Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Lexus IS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 382 Ratings for the 2006 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

The best mix of sport and luxury on the market!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "8 speed transmission, no gas guzzler"

Cons: "rear seating is a bit cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"People say that BMW is the ultimate driving machine. While this may be true, those vehicles simply do not last or even hold up for very long until repairs are needed. I can easily count 5 new BMWs on the side of the road with their hazard lights on for various work that needs to be addressed. Meanwhile, I am cruising along in my IS F knowing it won't break down on me and I have a great balance of sport feel and luxury in my car. The seats are supportive. Luxurious nature of the cabin is great. It is by no means a perfect car, but it definitely is one of the best Lexus has ever produced. I love the looks both inside and out- not to mention the "OMG" effect that I see on onlookers' faces when I drive by. The V8 is quite fuel efficient for its class and though I didn't purchase this car to save gas, I know it's a lot better than having to refuel more often compared to the IS F's counterparts (M3, C63). Also, this car doesn't get hit with a gas guzzler tax, which saves me a year of gas by itself. If I had to purchase a new IS F, I would do it in an instant. It is the fastest production Lexus out there (not including the LFA). Everything about this car looks and feels great. The quad tips, which aren't everyone's favorite, though copied by a few brands afterwards, give a unique look and a powerful menacing rear. The Lexus reliability speaks for itself. The M3 and C63 both offer a great pedigree of performance. The IS F is new to the sport luxury game, and it will be a game changer. I have recommended many friends and colleagues to purchase an IS F over the other two simply because when you buy a car of this much power and cost, you want to enjoy it, not having to constantly take it into the dealer to have things fixed. I say, do what you want with your money, but if you really want a car that you can enjoy without the hassles of reliability problems, the Lexus IS F is the best option out there."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fun to drive!!

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great handling and fun to drive"

Cons: "Tires are different sizes and wear out easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love driving this car, but I hate that the tires can't be rotated which leads to them wearing out prematurely. Overall, GREAT CAR!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle, very reasonable for the quality!

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Really comfortable and eye-catching looks."

Cons: "Headlight goes on and off - seems common."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought it used, 2nd owner and out of warranty. Love, love, love this car. Options are spoiling me for other cars. Much better service at dealership than other domestic brands I've had before. Repairs can be expensive but they are for all cars now it seems. Has a couple of weird issues, the left headlight will go out a lot and be on again later - hard to explain to the cops on a RIDE check! And now the AFS light flashes intermittanly (causes the automatic light levellers not to function properly). Just to replace the front headlight assembly is $1500... not likely. Also with the 17" rims hitting large potholes damaged the tire and rims - wouldn't want the 18" or larger!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

LEXUS ALMOST GOT IT RIGHT

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car has so many positves. Great interior and exterior styling, incredible engine and acceleration, typical Lexus build-quality throughout and decent mileage. In a perfect world however, it falls short in 2 categories: 1) steering feel(numb and over-assisted) and 2) transmission shifting points (1st and 2nd gear just shift too quickly and abruptly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It was my first car

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fast, comfortable,and safe"

Cons: "not distinctive enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car for my 18th birthday and loved it. I totaled my first one due to being pushed under an 18 wheeler and walked away from the accident completely unharmed. when I got my second one I fell back in love with it. It is a great car,fun to drive and very FAST! my only complaint is to make it more distinctive from the other IS models. The reliability is amazing on this car and I would definetly buy another one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Owner for life

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Kept value"

Cons: "Not an awd but didn't need one when I bought it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have never owned a car as long as I have this one. Love it's turn radius, the pick up and go and the luxury feel of the interior!"

Most impressive!

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great in the snow, smooth drive, quiet inside"

Cons: "Pricey but you get what you pay for!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just bought my first Lexus in February and I'm loving it! It's like a dream...smooth, luxurious, classy, is WONDERFUL in the snow (AWD version that is) and is just a sleek car. I couldn't have picked a better car to have! I do wish it had better cup holders in the front...I'm not a big fan of the side pocket holders and there is only one in the center console but it makes the car more clean looking on the inside."

quiet and fun to drive

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A quiet cabin with excellent accoustics. Great audio and the Lexus Enform is awesome and easy to use."

great car

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the is 250 is great car , great handling , very nice interior."

excellent car

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4 years now, feels like brand new. no squeaks, rattles, just perfect"

very good car

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is perfect and no problem.Still in warranty for another 2.5 years."

I LOVE THIS CAR!! It is an amazing Driving machine

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is just amazing!!!!"

Cons: "A little tight in the back seat but thats not bad!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is HOT, FAST, SMOOTH, BEAUTIFUL, RELIABLE, EASY TO DRIVE, I cant think of anything about it that is bad. Its just overall PERFECT."

Worth Every Penny!!!

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ok so here's my review on my IS250...mines a grey 08 with Navi on it...This car is awesome if you want it to be your daily driver...If your looking for a car that's fuel efficient with luxury than this is for you. On the other hand, if your looking for a fast car that's also a big family car than don't waste your time on this. I'm married and have a 2 year old and this car is perfect for me!!! I highly recommend this car.."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

JUST LOVE IT. ALL AROUND GREAT FUN SEXY CAR

By on Thursday, February 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"AWESOME CAR"

By far the best car i've owned

By on Monday, January 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "just about everything"

Cons: "back seat room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Very quick, but also comfortable (unless your an adult in the back seat)."

A little rocket ship!

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "Maintance costs!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car and fun to drive! Lots of power and great handling! Lots of legroom for tall person in front seat. Backseat legroom is tight if you have tall person in back. Lots of HP for high-traffic areas of town where you need to have the power to get out in traffic."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned out of over 60 verhicles.

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas mileage"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just can't find myself trading it in. I've never owned a car for more than 3 years and I'm at 3 years and 2 months. it's crazy. I get the trade in itch and just can't do it. I've owned everything from new 2004 corvette conv to Mercedes convertibles. This car has everything except the convertible."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great for snow.

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

for sale

"this is an excellent car I recomend it to anybody. It's great for snow also."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

for sale

I love this car!!

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent gas mileage, drives great, QUALITY!!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great gas mileage. Extremely comfortable. Beautiful!! Best car I've ever owned. Will definitely buy another one!!"

Fun, yet practical

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Decent gas mileage for AWD and quality interior"

Cons: "a little lacking in power, but still adequate."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. Fun to drive, yet practical. It gets pretty good gas mileage too. I average about 23 mpg. I have the IS 250 AWD and it is good in snow as well. My last car was an Infiniti G35, so any all-wheel drive vehicle would be an upgrade in snow. It has the pep when you need it, but not so much to get you into trouble by just putting your foot on the gas. The back seat is not the roomiest for a 4 door, but OK for my needs. I would definitely recommend the vehicle. Get it loaded though. The packages are sort of weird.....you have to get a certain package to get blue tooth...just things like that. It is great as a loaded vehicle. Expect to pay just north of $40,000 loaded though."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car, Love It!

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very little problems with Lexus/Toy. brand."

Cons: "Little more pricey than others, but worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Compared to others in category, can't beat a Lexus for ride, quality, WARRANTY, SERVICE DEPT! They have top notch service and I've used several as I have moved around and owned other Lexus vehicles. If under warranty, or CPO, they take care of any and everything...if out of warranty, no worries cause not much will go wrong. Well built, to last! We also own LS460/35000 miles...Love it too!"

My favorite car

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So comfortable, has everything I want/need"

Cons: "1 front cupholder, no nav while driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Mercedes, Audi, Infiniti, but my Lexus is my favorite. I will continue to go with Lexus when it is time to buy another vehicle"

Better than I anticipated!

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, handling, luxury, service. Great date car!"

Cons: "Cost of options compared to other makes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm very impressed with this car. Terrific performance for a luxury sedan. It wont match my Porsche 911, but it has some punch. Impressive interior when it's loaded with options. I am also very impressed with the Lexus service dept. Compared to Toyota service. I have only had it in for a recall and regular service (I do oil changes myself) but when I have, a valet greets you, you get a new loaner, my car has been filled with gas and washed. Cooled and heated seats are awesome.The only negative was the cost of the options."

A fun introduction into the sports car world.

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "Leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wanted an IS from the time they were 300's. When I finally had the chance for an IS350 I couldn't pass it up. I still love the car just looking for a bigger sports sedan like the BMW 550."

very good car

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the way it handles"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus IS near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details