Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2004 Lexus GX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 206 Ratings for the 2003 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Luxury and comfort in a family car!

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, handles well, stylish, sturdy"

Cons: "Just 1: the 8 cyl uses more gas than I would like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I was hit head-on while driving my husband's Lexus sedan in 2005. Both my son and I walked away with only scraches from the air bags! I felt so safe in a Lexus product that we replaced it with another--this time, a family SUV. I am only 5'1" and have a hard time feeling comfortable in most cars but the adjustability and thick padded seats make this vehicle the most comfortable I have ever driven. The moon roof is fun and sporty on a warm summer day and helps to cool the car quickly by letting the hot air escape when I first get in. It's a great family vehicle, and the DVD player helps keep the kids occupied on long rides...but it is also luxurious enough to take friends out for the evening. A 6-disc changer and the Levinson sound system make an enjoyable listening experience while driving. Very little outside noise penetrates the windows. It is about as soundproof as a car can be. The 8 cylinder engine gives the car a strong pick-up and even ride on the highway."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used to own a Mercedes-Benz S500; I currently have BMW 528i and Lexus GX. Lexus is the best. Plus, its services are so much better than M-B's and BMW's. My next SUV will still be a Lexus GX."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great for long rides on the Interstate. Smooth.

By on Monday, March 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride."

Cons: "Gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A bit of a gas guzzler. 16-17mph highway. Not to mention the premium fuel."

Awesome!

By on Thursday, December 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2005 RX currently has 200,000 miles on it. It rides like a gem.. No real problems, great gas mileage! Love this truck!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best SUV I have ever owned

By on Saturday, October 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride, quiet, interior"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"minor issues all covered by warranty.."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My Mom loves it

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, versatile, roomy"

Cons: "It has 146,000 miles on it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"She has it and says she is never getting rid of it. She completely loves it. Had to change tires after 110,000miles. No major problems at all. Still runs great and almost to 150k miles."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great luxury and ride for the price!!"

Cons: "Price new, used is best for the lowest price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 7 years and love everything about it. It has been wonderful and incredibly reliable. I have driven other vehicles in the same class as this, given its age I was thinking about a newer SUV, no other vehicle has even come close to the comfort and performance as this one. I just put new tires on it and highly recommend the Michelin that Lexus recommends, it gives the ride an incredibly soft and smooth feel, other tires don't have this feel. I think it is the best vehicle money can buy!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Perfect vehicle!

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great overall vehicle especially if you have child"

Cons: "Low gas mileage 16 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Perfect combination of car and truck. Great SUV! Only downside is gas mileage, only 16 mpg and you must use premium gas."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned!

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, great family car, comfortable, sporty"

Cons: "Third row seats not as convienent as I would like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and am very sad to get rid of it. I'm driving farther to work each day and need something more economical but even if I had to do it all over again I would in a heart beat!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I have had my Lexus GX 470 for nearly 5 years...

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, luxury, reliability and dependability"

Cons: "pricy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love everything about this car. It is the priciest purchase I have ever made, but certainly feel as though I am getting my money's worth each and every day. I have never had any issue with the car and nothing has needed to be repaired. Only maintenance required are my oil changes and tune ups. They even come to my job to pick up my car for them, and they offer free car washes on Saturday! I will always go back to Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "spacious without being too big"

Cons: "really low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never enjoyed owning a car as much as the Lexus GX470. I am about to trade it in after seven years and for the first time in my life, I feel a little emotional about doing so. It's comfortable, useful and really low maintenance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle!!!

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "no storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car drives like it did when I purchased it 8 years ago! This is THE most dependable car ever. Nothing ever goes wrong with it. I've purchased a battery and water pump. Crazy good! Kids have complained about the lack of leg room in 3rd row and 2nd really is more comfortable to 2 people. There really is no storage but other than that it's perfect and I'm looking to purchase my next GX."

excellent suv

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,111

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to use, convenient navigation, reliable"

Cons: "weak cupholders, 3rd seat inconvenient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"manual 3rd seat is inconvenient. i'm glad the newer models have auto. 3rd seats"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best SUV vehicle i've ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety,Safety and comfort continues like new"

Cons: "Blind spots on Drivers side otherwise none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'd recommnd this vhicle to the Pope"

Smoothest car I've ever driven...

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The ride of the GX-470 is super smooth. The car navigates quickly, never sluggish. It's not bulky, but large enough to accomodate 8 people with the jump-seats. The interior is totally plush; the exterior is classy and sophisticated. It is the best car I've ever driven...better than the comparable BMWs"

Love it

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish the gas mileage was better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

L-O-V-E My Lexus

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Feel safe driving, great acceleration for passing."

Cons: "Gas mileage, expense of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Lexus in 2004 and it has been a fantastic vehicle. You could probably bury me in it except or the gas mileage. I average 14-16 mpg. I love how much I can pack in the vehicle - great for roadtrips!"

Great family vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle for my wife after much debate. Our objective was to find a third row seating SUV that was not too large and did not have a cross-over body stye. We narrowed it down to the Lexus GX and the Toyota 4Runner Limited. We decided that we did not like the retro look for the 2011 Toyota making it more like a truck. The decision became easy and we LOVE our Lexus!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfortable, smooth, powerful and driver friendly.

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car !!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SuperLuxury SUV

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "DVD player stopped working and wheel rims chipped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THis car is so comfortable and has been reliable, 115K miles later no major repairs. Great family car and drives really smooth. Very pleased with this car."

one of my best choices ever

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very good daily driver"

Cons: "less than adequate storage behind 2nd row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have owned over 15 SUV's in my life. This Lexus (2006 GX470) is one of the best. Good looking, comfortable, good gas mileage (21MPG on the road), medium size makes it easy to drive and park, very good dealer service and warranty covers everything (do not get the chrome wheels - looks good but cost to much to replace), back seat very comfortable, only 1 complaint - the vehicle just doesn't have the cubic feet to store very much - the only reason I complain is because I am comparing this vehicle (which I still drive) to my 1997 Tahoe, 2 door which I bought new and still have. Vehicles are caparable in every way except fit and finish (goes to Lexus) and cargo room behind the rear seats - Tahoe justs holds twice as much in cubic feet and weight."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice ride

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great power, luxury, roomy"

Cons: "Gas pig (18mpg)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The GX 470 handles very well for its size and with the V8 power it's quick. I can pull my Malibu boat with it with no problem. With 40000 miles on it now the only problem I have is the check engine light has come on several times with a fuel issue(gas cap not on tight). I made sure it is on correctly so it's either bad or there is another fuel line leak/issue."

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING!"

Cons: "NONE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car for 6 years and has NEVER been in the shop! Maintenance items only. Great 4WD in snow! Best car I have ever owned!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A terrific vehicle. Absolutely reliable.

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds a great amount of stuff"

Cons: "hate the rear door set up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd Lexus SUV I have owned. 1st one I traded in at 160000 miles. Ran like a top."

it's just awesome

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very nice SUV"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GX near Honolulu. See local deals