Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1997 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 160 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Excellent

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car 13 years ago. It was a used - one owner car. I have had to spend minimal money and time in repairs over the years. Very reliable and dependable. Next car I purchase will be a Lexus."

Dependable luxury

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe reliable smooth and quiet"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable and safe vehicle ever made. These cars will easily go 300,000 miles or more if maintained properly. Quite a history in the development of this automobile. It would be very hard to own any other brand of car since driving this one. My 1997 Lexus LS400 is 17 years old and drives like brand new. I cant believe how silent, smooth, and well built it is. Even the motor mounts are liquid filled. My advice is to try to buy from an original owner. You can be assured they took well care of it. This car sold for over $53,000.00 when new. I paid $5,200.00 when it had 102,000 miles and 15 years old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

none better for the price

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 272,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable & comfortable if kept up"

Cons: "pricey up front-long term=no"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dollar for dollar we don't think there is a better car for the price. With 272K miles, it still drives and handles almost like new. All upkeep and work done at dealership. I've always done all my car work myself... before this one. These newer cars need too much special tools and knowledge for a home garage mechanic. The only other car we'd consider would be an Audi. For a not so high end car, a VW would be our nest choice. Checked Consumer's year end auto buyer's guide and owner's survey results for reliability and repair frequency; Toyota and Honda beat all...BMW's and Mercedes' are only average or below in most categories."

Great car!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this 18 year old car with 84,000 ,miles. $7,000.00 price. Excellent interior/exterior. Great automobile!"

Best manufactured care on the planet for its day.

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, comfort, ride."

Cons: "Cup holder is too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is 13 years old, has 112,000 miles on it and still rides smoother and quieter than any new car I have been in for years, other than Lexus. Still rides like brand new. Rock solid dependable, not a single thing wrong with it except a couple elements in the stereo system LCD display."

Tan/gold, black spoked-new wheels,impeccably main

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Beautiful, well maintained, excellent condition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Lexus LS300 98

"Sound system wonderful, 6 CD cassette, quiet, beautiful condition. Purchased new car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Lexus LS300 98

A joy to drivre & own

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Need a car for every day of the week 7"

Cons: "I only have one to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Ride or die oh what a ride or rush

"You cant go wrong buying a vehicle like this,thats my word as a man"

Ride or die oh what a ride or rush

awsome vehicle!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an awesome car , smooth, quiet, great mileage, fast and it never breaks!"

I love this car

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything."

Cons: "The interior color could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got it used 2 years ago for $6000. Did the 90,000 mile timing belt replacement. Great reliable comfortable car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT INTERIOR..FRESH PAINT

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20PLUS MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WELL MAINTAINED, NEW TIRES AND ALL BELTS"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details