechanic for all your repairs, unless you still have warranty on your vehicle. these vehicles will run a long time, but you have to up keep the maintenance! before you buy, see if you can get all the repair record for this vehicle from a lexus dealership, main thing is timing belt replacement at 90k miles. otherwise you have a good vehicle and good gas mileage vehicle, 24 mpg on freeways."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything."

Cons: "The interior color could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got it used 2 years ago for $6000. Did the 90,000 mile timing belt replacement. Great reliable comfortable car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Car I have Ever Owned!

By on Sunday, December 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sound, reliable, well built dependable car."

Cons: "Small Cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of a 1997 LS 400. The car was purchased new in South Carolina and other than routine maintenance every 30K miles and oil changes, brakes and tires, this car has never been in for any repairs. Everything on this car still works. It is as quiet and smooth as it was the day I bought the car 15 years ago. It is driven daily 30 miles round trip and I average 26-27 mpg hwy, 21 mpg city consistently. It calls for "Premium", but I have used midgrade gasoline for all these years with no problems. This car has been driven on very long trips at least 10 times with absolutely no problems. It has also driven over 200 miles to the University our son attended more times than we can count until last year without a hitch. It is RWD, so this car is driven about 9 months per year and usually garaged from Dec-Mar, depending on the weather here in NC. We have yet to see the "Check Engine" light to come on in 15 years. Amazing car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

engineered for 300,000 miles

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"never had a problem in 12 years. these cars don't break. After all these years the ride is smooth just like the day it was new, unbelivable."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Incredible

By on Thursday, December 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 96 LS400 that I recently purchased I am totally impressed. I recently sold a MBZ S 420 class that put me in the "poor house" with repairs. I spent over $4k within the past 9 months. Folks go and get yourselves a LEXUS. This car is everything and then some vs. a MBZ. This vehicle responds to your every move on the road. Just maintain the vehicle and it will serve you for a very long time. I have 212k miles on mine and cannot wait to get another 212k out of it. Don't forget get the regular maint. on it , this is a luxury vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Luxury car!

By on Wednesday, June 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Own a 99LS400 for almost 6yrs now. Bought it with 50k miles and it's now at 141k. I'm not the type to keep cars very long but this car has given me no reason to get something different. Excellent reliability and holds value very well too. Great road trip car with good gas mileage for a V-8. 18-27mpg. LS430 will most likely be my next car! I like the look of European luxury cars but I can't overlook the overall value and dependability of Lexus/Toyota cars.."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

COMFORT ,RELIABLE POWERFUL

By on Saturday, July 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"BOUGHT MY LEXUS FROM A FRIEND 2 YRS AGO 210K, STILL LOOKS LIKE A BRAND NEW CAR, ALL I'VE DONE IS REGULAR MAINTENCE AND STILL CRUISING AT 245K WITH 20 IN RIMS AND STILL RIDES LIKE A CLOUD, HAD MANY OFFER FROM PEOPLE TO BUY ,SOME PEOPLE CAN'T BELIEVE IT IS A 98, OH ALSO GOOD GAS MILEAGE FOR A CAR BIG 25 TO 27 MPG HWY. AND CAN ACCERLARATE 0 TO 60 IN ABOUT 6 TO7 SEC, I V'E LOVE TO HAVE THOSE STOPLIGHT RACES AND I JUST LOVE THE LOOK IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SEE THE DISTANCE, IF YOU CAN FIND A USED LEXUS IN GOOD MAINTENCE BUY IT YOU WON'T BE SORRY ONLY HAD TO CHANGE THE HOOD SHOCKS AND FAN CLUTCH IN THE 2 PLUS YEARS I HAD THIS PEARL WHITE BEAUTY I PROBABLY NEVER SELL IT"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals