Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Lexus IS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 249 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Love my IS

By on Friday, April 15, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my IS for 4 years now and I still LOVE IT. It is reliable, stylish and very fun to drive. Has 100k miles on it and still runs like new. Highly recommend!"

V Nice

By on Thursday, April 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love this car. Is holding up quite nicely. Only 'problems' have been the wheels, in that they definitely need to be changed regularly. Also, dashboard has some weird material which when left in the hot sun actually feels sticky to the touch. Thankfully not on all of dashboard, trim only."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, March 10, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, February 27, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had my 2002 for 9 years, no problems, quick and sporty, dream to own"

Great Vehicle!

By on Wednesday, February 16, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had mine over 7 years and I have never had any major repairs needed. It is awesome!"

Reliable

By on Tuesday, February 15, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Let it sit in 0 degree F* weather for 6 days and it will start up. Very reliable. Owned my 2005 for 3 years and it hasn't stranded me yet even with 127k on the clock. Isn't an effortless car to drive. Tranny isn't too smooth. road imperfections are multiplied in this car. Pot Holes cause major suspension damage due to lower profile tires. With snow tires I have yet to get stuck. Even in snow higher than my undercarriage.Put weight in the trunk to help. Bought this car for it's reliability!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Delightful in every way

By on Friday, February 11, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought it new 8 yrs ago & now have a little under 200K troublefree miles on it. Still drives and looks new and definitely still a delight to drive. Back in '04 I added the Lexus L-tuned shocks & L-tuned exhaust and they were well worth it. Handling is sublime, acceleration is solid anywhere in the powerband and the interior fits me like a glove. This car is has been an absolute joy. Make sure you find one w/a 5spd manual if you really want to enjoy your ride."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

is300

By on Thursday, February 03, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"great car...only flaw is MPG"

My 1st Lexus!

By on Saturday, January 29, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this pre-owned car on 02/28/2010, so it's been about 1 year. I don't have any complaints. I owned a 1998 Honda Civic before this. Compared to the Civic it is much faster, rides much smoother, and does have a more desirable interior. Although it is not as good on gas it's still pretty economical for a luxury car. This model is small and sporty looking. Very cute. Excellent for my age (27). I did have to replace the motor that controls the door locks on the drivers side window about 5 months ago, but my husband did it for me and it wasn't a big deal (plus, you have to consider the car was already 5 years old even though it was new to me). Go test drive it. You will love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, January 23, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love this car

By on Friday, January 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the IS300 close to 8 years now; never a problem, performance is still great, and overall cost of ownership is very good."

Lexus is300

By on Thursday, November 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best style, comfort, performance, it is really reliable car and i never had any problems with it. In my opinion it is bether than new ones is250 and is350. When it runs it is hard to hear it its even on. I have owned mercedes, bmw, infiniti, vw, and some more but i like lexus the best because you get the whole package with is300."

By on Thursday, November 04, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Bulletproof Car

By on Thursday, October 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great car. Ive owned mine for about 3 years and have never had a problem with it. Its fun to drive and very reliable. It drives smooth, has a quiet cabin and can pull a quick 0-60 in power mode. I cant say enough good things about it. Based on this vehicle I will buy Lexus again."

By on Tuesday, October 05, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

ONE AWESOME CAR!!!

By on Wednesday, September 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you are looking for a smaller fast sedan then this would be your car. Fast, roomie, fun, sharp looking all the bells and whistles."

By on Wednesday, September 01, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Car was purchased new and was driven by a 77 year old grandmother."

Amazing Car!

By on Sunday, August 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchase a different car every 8 months. I have owned all kind of vehicles and the IS300 sports cross if my favorite. It is very roomy for a small car. I'm 6'5" and sit comfortably in the drivers seat. The sound system is great for a factory stereo. It handles very well and has decent acceleration. The fuel efficiency is ok. It has hard bucket seats that are not very comfortable on long trips. All in all its a very fun car to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, June 27, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Value Thus Far

By on Thursday, June 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is a blast to drive! I bought this car with around 100,000 miles on it and have had it for about 25,000 miles. It has ran great and has not had any problems other than normal maintainance. My only complaint would be that it is not good in the snow. This is not a shock, but it is something to be conscious of."

4dr n/a toyota supra

By on Monday, May 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had my 2001 lexus is 300 for 3 yrs now. will make your boss and your friends envy you. i probaly get 4-5 comments a week about my car which is mostly stock. Only complaint would be winter driving, i purchased snow tires and it has solved my problems. If you own one I would buy a winter beater. car to nice to drive in snow. Never had any major problems at 155,000 miles except air/fuel sensor and expensive maintanace. spark plug and wire change can cost 800.00 in parts and labor, so have some extra money stored away for maintanace. lots of power, 1-3 gears kick you back."

Lexus = Quality

By on Saturday, March 20, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love my 2002 IS300. I bought it used in 05 with about 42k miles on it. Nearly 130k now and it really runs great! I've had no MAJOR issues with this vehicle! Just small things like the hood latch, etc. A couple complaints: Minor: the cup holder is tiny and actually comes out (which always wedges on to the cup). Moderate: The low profile tires look kinda cool but are big candidates for flats. I've had a few. Major: I'm from Chicago and this is NOT a very good winter car. Light + Rear Wheel Drive = control issues. I try everything: snow setting, huge bags of gravel, etc and it's still quite bad in the snow. Overall, very pleased. NOT ONE ISSUE with engine, starter, exhaust, transmission, fuel system, cooling system, etc. Just minor wear and tear. Try to avoid the Lexus dealer. A simple one axle break job (rotors and pads) is a staggerign $600. I told them no thanks and got it done for less but best avoid them altogether unless its a very specific part you need."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, March 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus IS near Honolulu. See local deals