Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1996 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 171 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.9/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Fabulous & Reliable Ride

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our 98 LS400 in 2004 from the original owner. I drove it for 4 years and then gave it to our son who was in college. We wanted him to have safe and reliable transportation. He has driven it since. The LS has an unbeatable ride, undeniable reliability and will serve you well if it is maintained properly. As with all luxury vehicles, it is not cheap to do some of the maintenance, but it is worth it... and oil changes only need to be done at 5-7,000 mile intervals. We always used full synthetic oil and had it serviced at our local Toyota dealership."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "elegant driving characteristics, craftsmanship"

Cons: "premium gas, high parts $ = high insurance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 18 years about the only things I've had to replace are the wipers, batteries and tires. Drives like a dream."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A great, reliable car.

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Got it with 80,000 miles on it for $6000."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Never a problem, Starts instantly, Unbelieveable

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All Pros. Best car I ever had and I have owned 50"

Cons: "The only regret is that I can't ask for more. Safe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm only selling because I need an SUV to pull my boat and travel in. My Lexus is a car that was so great I didn't think I'd ever sell it. Has all the amenities Lexus offers. Its a beautiful White, Plat. Series. New battery, like new tires, new exhaust. Great gas mileage and 395 Ponys. Back seat almost never sat in. Super clean. Most of the miles are highway. No dents, a few tiny tiny chips on the front of hood. Power seats , seat warmers, auto everything. This is a car that could easily go 350,000 miles or more. I want $8500, firm. It was a $60,000 car new."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car!!!! It's got smart character

By on Monday, February 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "steering wheel finish cracked"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My platinum series has less than 65000 miles and has been garaged most of its life. People stop me coming out of parking garages and ask to buy it ALL the time. No way... Lexus rules!!! It's a shimmering GOLD color and lives up to it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love the LS400

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 236,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love to drive it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish they still made this model I love everything about it."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My very first car!!!

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives smoothly, affordable price, fun."

Cons: "V8 engine, gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 24yo female and a year ago I finally got my own car! Not just any car a very nice and luxurious Lexus. Not only exterior wise did I love it but interior wise as well. Such a very good convenient smooth drive car it is!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Heavy like a tank, safe, rides very well

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car I ever had, that includes a Mercedes"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The paint is great except for some pitting on the hood. 70 percent of the mileage was highway driving. The interior is perfect . The car was always maintained be the Lexus dealership in Palm Beach. The car is great. The only reason for this sale is we have three cars and a two car garage."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned.

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 264,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This is what all cars should be like."

Cons: "The risers on the hood wore out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

""Butterfly" is the name I've given this car, with excellent workmanship, great comfort, power, good looks and drivability. Repairs have been minimal over 264,000 miles. I'm certain it will soar right past 300,000 miles."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I love my car!

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfy and never stranded me ever"

Cons: "Expensive replacement parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car pre-owned at 50,000 miles 16 years ago. It has never stranded me, has no rattles and performs like a V8 should - best car ever made. I have no plans to sell it even though my kids are telling me to buy a new car which I could easily afford. Why should I?I love it and it loves me."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals