Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Lexus IS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 249 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

My Dream Car

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love this car, fun to drive enough power"

Cons: ""Melting Dash" scrapes off and is soft when hot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car.. I wanted one from the moment it came out. I got the 2002 because it came in the manual. This car has enough power for everyday drivign as well as hard driving. I have the black on black 5 speed. I love everything except for the "melting dashboard" It is very hard to keep it scratchless and clean, the material (rubber) used for the dash melts when it is in the sun and scrapes off very easily and collects dust and dirt. Other than that I love the car."

Sporty, fun, looks sharp, handles great...

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style, handling, great everyday car"

Cons: "Small back seat, small trunk, limited trunk access"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven my IS 300 for two years and absolutely love it. Its a great everyday car that has a sporty feel and styling. I love the suede/leather combination seats and the watch style gauge panel. The 5 speed e-shift is a neat feature for fun country cruises and corners. The only reason i gave it a 4 our of 5 for comfort and convenience is because it's pretty tight in the back seats for tall riders and the back seats do not fold down for trunk access. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

nice quick ride.

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "quick, reliable, luxury."

Cons: "RWD in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

the beast

"i bought this car at 95,xxx for 10k$ in great condition. i have driven it year round summer and winter,and taken it all over the united states. 40,000 miles later the only money i have had to put into the car was for oil changes/reg maintenance and tires. my only concern with the vehicle is the RWD. the is300 is not very good in snow."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the beast

excellent first car for a teenager

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the first car we bought for our daughter and it was excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Entry Level Luxury Sports Sedan

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "engine, power, reliability, styling"

Cons: "cup holders, backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2006 and have loved driving it for five years. The drive quality is top notch and rivals the sporty driving profile of a BMW 3 Series, but for much cheaper. The 215hp engine gives it plenty of power for how light the car is. The RWD is a major advantage over FWD sport sedans like the Acura TL because you don't get any torque steer. Also, with the I-6 engine, you get a ton of low end torque which really helps accelerating from a complete stop. Standard HID headlights are great too The seats are comfortable and give you plenty of room in the front (I'm 5'11 and fit in fine). The backseat is very cramped though, so this is not a good family car. The quality of the leather is good. It is almost 8 years old and no cracking, tearing, or noticeable fading of the leather (I do clean/condition it at least twice a year though). The stock premium stereo has good sound quality, but lacks thumping bass like newer premium stereos have. The backlights behind my stereo unit are spotty though. I had a grouping of buttons that had the backlight flicker for a while and now doesn't turn on, but they were not heaving used buttons. As long as you perform the scheduled maintenance (find a good 3rd party mechanic), it will run great and a long time. This is one of Lexus's most reliable cars according to consumer reports. A great aspect of this car is that it still turns heads after 8 years. The styling is somewhat unique and they are rare to find on the road."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Really enjoy it every day

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only real complaint is no fold-down rear seats. Took a 1200-mile road trip with two buddies in middle of summer. Cool, quiet and comfortable all the way. Don't drive like an enthusiast but know that there's fun on tap if I want to. Bought it used, one-owner with 60K and kbb says it's worth $100 less than I paid for it with 27,500 more miles on it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A great value - like a lower cost BMW 330i

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, great handling"

Cons: "paint on hood not durable (red models)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth shifting 5sp stick. Great horsepower (just 20hp less than 330i, for $10k less). Excellent fit and finish but factory paint on front of hood not very durable on this model, in red anyway. Only down side is that it has a kind of high insurance rating though."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car, very reliable!!

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, handles well"

Cons: "Drinks spill because of the shape of cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my IS300 for almost 8 years now and absolutely love it! It has about 175,000 miles on it, but still drives like it is brand new. The only thing I would ahve changed on mine is the suede seats with leather trim, after a while the suede kind of gets worn. I love this car, but am ready for a newer one, so I am going to get the IS250...hopefully it will be just as dependable as this one has been for me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Car....I just purchased my fourth one!!!

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Amazing Wagon....LOVE the SportCross!"

Cons: "Heavy braking from high speeds can wrap rotors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I put a lot of miles on my car and since 2002, this has been the car of choice! I've had three and just purchased my last one....the following are the versions/mileage: A. 2002 Sedan - 35k, sold since I wanted Sportcross version B. 2002 Sportcross - 175k miles with no problems! C. 2005 Sportcross - 125k miles with no problems! D. 2003 Sportcross - 45k miles (just purchased!!)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Best Car

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you want a car thats quick on the handling and purrs like a cat, the IS300 is the choice to be. Super reliable and great looking car. From a special occasion to a everyday car. Hands down a great choice for a sports sedan."

LOVE this car

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,028

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN to drive, sporty, GREAT handling"

Cons: "no blue tooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This zippy little car is my favorite car I have ever owned. Being in a family of car collectors (vintage"

Love it

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great design, luxurious!"

Cons: "MPG. . ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! I have over 150,000 miles and have never had any major issues or mechanical problems. Design is timeless. The only draw back is the MPG!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive, good interior space."

Cons: "blah standard stereo, interior plastics break"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car new and will keep it forever. It runs great and is a pleasure to drive. Very comfortable and drives like a sports car with lots of room due to the hatchback. I like the styling of the hatchback much more than the coupe. I would highly recommend this car."

Love it!

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, commutes are easy, eats up the road."

Cons: "Back seat is tight, 21 MPG on a good tank."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ever since they first came out I wanted an IS300. I've owned my 2003 Grey Graphite Pearl for 4 years now and love it more every time I drive it. My ONLY negatives are the backseat is a little cramped, and the MPG could be better. But it has been with me through thick and thin, 1000 mile roadtrips, and more. I wish they still made them, I would buy another in a heartbeat."

It's made by toyota!

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, handles very well!!"

Cons: "not available in 6 speed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid car highly recommend.. and there is lots of upgrades you can do to the engine and suspension."

Sick!

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "retains value! interior comfortable for 4!"

Cons: "slightly high suspension and quiet stock exhaust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is sick nasty. My favorite part of Lexus is their attention to details. Every button and knob is quality. The engine is superior and the E-shift transmission can handle 450hp easily. My only wish is that the stock suspension sat the car about 2" lower... but that's nothing Tein's can't do for around $1,000. I have owned a BMW, VW, and now Lexus... I will never get anything but Lexus! I love them... They drove to perfection, and I think they have arrived there! ;)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car!

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Beautiful interior and exterior, very few problems!"

Cons: "Parts aren't cheap."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a dream, best car I have ever owned, very few problems, easy to repair on your own,everything under the hood is labeled, and easy to access! Super sexy:)!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Luxury, Performance

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my IS300 for more than a year and I love it as much as the day that I bought it. The IS is the perfect combination of luxury and performance, backed by Toyota's legendary reliability, unlike it's competition (Audi, BMW"

Da Bomb Car!

By on Tuesday, September 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality"

Cons: "mpg 16-21 at Best! plus run 91-93 octane =$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GHreat all around - mpg of course but power would be better than mpg for most drivers of these anyway!"

Always a winner in my book!

By on Monday, September 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Not too pricey luxury sports car."

Cons: "gas mileage isnt that great but it was probably consider "okay" back then."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"AWESOME car! This would be my second IS, both 02 both standard. Always will be my favorite."

good car

By on Monday, August 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lexus IS 300 greatly pays off in the long run.

By on Saturday, July 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought this car in 2002 I had buyer's remorse because it was the most expensive car I had ever purchased. Nine years and 123,000 miles later it is long paid for, still looking good, and running great. This car fits the saying "you get what you pay for." I trust I'll get 200,000 miles out of it before my children are done with it. If there is one slight down side, the front and rear wheels are different sizes (no rotating the tires), and it requires high performance (costly) tires that must get replaced every 30,000 miles."

14 people out of 17 found this review helpful

FUN LITTLE CAR

By on Tuesday, May 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, quick, very light, rwd, mt, LSD"

Cons: "Tires not wide enough, nothing else (:"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its quick (mt), light weighted, handles very good, and it looks amazing, no problems at all, just added air to the tires and gas, very sporty and fun to drive. Best car I've owned period."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

long lasting car

By on Thursday, May 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"never had a problem with the car, i put on 169 thousand miles and into today no problems with it, the bad part about the car, the parts are not cheap, almost anything u need, needs to be order."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, May 03, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my '02 IS 300 in '07 and now have 112k. I have replaced the tires, the timing belt and the brakes and that is about it. I drive this car HARD and it's always a blast. I wish it had another (6th) gear and the back seat is too small but all in all I love my old IS 300."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus IS near Honolulu. See local deals