Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1998 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 172 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 7 | Next

Wonderful car!!

By on Thursday, June 19, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my 1998 LS400 for about 2 years now - I love it! Top ratings on all of the above categories. The car has never given me any trouble and gets decent mileage too. Oh - and the legroom in the back seat is wonderful. If you are lucky enough to find one of these cars - buy it."

Remarkable Automobile!!

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is amazing. Quiet, smooth, luxurious, and powerful. 9 years old and everything still works perfectly.... Incredible. The Nakamichi stereo is spectactular. This car is worth every penny. Gets reasonalble gas mileage to boot. Highly recommend."

Great used car

By on Friday, May 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just picked up a 1996 LS 400 for $6000. What a steal. This car is in excellent condition and drives/rides like the luxury vehicle that it is. Why spend $40-50K when you can get a great used car like this. Very satisfied and would recommend this model car to anyone. Just make sure you do your homework. Get a history report, etc."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Won't drive anything else

By on Saturday, May 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my 1998 LS400 for seven years and have enjoyed every minute of it. Have had no major problems. Just routine maintanence. Very reliable and the styling is great! I won't drive any other car after owning this one."

Choose No Other

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'm a small-time used car dealer that can drive any car I want and I choose the LS400 over any other car out there - more expensive or not. You can't do any better, regardless of price. The quality, fit, finish are impeccable - I like perfection! These cars don't cost that much to work on which differs from what most think.....if there ever need it. I've seen them with 300K miles purring like a kitten. Be sure and get one that has the HID headlight system if you can, makes a big difference. Don't really notice that much difference with the Nakamichi sound system though. Good luck on your hunt for the best."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

95 LS400

By on Saturday, April 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought a month ago off of ebay for $7900 w/96000 miles.What a great car.Beware though.Parts prices are very high.Timing belt replacement is high too.Budget at least a grand for the 90000 mile service.That said though.It feels like ir will go at least another 100000 miles before I have to lift the hood.Buy parts off ebay.Remote's ,Keys,even got the hood stuts for only $39 off there."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

ls 400

By on Friday, April 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"didn't have to do more than BASIC maint. for more than 100k miles!! how realiable!!"

bulletproof car

By on Sunday, April 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought 95 LS400 as Lexus certified lease return. Have driven it from 20k to 120k. NO major problems. Hood shocks are toast but a pipe works fine. Steering wheel auto adjust has to be coaxed but so what. Car runs like a fine watch. Quiet, powerful. It is NOT a winter car on bad roads..too much power and rear wheel drive. Otherwise, great car. Considering "allowing" my brother in law to buy it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the best

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Low maintance, Luxury at its best for the Dollar, you truely fell like a Million dollars, you will be happy and you get your money worth"

By on Friday, February 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Super Car

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my 1992 Lexus LS400 as a total loss vehicle with 90000 miles. Insurance didnt want to fix a 1992 Lexus with little front end damage. I had it fixed and the car runs and looks like new. It is without a doubt the finest car I have ever driven."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Poor at the pump, excels everywhere else.

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just inherited a 1996 LS from my father with 205k miles. He bought it off-lease from the wife of an ACC basketball coach who received a new car every year. We've had this vehicle from mile 6k to mile 205k. With standard preventative maintenance, premium fuel, and timing belt changes, we've had to replace only lightbulbs. The hood and trunk lifts gave out long ago, but otherwise, everything runs like day one. This is an amazing vehicle. Without using hyperbole, I've been asked twice if I would sell it in the parking lot. Granted, when I inherited it, I went to town on the pearl white paint with a rotary buffer and she's been garaged day and night since day one. Buy without hesitation. Bad gas mileage (right around 15.5 around town, 22 on the highway), but the peace of mind makes it worthwhile. Especially given that you can pick one of these up now for about $7k in prime condition."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Outstanding car. I purchased used with 70,000 miles and have driven it without incident. Has 150,000 on it now and drives as good as new. Replaced timing belt at 120,000."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The rear-wheel drives makes it not the best vehicle on ice, but otherwise it's wonderful."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Family Car

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Turning radius is incredible. V8 power when you need it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1998 Lexus LS 400

By on Tuesday, December 18, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Here's something to watch out for. The Nakamichi sound system is VERY difficult to find parts for. My amp goes out and then comes back. I finally managed to find a used amp on e-Bay but I have not had it put in yet since my current amp is still operating more as opposed to less. The car also surges when you first take off. A "tune up" briefly cured this but now it is back. This is my second LS. Awesome velicle despite the issues above. Plus, a great value compared to buying one new. I've owned LSs for 12 years now, all bought used."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

LS400 96

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just bought this 96 model with 54,500 milse on it. Other then the engine hood shocks have to replace, this is the best used car I ever bought, not like BMW525 I bought 5 years old and I have to replace computer, A/C board,Cylinder heads, front struts... with performance but I have to made freiends with repairman. This Lexus LS400 is worry free car and unbelievible."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great ride

By on Tuesday, December 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent car in all ways. This ismy 3th Lexus LS and I just love them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Highest Quality Production Sedan

By on Monday, December 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehicle for 4 years and am very pleased with it. I did have to change a starter, but no other maintenance other than routine scheduled. Best car I have ever owned, and I have had Cadillacs, Mercedes, Nissan, etc....plan to drive it at least 300K."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Can't Kill This One

By on Saturday, November 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Traded a top of the line 2000 American car for this '98 LS400 in 2003. Car had less than 38,000 miles then, was maintained by the Lexus book at the same dealer, and came with the certified pre-owned warranty. This LS is used by our office staff and driven daily 300 miles but cleaned weekly and serviced by the rule. 180,000 miles now and never left anyone stranded. My bad experience(s)-Dealer "canned" pitch on service not needed. (RIP OFF) $2100 to replace main keys lost on same trip. (Don't ever let that happen) Over $2000 for starter I was told needed to be replaced. (Car still started and was never a problem but repair was authorized by my assistant when dealer called my office) Summary-Buy pre-owned and certified Lexus vehicles, use the dealer for service until warranty expires at 100K, find an independant and certified Lexus mechanic to avoid unneccasary repairs and try not to tier of a 20 year old car that still functions well every time you need it to. Who wants the new LS anyway? Too mushy, too expensive, looks like all the other Lexus cars, and too much useless gadgetry. I just hope I can find another pre-2001 LS with low mileage."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Monday, November 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchase a 1998 LS 400 in 2005 with 75,00 miles. The LS400 performed and appeared new then and now. Very Comfortable and it is Smooth and the highway. I get over 28.5 mpg driving between 75-80 mph."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One major problem

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"There is a computer problem that causes a jerk in the chanage of gear. Dealer says it is an inherant problem. Have been to several dealers and nothing can be done. Would keep the car not for this. Again, it is not the trans, it is a computer read."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

lexus LS 400

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"excellent car.."

1997 Lexus LS400

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this 97 LS400 in 2000 with 28k miles. Simce then it has run with very few repairs. Normal maintenance is a little expensive. This is an awesome car, the best I have ever owned by far. I just leased a 2007 BMW 750Li and I think I prefer the lexus ride."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals