Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1995 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 160 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Excellent

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car 13 years ago. It was a used - one owner car. I have had to spend minimal money and time in repairs over the years. Very reliable and dependable. Next car I purchase will be a Lexus."

Dependable luxury

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe reliable smooth and quiet"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable and safe vehicle ever made. These cars will easily go 300,000 miles or more if maintained properly. Quite a history in the development of this automobile. It would be very hard to own any other brand of car since driving this one. My 1997 Lexus LS400 is 17 years old and drives like brand new. I cant believe how silent, smooth, and well built it is. Even the motor mounts are liquid filled. My advice is to try to buy from an original owner. You can be assured they took well care of it. This car sold for over $53,000.00 when new. I paid $5,200.00 when it had 102,000 miles and 15 years old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

none better for the price

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 272,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable & comfortable if kept up"

Cons: "pricey up front-long term=no"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dollar for dollar we don't think there is a better car for the price. With 272K miles, it still drives and handles almost like new. All upkeep and work done at dealership. I've always done all my car work myself... before this one. These newer cars need too much special tools and knowledge for a home garage mechanic. The only other car we'd consider would be an Audi. For a not so high end car, a VW would be our nest choice. Checked Consumer's year end auto buyer's guide and owner's survey results for reliability and repair frequency; Toyota and Honda beat all...BMW's and Mercedes' are only average or below in most categories."

Great car!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this 18 year old car with 84,000 ,miles. $7,000.00 price. Excellent interior/exterior. Great automobile!"

Best manufactured care on the planet for its day.

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, comfort, ride."

Cons: "Cup holder is too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is 13 years old, has 112,000 miles on it and still rides smoother and quieter than any new car I have been in for years, other than Lexus. Still rides like brand new. Rock solid dependable, not a single thing wrong with it except a couple elements in the stereo system LCD display."

Tan/gold, black spoked-new wheels,impeccably main

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Beautiful, well maintained, excellent condition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Lexus LS300 98

"Sound system wonderful, 6 CD cassette, quiet, beautiful condition. Purchased new car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Lexus LS300 98

A joy to drivre & own

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Need a car for every day of the week 7"

Cons: "I only have one to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Ride or die oh what a ride or rush

"You cant go wrong buying a vehicle like this,thats my word as a man"

Ride or die oh what a ride or rush

awsome vehicle!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an awesome car , smooth, quiet, great mileage, fast and it never breaks!"

I love this car

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything."

Cons: "The interior color could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got it used 2 years ago for $6000. Did the 90,000 mile timing belt replacement. Great reliable comfortable car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT INTERIOR..FRESH PAINT

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "20PLUS MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WELL MAINTAINED, NEW TIRES AND ALL BELTS"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Luxury Car For The Money

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"97 but, looks new, comfortable, quiet, fast, great sound system, sharp!. Have achieved nearly 26 on the HWY with AC on. 185K and still feels just like new, paid $3500 for Luxury and dependability. Could Only get this with a Lexus, it's a Toyota, Notorious for Engineering excellence. Kaizen, look it up. Never have seen these in the scrap yard unlike BMW's and Mercedes. Unless they were totaled."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

A really great car!

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 302,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, reliable, powerful and good mpg!"

Cons: "None for me!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with 75,000 miles on it. It now has 302,000 miles and runs and drives like it did when I bought it, smooth as silk! I test drove an LS460 because I was thinking about changing but my car rode just as good as the LS460! Even if I buy an LS460, I'll keep my LS400. I think in 20 years this car will bring big bucks!"

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

The best car ever.

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"285K miles with only tires, brakes and oil changes. It still rides and drives like new. I think 400k is within reach."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The Greatest Car Ever Built

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Greatest car ever built. Quality, comfort, speed.."

Cons: "Cost of repairs, but they are rare. Buy one."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

We named it Rio Silverado. When we got it we partied at The Rio in Vegas.

"I challenge you to read Chester Dawson -The Relentless Pursuit. I am a car freak. I have an internet car show. I drove in car commercials. I owned a restoration shop and raced in SCCA. I love cars, all kinds. But, this one, this one stopped me from buying cars like kids eat chips. It will run Albuquerque to Las Vegas at 90-100mph and get 25-28 with a full house. Its quiet, fast, balanced, and if you care for it, it will be your sanctuary from whatever you do for a living. As was said earlier, if you can find one, buy it now. BTW: Wifey has 189K on her 1999 LS400. Read the book, this IS the greatest car ever build."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

We named it Rio Silverado. When we got it we partied at The Rio in Vegas.

Amazing car

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car in the world!"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned. I have wanted this car for a long time and finally got it a last year and it is truly amazing."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The VERY best auto I ever owned!!

By on Friday, December 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's got plenty of "zip" for any kind of driving"

Cons: "What's not to like -- I found no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2000 with 33,000 miles on it. It has been garaged the entire time and has one-year old tires, new belts and hoses, drives like a dream and got 27mpg on a recent drive to and from NM mountains. I have used mid-grade gasoline for the past few years with no adverse effects. Regular maintenance has been done and the only un-expected repair was a replacement serpentine belt about a year after it was bought (at a regular scheduled maintenance at the dealer). The car will be sold ONLY because I have recently married and my husband has a new auto and pick-up. I know of no problems with the car; the rear seat has been sat in a dozen times, maybe. The color, silver sage, is a good one and the light grey interior makes for easy cleaning. Overall, this is a great car in very good condition."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Car I have Ever Owned!

By on Sunday, December 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sound, reliable, well built dependable car."

Cons: "Small Cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of a 1997 LS 400. The car was purchased new in South Carolina and other than routine maintenance every 30K miles and oil changes, brakes and tires, this car has never been in for any repairs. Everything on this car still works. It is as quiet and smooth as it was the day I bought the car 15 years ago. It is driven daily 30 miles round trip and I average 26-27 mpg hwy, 21 mpg city consistently. It calls for "Premium", but I have used midgrade gasoline for all these years with no problems. This car has been driven on very long trips at least 10 times with absolutely no problems. It has also driven over 200 miles to the University our son attended more times than we can count until last year without a hitch. It is RWD, so this car is driven about 9 months per year and usually garaged from Dec-Mar, depending on the weather here in NC. We have yet to see the "Check Engine" light to come on in 15 years. Amazing car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

If you can find one -- BUY IT

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid, Safe, Reliable, Great on Gas, Beautiful ."

Cons: "My Lexus has- - NEVER YET-- bought me lunch."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 70 years old and have owned many cars. My 2000 Lexus LS is by far the best of the lot. I have driven my Lexus cross country (USA) several times; coast to coast and back within Canada; and also to deep interior Mexico, twice, with only one repair needed---A FLAT TIRE FIXED :) :)"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

A great automobile

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and rides wonderful"

Cons: "Head room if you are tall only a inch or so."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car when it was 5 years old with 43,000 miles on it. I t has been and still is a wonderful car.I do not drive it in the winter and keep it garaged and it looks and drives like new. The gas mileage on a V8 is 22-25 and up to 27 on highway drives. If I get another one I will go for the LS with all wheel drive and a few more gadgets. I like the sguare stile of this car because it is easy to judge instead of the round style so I keep waiting for the LS to change before I look for a newer one.Of course it may be years so I will keep what I have and enjoy it very much in good weather. If you want a great car and can find one of these early LS models they are very good cars. Most people tend to keep them and do not give them up to easy especially if they have been maintained and cared for."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Better gas mileage than new

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great steering, power, roomy leather interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the LS400 new in 1998. I now have 147,000 miles and it still averages 23 in the City to 25-28MPG freeway. I was disapointed to find the newer Lexus LS 460 only gets 16MPG city. This model is a keeper. What I love most is the steering...turns on a dime and u-turns are no problem at all. Virtually maintenance free except for oil changes, but plan to spend $1-2K on maintenance and repairs about every other year."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

By far best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, reliability, comfort"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my LS400 when it was 2 years old with 30,000 miles on it. It has far exceeded my expectations in every way. The reliability, luxurious ride, classic good looks and easy maintenance have been a pleasure. I will purchase another. After accumulating more than 200,000 miles on it, I still would not hesitate to put it on the road going anywhere. It's just that good."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Hard to part with

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Total luxury."

Cons: "Cupholder could be bigger for larger cups."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved and driven this car for 11 years. Every time I have went car shopping in the last few years to replace it, I have realized that the luxury of this car is unbeatable. I have heard from a friend of mine who used to sell the Lexus that this particular year of the LS is the best ever. I agree. I have 235,000 on my car and am shopping for a newer Lexus. It will be hard to replace this one."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

excellent reliable vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Comfortable, Roomy, Body holds up well"

Cons: "gas mileage is about 20MPG; it is heavy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very comfortable to drive. The engine lasts - I use a full synthetic with Lucas Oil Stabilizer and it still purrs at 266000 miles. The only issue I have had was the alternator and the power steering pump. This car is an excellent buy and I would highly recommend buying one. I may have to sell mine since I am commuting to work and I would like to get over 30 MPG, but I am certainly not going to part with it for $4500. Maybe $6000, but not at the prices quoted here."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best v8 at his class

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"price value and quality all are top at his class"

Great Vehicle for being 13 yrs old

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,444

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Longevity and Cost fun to drive reliability"

Cons: "water leaks in the spare tire spot in the trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have had the car since 2004 got it with 40k now it has aprox 107xxx Ive not had one problem the whole time. Im about to purchase a new one. Love the feel, the comfortability, the reliability and the smoothness in which the engine and transmission operate at"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details