Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1996 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 164 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

A joy to drivre & own

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Need a car for every day of the week 7"

Cons: "I only have one to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Ride or die oh what a ride or rush

"You cant go wrong buying a vehicle like this,thats my word as a man"

Ride or die oh what a ride or rush

awsome vehicle!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an awesome car , smooth, quiet, great mileage, fast and it never breaks!"

I love this car

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything."

Cons: "The interior color could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got it used 2 years ago for $6000. Did the 90,000 mile timing belt replacement. Great reliable comfortable car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT INTERIOR..FRESH PAINT

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20PLUS MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WELL MAINTAINED, NEW TIRES AND ALL BELTS"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Luxury Car For The Money

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"97 but, looks new, comfortable, quiet, fast, great sound system, sharp!. Have achieved nearly 26 on the HWY with AC on. 185K and still feels just like new, paid $3500 for Luxury and dependability. Could Only get this with a Lexus, it's a Toyota, Notorious for Engineering excellence. Kaizen, look it up. Never have seen these in the scrap yard unlike BMW's and Mercedes. Unless they were totaled."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

A really great car!

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 302,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, reliable, powerful and good mpg!"

Cons: "None for me!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with 75,000 miles on it. It now has 302,000 miles and runs and drives like it did when I bought it, smooth as silk! I test drove an LS460 because I was thinking about changing but my car rode just as good as the LS460! Even if I buy an LS460, I'll keep my LS400. I think in 20 years this car will bring big bucks!"

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

The best car ever.

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"285K miles with only tires, brakes and oil changes. It still rides and drives like new. I think 400k is within reach."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The Greatest Car Ever Built

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Greatest car ever built. Quality, comfort, speed.."

Cons: "Cost of repairs, but they are rare. Buy one."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

We named it Rio Silverado. When we got it we partied at The Rio in Vegas.

"I challenge you to read Chester Dawson -The Relentless Pursuit. I am a car freak. I have an internet car show. I drove in car commercials. I owned a restoration shop and raced in SCCA. I love cars, all kinds. But, this one, this one stopped me from buying cars like kids eat chips. It will run Albuquerque to Las Vegas at 90-100mph and get 25-28 with a full house. Its quiet, fast, balanced, and if you care for it, it will be your sanctuary from whatever you do for a living. As was said earlier, if you can find one, buy it now. BTW: Wifey has 189K on her 1999 LS400. Read the book, this IS the greatest car ever build."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

We named it Rio Silverado. When we got it we partied at The Rio in Vegas.

Amazing car

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car in the world!"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned. I have wanted this car for a long time and finally got it a last year and it is truly amazing."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The VERY best auto I ever owned!!

By on Friday, December 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's got plenty of "zip" for any kind of driving"

Cons: "What's not to like -- I found no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2000 with 33,000 miles on it. It has been garaged the entire time and has one-year old tires, new belts and hoses, drives like a dream and got 27mpg on a recent drive to and from NM mountains. I have used mid-grade gasoline for the past few years with no adverse effects. Regular maintenance has been done and the only un-expected repair was a replacement serpentine belt about a year after it was bought (at a regular scheduled maintenance at the dealer). The car will be sold ONLY because I have recently married and my husband has a new auto and pick-up. I know of no problems with the car; the rear seat has been sat in a dozen times, maybe. The color, silver sage, is a good one and the light grey interior makes for easy cleaning. Overall, this is a great car in very good condition."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals