Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1997 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 164 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 7 | Next

the best

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Low maintance, Luxury at its best for the Dollar, you truely fell like a Million dollars, you will be happy and you get your money worth"

By on Friday, February 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Super Car

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my 1992 Lexus LS400 as a total loss vehicle with 90000 miles. Insurance didnt want to fix a 1992 Lexus with little front end damage. I had it fixed and the car runs and looks like new. It is without a doubt the finest car I have ever driven."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Poor at the pump, excels everywhere else.

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just inherited a 1996 LS from my father with 205k miles. He bought it off-lease from the wife of an ACC basketball coach who received a new car every year. We've had this vehicle from mile 6k to mile 205k. With standard preventative maintenance, premium fuel, and timing belt changes, we've had to replace only lightbulbs. The hood and trunk lifts gave out long ago, but otherwise, everything runs like day one. This is an amazing vehicle. Without using hyperbole, I've been asked twice if I would sell it in the parking lot. Granted, when I inherited it, I went to town on the pearl white paint with a rotary buffer and she's been garaged day and night since day one. Buy without hesitation. Bad gas mileage (right around 15.5 around town, 22 on the highway), but the peace of mind makes it worthwhile. Especially given that you can pick one of these up now for about $7k in prime condition."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Outstanding car. I purchased used with 70,000 miles and have driven it without incident. Has 150,000 on it now and drives as good as new. Replaced timing belt at 120,000."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The rear-wheel drives makes it not the best vehicle on ice, but otherwise it's wonderful."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Family Car

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Turning radius is incredible. V8 power when you need it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1998 Lexus LS 400

By on Tuesday, December 18, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Here's something to watch out for. The Nakamichi sound system is VERY difficult to find parts for. My amp goes out and then comes back. I finally managed to find a used amp on e-Bay but I have not had it put in yet since my current amp is still operating more as opposed to less. The car also surges when you first take off. A "tune up" briefly cured this but now it is back. This is my second LS. Awesome velicle despite the issues above. Plus, a great value compared to buying one new. I've owned LSs for 12 years now, all bought used."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

LS400 96

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just bought this 96 model with 54,500 milse on it. Other then the engine hood shocks have to replace, this is the best used car I ever bought, not like BMW525 I bought 5 years old and I have to replace computer, A/C board,Cylinder heads, front struts... with performance but I have to made freiends with repairman. This Lexus LS400 is worry free car and unbelievible."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great ride

By on Tuesday, December 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent car in all ways. This ismy 3th Lexus LS and I just love them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Highest Quality Production Sedan

By on Monday, December 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehicle for 4 years and am very pleased with it. I did have to change a starter, but no other maintenance other than routine scheduled. Best car I have ever owned, and I have had Cadillacs, Mercedes, Nissan, etc....plan to drive it at least 300K."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Can't Kill This One

By on Saturday, November 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Traded a top of the line 2000 American car for this '98 LS400 in 2003. Car had less than 38,000 miles then, was maintained by the Lexus book at the same dealer, and came with the certified pre-owned warranty. This LS is used by our office staff and driven daily 300 miles but cleaned weekly and serviced by the rule. 180,000 miles now and never left anyone stranded. My bad experience(s)-Dealer "canned" pitch on service not needed. (RIP OFF) $2100 to replace main keys lost on same trip. (Don't ever let that happen) Over $2000 for starter I was told needed to be replaced. (Car still started and was never a problem but repair was authorized by my assistant when dealer called my office) Summary-Buy pre-owned and certified Lexus vehicles, use the dealer for service until warranty expires at 100K, find an independant and certified Lexus mechanic to avoid unneccasary repairs and try not to tier of a 20 year old car that still functions well every time you need it to. Who wants the new LS anyway? Too mushy, too expensive, looks like all the other Lexus cars, and too much useless gadgetry. I just hope I can find another pre-2001 LS with low mileage."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Monday, November 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchase a 1998 LS 400 in 2005 with 75,00 miles. The LS400 performed and appeared new then and now. Very Comfortable and it is Smooth and the highway. I get over 28.5 mpg driving between 75-80 mph."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One major problem

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"There is a computer problem that causes a jerk in the chanage of gear. Dealer says it is an inherant problem. Have been to several dealers and nothing can be done. Would keep the car not for this. Again, it is not the trans, it is a computer read."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

lexus LS 400

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"excellent car.."

1997 Lexus LS400

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this 97 LS400 in 2000 with 28k miles. Simce then it has run with very few repairs. Normal maintenance is a little expensive. This is an awesome car, the best I have ever owned by far. I just leased a 2007 BMW 750Li and I think I prefer the lexus ride."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

cream puff

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Nice car". my LS 400 has 197000 miles,burns no oil, has no rattles, and It's fast. I PM the car my self useing synthetic oil and I keep my motor clean. At 159000 miles I replace two parts on the front end, powersteering seal, timeing belt, plug wires, plugs and one outside temp probe.My LS has not missed a lick in the last 40,000 miles. With its classic lines, at ten years old it still looks good. I guss you could say, I'm a happy 1997 LS-400 owner."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Amazing

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had a 1994 LS400 that hit 200,000 miles and started looking for a replacement. Looked at the other models of Lexus and found I was spoiled with my older LS. Talked to the dealer and found that they just got a 1998 LS 400 in with only 67,000 miles!! It drives even better than my '94 (to be expected) and has even more amenities. Knowing the reliability of my last vehicle I'm pretty confident there won't be many problems. I couldn't be happier!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Classic and Reliable

By on Saturday, October 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought as a 1999 certified vehicle with 32K miles in 2002. Now has over 104K miles. Other than interval maintence and expected items such as belts, brakes etc. it has been a real road friend. Solid, quiet, wiith just a bit higher tire pressure it corners very respectably for it size and weight. In FL on flat roads it averaged 27+ MPG at 75 MPH on the highway! Its style is very classic and does not look like a bad relic. I am hard pressed to justify buying another car because I cannot see the incremental comfort, style nor reliability for what I will have to pay."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Luxury

By on Friday, October 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car from a friend who had kept it in immaculate condition. Except the gas consumption of the car, I am absolutely thrilled with the LS. It is extreamly comfortable and easy to drive. I would not hesitate to recomend it to any one who is looking for the luxury sedan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"amazing."

Extremely Reliable and Well Made

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been perfect for the last 9 years. Very little maintenance has been needed and the car literally looks and runs like new. I am sold on the LS series"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Would only buy this car!

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for over 7 years and it ran like dream! Unfortunately, somebody hit me in the rear and buckled the frame and now it is a total loss.... :-( I am sooooo mad! This car is the best ever! The only thing that went bad was the battery.... Nothing ever! It is the best vehicle ever made!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This has been an awesome vehicle"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals