Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 176 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Excellent Vehicle

By on Monday, November 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchase a 1998 LS 400 in 2005 with 75,00 miles. The LS400 performed and appeared new then and now. Very Comfortable and it is Smooth and the highway. I get over 28.5 mpg driving between 75-80 mph."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

cream puff

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Nice car". my LS 400 has 197000 miles,burns no oil, has no rattles, and It's fast. I PM the car my self useing synthetic oil and I keep my motor clean. At 159000 miles I replace two parts on the front end, powersteering seal, timeing belt, plug wires, plugs and one outside temp probe.My LS has not missed a lick in the last 40,000 miles. With its classic lines, at ten years old it still looks good. I guss you could say, I'm a happy 1997 LS-400 owner."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Amazing

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had a 1994 LS400 that hit 200,000 miles and started looking for a replacement. Looked at the other models of Lexus and found I was spoiled with my older LS. Talked to the dealer and found that they just got a 1998 LS 400 in with only 67,000 miles!! It drives even better than my '94 (to be expected) and has even more amenities. Knowing the reliability of my last vehicle I'm pretty confident there won't be many problems. I couldn't be happier!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car, great value

By on Tuesday, October 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven hundreds of cars over the years and this is one of the nicest cars I have ever owned. It has classic line, the model line does change for almost ten years, the car drives like you are sitting on your living room couch and the safety features are the best. I owned a 1994 and know have a 1997 and will not let it go. I am amazed to see them for sale with such high mileage but that is a tribute to the car. Great job Lexus( Toyota), only complaint is repair costs"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Luxury Value on the Market

By on Tuesday, May 04, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have owned seven years with no problems and 22 mpg city/29 hwy...was over $60K new. This is one incredible vehicle and they sell OVER KBB blue book with good reason. This car received Consumer Reports top rating of any car ever tested and any dealer will tell you of these the two best years are 1998 and 2004. If you find a nice clean one, don't quibble, buy it!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Car

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my Lexus LS400 now for 12 years - mostly due to not finding anything that I love more - it runs excellent, has never had any major mechanical problems, still rides comfortably and quiet, and the beige/gold exterior still looks great - most people think it's a much newer car. In terms of value and luxury, it truly has been the best purchase I've made yet."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car

By on Monday, October 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our 1995 Lexus LS-400 with 140000mi and it now has over 190000. I've known them to go for ever if you take care of them. It is the smoothest car ever. No bumps, horsepower deluxe, good looking and does 30+mgp all at the same time. Had to replace the struts on the front and the hood but other than that it's been the best car. I would definatly recommend this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love Love Love

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for over 3 years and this 13 year old car is better than the brand new car I leased before it. I have the 1995 LS and couldn't be happier. The only problems I have encountered have been minor and have been my fault. I left it sitting un-started, on an incline, in the freezing New England weather for about 4 months, so it was understandable that the breaks had a serious squeak and groan to them when I started to drive it again, but that quickly wore off and she's my fantastic beauty once again. I plan on driving this car until it won't go anymore, so I guess I'll be driving it until I'm ready to be buried, it's always so good to me."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Choose No Other

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'm a small-time used car dealer that can drive any car I want and I choose the LS400 over any other car out there - more expensive or not. You can't do any better, regardless of price. The quality, fit, finish are impeccable - I like perfection! These cars don't cost that much to work on which differs from what most think.....if there ever need it. I've seen them with 300K miles purring like a kitten. Be sure and get one that has the HID headlight system if you can, makes a big difference. Don't really notice that much difference with the Nakamichi sound system though. Good luck on your hunt for the best."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Poor at the pump, excels everywhere else.

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just inherited a 1996 LS from my father with 205k miles. He bought it off-lease from the wife of an ACC basketball coach who received a new car every year. We've had this vehicle from mile 6k to mile 205k. With standard preventative maintenance, premium fuel, and timing belt changes, we've had to replace only lightbulbs. The hood and trunk lifts gave out long ago, but otherwise, everything runs like day one. This is an amazing vehicle. Without using hyperbole, I've been asked twice if I would sell it in the parking lot. Granted, when I inherited it, I went to town on the pearl white paint with a rotary buffer and she's been garaged day and night since day one. Buy without hesitation. Bad gas mileage (right around 15.5 around town, 22 on the highway), but the peace of mind makes it worthwhile. Especially given that you can pick one of these up now for about $7k in prime condition."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals