Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

1995 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 160 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

The best car I have ever had.

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Still a little tight for someone over 6'4"."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 1998 as a certified car from Lexus. Other than regular maintenance on the only thing I have ever had to do was rebuild the transmission in 2010. The reason for that was the glue around the pan broke off and got into the system. If not for that I would not have had any issues at all. I've had Mercedes and BMW but this is by far the best ever. About to buy a new 2012 LS and can hardly wait."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable and most comfortable ride, safe,

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "what a luxury car should be"

Cons: "dealer maintence is expensive find a good independ"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I get 20 mpg in town and 26 to 27 on the highway"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the perfect used car

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable luxury"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has never let me down. Very reliable. Comfortable and luxurious even after almost 20 years. Few repairs but when necessary parts are affordable and readily available."

I Love this Car

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,740

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Ride, Quiet"

Cons: "I didn't buy one earlier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of the best cars that I have ever owned. The quality of the materials in this car is unbelievable. The ride on the open highway is shocking because it rides better than some new cars that I have driven. This car is 17 years old and still looks great. I was shocked by the year when I purchased it because I thought it was newer than what it really was. Great Car!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Exceptional

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great handling and performance."

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1998 Lexus LS 400. I purchased the car used with 91K and in need of some maintenance (timing belt: front struts). I had the maintenance done and with the price I paid for the car I am still under retail value. I love the car. The ride and performance is great. Excellent gas milage for a car this size (HWY 25-29). Just a great car all around."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the greatest passenger vehicles of all time

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The LS 400 sells itself. All someone has to do is drive this car and it is over. I have switched so many of my friends from other brands to Lexus after letting them drive mine. After 175,000 trouble free miles and 13 years with this car, I still look for excuses to drive it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Thursday, December 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability amazing. Long drives perfect. Hwy mpg"

Cons: "Handling could be better Expensive repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with 104,000 miles on it in 2006 for $12,750. The car had 2 prior owners and it was originally priced at $56,000 brand new. As a general rule, owners take exceptional care of these vehicles. As soon as I bought it, I spent $1800 and had the deep 100,000 mile service performed. This is the key to preserving these vehicles. I had the 200,000 deep service done for $1,000 and it was nice that a local small town mechanic was not intimidated to work on this car. The ride on the highway is unequaled. Many times while on the phone folks could not even tell I was in the car when I was riding down the freeway at 75 mph. As recently as a few months ago, i was getting 26 mpg at or around 65-70 mph. Incredible. Over the 5.5 year period of time that I owned this car, I had one repair for $200. It always starts. Routine maintenance is the key. This is the best value on the market. If the owner has all of the papers showing routine oil changes, etc, I would not hesitate to buy one of these with mileage even close to 200,000. the only downside is that repairs are expensive but I never had any. I am 6-5 and the seats are just incredible."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

comfortable and reliable

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "hard to replace"

Cons: "and everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"perfect for 12 years drove it for short distance"

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Superb Vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Superb vehicle, everything promised and more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car. Excellant value if bought used.

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,540

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and high quality"

Cons: "No manual transmission option and initial price ne"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Make car parts for Toy and Lex. Bought car from my company (was the presidents car). MPG is better that I had hoped for and very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Better than M B

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned the car for 10 years and no breakdowns. Only thing I did was change oil on time"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car, Reliable and enjoyable

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 316,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, ride, roomey interior, great sound system"

Cons: "Pricey as a new car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used in 2002 at 7 years old so it has also been a GREAT VALUE. I maintained it well and it has has been very reliable and a pleasure to own. Appearance of interior and exterior still looks like it is only a few years old."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 11 of its 13 years, and it has been nothing but dependable and solid. Drives like a dream, smooth, comfortable. My 90 year mother loves to go for road trips with me in it, and I have never been stiff or uncomfortable on long drives. It has 206,000 miles on it, and all original major parts. I just now am having things like the radiator and alternator replaced, after all these miles and years! It has been a tank that has been nothing but good, dependable and powerful. 1998 must have been an stellar year for Lexus! I love my Lexus LS 400!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car. I have had it for 14 years

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid, comfortable and beautiful"

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After having a Corrola and a a Camry we bought the 1998 LS. It has been a wonderful car. It has never let me down."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car EVER!

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,832

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1997 in 2000. It has over 150,000 miles and it still runs like it's brand new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's well worth it's value price."

Cons: "Mileage could be better, but that's okay."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like this car better than any new car I've ever seen! It's a heavier car, but to me that means I'm protected better in case of an accident! I love the body style and the interior. It will hold 5 people comfortably...love the roominess...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 302,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looks and fast"

Cons: "timeing belt evey 65k pricy but worth it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased vehicle in 1999 serviced and maintained by professional Lexus mechanic. Best car ever. Continue to drive daily 130 each day and still get 23MPG. Will run with it until it dies, hopefully another 150k. Great motor and comfort."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I'm 65 - owned 10 years - best car I've ever had

By on Sunday, October 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The driving experience"

Cons: "Not one con with this car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was fortunate to be able to grab this car when it was one year old. 2000 was the last year of this body style. Gorgeous to this day - and as much a delight to drive today as it was the day I got it. It was way ahead of its time. A true 2000 "classic"!!!"

This car is simply the best ever made.

By on Monday, September 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The most dependable car ever owned. A pleasure to drive."

Cons: "Nothing that I can think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1999 Lexus LS400

"I have owned many automobiles during the past 60 years. This Lexus is the best overall car I have ever owned and driven. Nothing compares to it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

1999 Lexus LS400

THIS IS THE CAR TO BUY

By on Monday, September 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has to be the best car made. Luxury and more. I can not find a bad rating anywhere. All ratings I did fine are 4.5 or 5 sop that tells the story. Theare are so many options and the ride is just wonderful. Great resale but who wants to sell? You feel safe in this car and I would drive across country with this car even if it had 1,000,000 miles on it, that is how much I trust the car. if you find one, buy it. I have been driving for 46 years and trust me, nothing is better."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

truly best vehicle ever owned

By on Friday, August 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 97 LS has 234500 wonderful miles, still averaging 22 mpg, inexpensive to maintain at Toyota."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

perfection

By on Friday, May 20, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"bought mine at 79000 miles. put in a new timing belt because the manuel said too.Probably didn"t need to.Absolutly best car i have ever owned.Drives like a dream.Long trips are a piece of cake and you feel so secure in it.Have 110000 miles now and it still drives like its brand new.When getting oil changed, have a Toyota dealership do it and save yourself about 50 percent.Unfortuantly,I am now spoiled and will not drive anything but a LS.Do yourself a favor and get one-you will be shocked on how its the perfect car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, May 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Outstanding!

By on Saturday, May 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my '98 LS400 in 2003. Best car I've ever had! Overall look still stylish today. Smooth, powerful, quiet and handles well for a big sedan. Extremely reliable. Keep fresh fluids in it and pay attention to the maintenance schedule and it's really not pricey to maintain. Over the long haul, a LOT LESS than I'd spend on a comparable Mercedes / BMW. I'm looking into buying a Lexus GX470. My wife asks me how much we'd get for the LX. I tell her zero. I'm never selling this car!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, May 04, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details