Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1995 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 164 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

Best Car I have Ever Owned!

By on Sunday, December 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sound, reliable, well built dependable car."

Cons: "Small Cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of a 1997 LS 400. The car was purchased new in South Carolina and other than routine maintenance every 30K miles and oil changes, brakes and tires, this car has never been in for any repairs. Everything on this car still works. It is as quiet and smooth as it was the day I bought the car 15 years ago. It is driven daily 30 miles round trip and I average 26-27 mpg hwy, 21 mpg city consistently. It calls for "Premium", but I have used midgrade gasoline for all these years with no problems. This car has been driven on very long trips at least 10 times with absolutely no problems. It has also driven over 200 miles to the University our son attended more times than we can count until last year without a hitch. It is RWD, so this car is driven about 9 months per year and usually garaged from Dec-Mar, depending on the weather here in NC. We have yet to see the "Check Engine" light to come on in 15 years. Amazing car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

If you can find one -- BUY IT

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid, Safe, Reliable, Great on Gas, Beautiful ."

Cons: "My Lexus has- - NEVER YET-- bought me lunch."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 70 years old and have owned many cars. My 2000 Lexus LS is by far the best of the lot. I have driven my Lexus cross country (USA) several times; coast to coast and back within Canada; and also to deep interior Mexico, twice, with only one repair needed---A FLAT TIRE FIXED :) :)"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

A great automobile

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and rides wonderful"

Cons: "Head room if you are tall only a inch or so."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car when it was 5 years old with 43,000 miles on it. I t has been and still is a wonderful car.I do not drive it in the winter and keep it garaged and it looks and drives like new. The gas mileage on a V8 is 22-25 and up to 27 on highway drives. If I get another one I will go for the LS with all wheel drive and a few more gadgets. I like the sguare stile of this car because it is easy to judge instead of the round style so I keep waiting for the LS to change before I look for a newer one.Of course it may be years so I will keep what I have and enjoy it very much in good weather. If you want a great car and can find one of these early LS models they are very good cars. Most people tend to keep them and do not give them up to easy especially if they have been maintained and cared for."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Better gas mileage than new

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great steering, power, roomy leather interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the LS400 new in 1998. I now have 147,000 miles and it still averages 23 in the City to 25-28MPG freeway. I was disapointed to find the newer Lexus LS 460 only gets 16MPG city. This model is a keeper. What I love most is the steering...turns on a dime and u-turns are no problem at all. Virtually maintenance free except for oil changes, but plan to spend $1-2K on maintenance and repairs about every other year."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

By far best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, reliability, comfort"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my LS400 when it was 2 years old with 30,000 miles on it. It has far exceeded my expectations in every way. The reliability, luxurious ride, classic good looks and easy maintenance have been a pleasure. I will purchase another. After accumulating more than 200,000 miles on it, I still would not hesitate to put it on the road going anywhere. It's just that good."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Hard to part with

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Total luxury."

Cons: "Cupholder could be bigger for larger cups."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved and driven this car for 11 years. Every time I have went car shopping in the last few years to replace it, I have realized that the luxury of this car is unbeatable. I have heard from a friend of mine who used to sell the Lexus that this particular year of the LS is the best ever. I agree. I have 235,000 on my car and am shopping for a newer Lexus. It will be hard to replace this one."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

excellent reliable vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Comfortable, Roomy, Body holds up well"

Cons: "gas mileage is about 20MPG; it is heavy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very comfortable to drive. The engine lasts - I use a full synthetic with Lucas Oil Stabilizer and it still purrs at 266000 miles. The only issue I have had was the alternator and the power steering pump. This car is an excellent buy and I would highly recommend buying one. I may have to sell mine since I am commuting to work and I would like to get over 30 MPG, but I am certainly not going to part with it for $4500. Maybe $6000, but not at the prices quoted here."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best v8 at his class

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"price value and quality all are top at his class"

Great Vehicle for being 13 yrs old

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,444

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Longevity and Cost fun to drive reliability"

Cons: "water leaks in the spare tire spot in the trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have had the car since 2004 got it with 40k now it has aprox 107xxx Ive not had one problem the whole time. Im about to purchase a new one. Love the feel, the comfortability, the reliability and the smoothness in which the engine and transmission operate at"

The best car I have ever had.

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Still a little tight for someone over 6'4"."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 1998 as a certified car from Lexus. Other than regular maintenance on the only thing I have ever had to do was rebuild the transmission in 2010. The reason for that was the glue around the pan broke off and got into the system. If not for that I would not have had any issues at all. I've had Mercedes and BMW but this is by far the best ever. About to buy a new 2012 LS and can hardly wait."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals