Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Lexus IS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 250 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 8 9 10 | Next

By on Monday, September 24, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

excellent car

By on Friday, September 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I leased this car for 3 years, loved it enough to purchase it. Quick, reliable, and after 4 years drives like the day I drove it off the lot."

fun car but not the best

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"The main reason I purchased the is300 is for it's sleak sporty look. it defitnetly caught my eye because of that big "L" on the hood, but I guess it's just a status. It's and entry level lexus that provides some sort of afforability. The resale valu is very good, or isn't as good as it should be. I would take this vehicle over any 3 series bmw all day. Other than the expensive maitnance and average resale value this vehicle is nice."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Hands down the best car I have owned. After 150K miles, it still handles like it was when new. Everything tight, nothing rattles. Only thing to ever break is the CD player. Just get a cassette adapter for your iPod and be happy. And a good set of snow tires."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, September 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, September 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I LIKE IT!!

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I agree with an earlier post as far as the premature wear on the inner side of front tires, the oxygen sensor, and the radio errors which require replacements. It is a great car overall though. I whip around in it through traffic. It's quick at the draw and when you want to pass. I dont have any major problems with this car. I want to upgrade to the 07 IS AWD..hopefully it will handle better in the snow..since my 02 IS300 usually remains PARKED during those times!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the best car i've had."

Great car - '05 5-speed Manual

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"The IS300 is without a doubt a unique car that will keep looking good and performing great for a long time to come. It's proven to be way more reliable than the german competitors and probably performs at 95% of a bmw. Reliability means a lot. The car handles like nothing I've ever driven. It's very smooth and scary fast when you want it to be. Braking is awesome too, stops really quick and securely. Since day one I've said this car needs a 6th gear with the manual because on the highway at 75-80 mph the car is revving at about 3500 rpm in 5th gear. I guess in a way it's cool though because at that rpm you have power on reserve instantly if you need to pass anyone. The back seat is tiny at best, so don't plan on this 4-door being a 4 passenger tranport often. The front seats are comfy and std stereo system is great. As far as winter in CT goes, I bought some blizzaks and made it through everything, just need to know how to drive a bit and not freak out when the tail slides out. Lexus service is getting WAY too expensive for the routine stuff, so BMW's free maintenance is looking pretty attractive. With the new IS250 and 350 here, the IS300 loses out in styling, but you just can't go wrong picking up a certified pre-owned one. I hope to keep mine for a long time."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

FUNCTIONAL AND FUN.

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"You have to own one to understand."

Too much for too little

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

"Interior seems cheap compared to the competitors. CD changer had to be replaced twice (thankfully under warranty) but it is impossible to remove it without damaging plastic dash trim. Getting similar errors, so it will no doubt fail again. Car eats tires, less than 20k miles per set, inside edge of front tires wear prematurely. Fuel economy is about 18mpg even with consertative driving. Plastic components on rear hatch cover have broken several times, not up to usual Toyota standards. Service costs are ridiculous from the dealer. They initially gave a loaner car for all services, a main selling feature, but soon discontinued that practice shortly after purchase. Known problem with oxygen sensors failing, impossible to get to without expensive service, Lexus should have replaced them under warranty. Have automatic transmission with E-shift, can't shift into 1st gear (why not?) manually and up/down shifts often hesitate. Performance not that great considering the low fuel economy (have other cars with smaller engines & better fuel economy that have better performance). From KBB, car does not appear to hold resale value very well. Rear seats have no legroom with an average size adult in the front seat. Despite being a hatchback, very limited useful storage space."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"By far the best vehicle I have ever been in or owned. Its sporty, hip, and beautifully designed inside and out. The ride quality is second to none. The 5 speed is so much fun to drive. Engine is super smooth, responsive and sounds great! Look no further when looking for a mid sized luxury sedan....AWESOME!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I intend on running this car into the ground, perhaps 300k, then sell to junkyard when it is worth nothing. In other words, I will not sell this car while it still runs. Excellent vehicle overall."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my car. I have the manual, and its so fun to drive, has a sporty look and still feels very comfortable inside. I wish it had a bit more power in the lower gears, but its still a joy to drive. I will keep this car as long as I can and I would recommend it to anyone looks for a reliable, safe but fun car."

Great Car

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Car is great and meets all my needs except when there is snow. Then you're better off walking. I don't mean a lot of snow either I live in WI and we get snow and if you keep the 17" summer tires on you WILL get stuck. Other than that I love this car."

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I LOVE THIS CAR! I HAD MINE FOR 3 YEARS. I JUST ABOUT CRIED WHEN I HAD TO SELL IT. DEFINITELY THE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED."

This car is so much fun!

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this little car! It's sporty, just the right size, and can dart around in traffic like my old sedan never could. I have been a loyal Lexus driver for many years now, and as always, I have never had any problems. My IS 300 operates wonderfully, and the Lexus service quality is superb! I would recommend this car to anyone looking for something reliable, luxurious and fun to drive."

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

SportDesign

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Phenomenal vehicle! Fun to drive, love it!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car, fun to drive (5 spd version) needs just a little more power"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 8 9 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus IS near Honolulu. See local deals