Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Lexus IS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 247 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

Great little car

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great package - nice looking design (inside/outside), rear wheel dynamics, nice ride quality. Nice torque from the inline 6. Not too flashy, but enough to be fun. A bit noisy - wind and road. Old school tech. Overall, very reliable car - in terms of motor, electronics, etc... but can be expensive for big ticket items - timing belt, shock/struts, etc."

Poor gas mileage. Good power and handling.

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "power, handling, style"

Cons: "mileage, room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Peppy performance and good braking. No room in back seat. Small trunk. Comfortable on long rides. Nice styling. Poor performance in snow."

First car, first love!

By on Tuesday, August 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs great, well made, comfortable, fun!"

Cons: "Expensive parts and maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the first car I ever bought on my own and I love everything about it! I still get compliments on it even though its almost 12 years old and it still drives like a charm! The interior is still in perfect condition after living at the beach for 5 years. My only complaint and the reason I'm thinking of selling is that it is soooo expensive to repair. I've been told that the engine will be great for at least 200,000 more miles but the thought of the upkeep and maintenance as the vehicle ages is daunting. If you can afford the expensive maintenance then this car is definitely worth every penny!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

RWD at its finest.

By on Monday, August 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "quick and sexy."

Cons: "cup holders don't do much."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun, Comfy, and stylish all in one. Very fun to drive whip the rear end out. I have a 5 speed which is a must. Just wish it had more power really. But still one of my favorite cars."

Funnest car I've ever owned and driven

By on Wednesday, July 24, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Needed bigger

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty workhorse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my IS-300 9 years ago as a certified pre-owned Lexus, with 45K miles on it. I had only 3 notable service issues with the car over 9 years. Two of these repairs were covered by the extended warranty and the third was a 120K mile shape-up (brakes, timing belt, a sensor, struts/shocks). I bought a new car - as I needed something bigger - but miss driving the IS-300 every day. When I sold it - the engine still ran like the day I got it and it loved to purr, accelerate, and corner."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus IS near Honolulu. See local deals