Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1998 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 161 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

By on Wednesday, May 04, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, April 15, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Awesome car. Hands down the finest car I have actually owned. Built so solid. A friend of mine wrecked his and he swears it saved his life. This car was top of the line for Lexus in 1998, and they didn't hold anything back. I will be happy until mile 250,000 like my Toyota."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle, best owned

By on Thursday, April 14, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my LS400 from a young lady whom I knew. She took excellent care of it, seeing that it was serviced regularly, oil changed, tuned up regularly and drove it with care. the car is clearly the best car I have ever owned-virtually free of maintenace and has never let me down."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, April 01, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Luxury!!!

By on Friday, March 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this bad boy with 180,000 miles. Its in mint condition. Just threw some new Michelin Mxv4s on it and its basically brand new. The only complaint I have is poor gas mileage around the city. It gets about...15-16 mpg. On the highway though its up around 20-21 mpg. Oh well... its the price you pay to be a ballaaaaaa"

very reliable

By on Sunday, February 20, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"good value"

VERY GOOD VEHICLE

By on Wednesday, February 02, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I HAVE HAD TWO LS MODELS AND ONLY ONE MINOR PROBLEM. ONE OF THE BEST VEHICLES I EVER OWNED."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 13, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

one of best vehicles ever

By on Thursday, January 06, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is wonderful, I bought it used with 92000 miles, it's the platinum series with navigation system and namikichi audio for a 10 year old car that's great, not even 10000 miles per year. nothing has been broken or servised, other than oil changes. The great thing is that you could drive up to 400 miles without worring where to stop and re fill. I driving it to Texas and on 776 miles to my parents house I fill it twice,the second thank is 3 quarters full when we get there. On computer on board was dialing up to 28 miles to the gallon incredible. I drove for 500 miles and when stopped to re fill there were still 2 and a half gallons left, as I was only able to put 19 and some change gallons.Impresive for reals. the seats are a bit tiredsome and hard for long trips but is just a great car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, January 03, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, November 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great car, great value

By on Tuesday, October 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven hundreds of cars over the years and this is one of the nicest cars I have ever owned. It has classic line, the model line does change for almost ten years, the car drives like you are sitting on your living room couch and the safety features are the best. I owned a 1994 and know have a 1997 and will not let it go. I am amazed to see them for sale with such high mileage but that is a tribute to the car. Great job Lexus( Toyota), only complaint is repair costs"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

AWESOME CAR

By on Sunday, September 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you want luxury car, this is it. The Look, the Feel, the way it Drives is truly incredible. I feel safe in this car...it is well built. It drives so smooth and quiet you can't tell if you are driving too fast. The quick acceleration leaves everyone behind. Never had any problem in the 4 years I had this car. Never thought I would LOVE this car more than my 1988 BMW 528E...which by the way is another incredible car....280K mileage put into this BMW. I LOVE MY 2000 LEXUS LS400!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, August 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"car has 176000 miles. I've owned it for 8 years. only had to do regular services to keep the car on the road. If your tired of your technician spending more time with your vehicle than you, then consider one of these. 4 liter v8 getting 22-25 mpg on highway 15-20 in the city."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle for money

By on Thursday, August 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought as second owner. Had over two years no mechanical issues. Very nice ride. Very quiet. Good value for the money"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LS400

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Had a 1990 LS400 and took it up to 300,000 miles without changing the timeing belt, water pump, power steering pump and starter. Did have to replace the simple brakes and rotors as well as cooling hoses, but as long as you change your fluids on a regular basis you should have no issues. Just sold my 1990 and purchased a 98LS400. Great car!!"

nothing compares

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Driving any 1998 vehicle at 130mph straight as an arrow and quieter than a humming bird has my vote. The woodgrain has cracked, but thats cause I have it outside all the time on the dessert's sun."

reliable luxury car

By on Friday, July 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is probably the most reliable luxury car ever. I have owned it for more than 6 years and have had no problem whatsoever. Just regular maintenance and you are good to go. Also very comfortable. I have taken it for 12+ hrs long drive several times and never felt tired or achy. The only negative point is that it does not perform like German cars; like BMWs or Mercedes."

By on Sunday, June 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

best ever

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car that I have ever owned. Not much maintance required, fast, quite, and in style. I would purchase another one if possible."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Luxury Car For The Money

By on Friday, June 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"After owning my 1990 LS400 and putting 166k on the odometer, I sold her and purchased a 1998 LS400 with 92k. What can I say.... absolutely fantastic cars. Jack Nickolson starred in a movie titled "As Good As It Gets" and that title pretty much sums it up. My experiences with Lexus and the LS400's have been nothing more than awe inspiring. Highly recommended... can you tell?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice RIDE!!!

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I got this vehicle awhile back, and it has been amazing. I have the 1995 LS400 w/143,XXX miles, and it drives and looks great. Only down side and it's not really that bad at all, is after all this time (15yrs.), the drivers side rear air suspension slowly leaks down, but when I start the car, it fills it right back up. Great ride, very stylish, I would buy another one if something happened to mine. GREAT VALUE/GREAT BUY!!!"

By on Friday, May 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, May 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Fantastic Car, extremely well built

By on Wednesday, May 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car used, with 190K miles, and didn't have a second thought about it. Very powerful V8, though after 190K miles, mine has lost a little snoose (still takes off great, though). It's clear that Lexus only used the finest parts in this vehicle, and design, styling, reliability, and driveability is great. Great car. Get one... you won't be disappointed."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals