Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Lexus IS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 250 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Awesome Car

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 12 years and have had no major problems. Usual maintenance was done every 20,000 miles and am very pleased with it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car. It has never broke down.

By on Thursday, February 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Handles great."

Cons: "Sucks in the snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car since it had 50k. The only thing I have had to do to it was routine maintenance. I did the timing belt, water pump, etc job myself to save money. The only thing I don't like about it is that parts are expensive and to have a shop work on the car is expensive. Other know problems i have heard of are the rear main seals leak and the power steering pumps go out. Overall great car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car so far

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, quiet, lots of fun to drive, reliabl"

Cons: "too few cup holders, no longer made."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like this car. So far besides routine maintenance all I have had to fix is the stereo and the solenoid operating the door lock on the driver's door. The power to weight ratio is surprisingly good for a four door sedan. It is a bit too tightly sprung for my wife's taste but the cornering is superb. After 11 years I can not detect any deterioration in performance. The seats are grippy which causes them to wear faster than slick leather but tires are like that too. It is a trade off. I will have to get new upholstery on the driver's side in another five years or so."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this Car

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun performance sleeper"

Cons: "The back seat is a little on the small side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I began checking this car out the second year they were sold in the US (2002) and I loved it, but at the time I was a college student making 0 dollars and couldn't afford one. A few years later I ran across a pristine model that had been owned (for some reason) since new by a little old couple that really only used the car to travel to see their relatives in NV during the summer. The car had extremely low miles and was in perfect shape except for a couple rock chips on the hood. The car is bullet proof Toyota reliability and is just so much more fun to drive than most anything I've owned in the past. Plus some simple mods and the motor is now doing well over 250HP before even thinking of adding a turbo or really breaking open the motor. The I6 used to be the Supra motor and was built tough. This car is a sporty sleeper thanks to the Lexus badge on it. No one out of the know would ever even look at this car twice until it blows by them. The shine of this car is in the drive. Take it to your favorite twistys and you'll never want to leave. It comfortably seats 4 if not over 6 feet in back and still returns 28 MGP on the highway if you keep your foot out of it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my car

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything about my is300 is awesome! I recommend this car to anyone who is smart enough to buy one! Low maintenance is awesome!"

Very nice!

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Styleish, fast"

Cons: "Small cabin, rwd, not good in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the car brand spankin new in the showroom on august 2001. I love the car but for a new family its not great. The back seat is small and me being a 5'9" i have to drive with the seat somewhat back. The car is fun to drive especially once performance parts (intake, exhaust, suspension) are done. Its perfect for a single guy/lady or as a liesure car but not for a family. Also replacement parts and maintenece is VERY expensive. Also the car slips on a bit of flurry so forget abut driving it in the snow. (rwd) As much as its hurting me to even think abut it, i will be trafing the car in or selling it soon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Dream Car

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love this car, fun to drive enough power"

Cons: ""Melting Dash" scrapes off and is soft when hot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car.. I wanted one from the moment it came out. I got the 2002 because it came in the manual. This car has enough power for everyday drivign as well as hard driving. I have the black on black 5 speed. I love everything except for the "melting dashboard" It is very hard to keep it scratchless and clean, the material (rubber) used for the dash melts when it is in the sun and scrapes off very easily and collects dust and dirt. Other than that I love the car."

Sporty, fun, looks sharp, handles great...

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style, handling, great everyday car"

Cons: "Small back seat, small trunk, limited trunk access"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven my IS 300 for two years and absolutely love it. Its a great everyday car that has a sporty feel and styling. I love the suede/leather combination seats and the watch style gauge panel. The 5 speed e-shift is a neat feature for fun country cruises and corners. The only reason i gave it a 4 our of 5 for comfort and convenience is because it's pretty tight in the back seats for tall riders and the back seats do not fold down for trunk access. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

nice quick ride.

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "quick, reliable, luxury."

Cons: "RWD in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

the beast

"i bought this car at 95,xxx for 10k$ in great condition. i have driven it year round summer and winter,and taken it all over the united states. 40,000 miles later the only money i have had to put into the car was for oil changes/reg maintenance and tires. my only concern with the vehicle is the RWD. the is300 is not very good in snow."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the beast

excellent first car for a teenager

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the first car we bought for our daughter and it was excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus IS near Honolulu. See local deals