Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2004 Lexus GX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 198 Ratings for the 2003 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Best car I ever owned!

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, great family car, comfortable, sporty"

Cons: "Third row seats not as convienent as I would like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car and am very sad to get rid of it. I'm driving farther to work each day and need something more economical but even if I had to do it all over again I would in a heart beat!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I have had my Lexus GX 470 for nearly 5 years...

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, luxury, reliability and dependability"

Cons: "pricy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love everything about this car. It is the priciest purchase I have ever made, but certainly feel as though I am getting my money's worth each and every day. I have never had any issue with the car and nothing has needed to be repaired. Only maintenance required are my oil changes and tune ups. They even come to my job to pick up my car for them, and they offer free car washes on Saturday! I will always go back to Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "spacious without being too big"

Cons: "really low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never enjoyed owning a car as much as the Lexus GX470. I am about to trade it in after seven years and for the first time in my life, I feel a little emotional about doing so. It's comfortable, useful and really low maintenance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle!!!

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "no storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car drives like it did when I purchased it 8 years ago! This is THE most dependable car ever. Nothing ever goes wrong with it. I've purchased a battery and water pump. Crazy good! Kids have complained about the lack of leg room in 3rd row and 2nd really is more comfortable to 2 people. There really is no storage but other than that it's perfect and I'm looking to purchase my next GX."

excellent suv

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,111

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to use, convenient navigation, reliable"

Cons: "weak cupholders, 3rd seat inconvenient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"manual 3rd seat is inconvenient. i'm glad the newer models have auto. 3rd seats"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best SUV vehicle i've ever owned

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety,Safety and comfort continues like new"

Cons: "Blind spots on Drivers side otherwise none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'd recommnd this vhicle to the Pope"

Smoothest car I've ever driven...

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The ride of the GX-470 is super smooth. The car navigates quickly, never sluggish. It's not bulky, but large enough to accomodate 8 people with the jump-seats. The interior is totally plush; the exterior is classy and sophisticated. It is the best car I've ever driven...better than the comparable BMWs"

Love it

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish the gas mileage was better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

L-O-V-E My Lexus

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Feel safe driving, great acceleration for passing."

Cons: "Gas mileage, expense of maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Lexus in 2004 and it has been a fantastic vehicle. You could probably bury me in it except or the gas mileage. I average 14-16 mpg. I love how much I can pack in the vehicle - great for roadtrips!"

Great family vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle for my wife after much debate. Our objective was to find a third row seating SUV that was not too large and did not have a cross-over body stye. We narrowed it down to the Lexus GX and the Toyota 4Runner Limited. We decided that we did not like the retro look for the 2011 Toyota making it more like a truck. The decision became easy and we LOVE our Lexus!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfortable, smooth, powerful and driver friendly.

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car !!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SuperLuxury SUV

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "DVD player stopped working and wheel rims chipped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THis car is so comfortable and has been reliable, 115K miles later no major repairs. Great family car and drives really smooth. Very pleased with this car."

one of my best choices ever

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very good daily driver"

Cons: "less than adequate storage behind 2nd row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have owned over 15 SUV's in my life. This Lexus (2006 GX470) is one of the best. Good looking, comfortable, good gas mileage (21MPG on the road), medium size makes it easy to drive and park, very good dealer service and warranty covers everything (do not get the chrome wheels - looks good but cost to much to replace), back seat very comfortable, only 1 complaint - the vehicle just doesn't have the cubic feet to store very much - the only reason I complain is because I am comparing this vehicle (which I still drive) to my 1997 Tahoe, 2 door which I bought new and still have. Vehicles are caparable in every way except fit and finish (goes to Lexus) and cargo room behind the rear seats - Tahoe justs holds twice as much in cubic feet and weight."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice ride

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great power, luxury, roomy"

Cons: "Gas pig (18mpg)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The GX 470 handles very well for its size and with the V8 power it's quick. I can pull my Malibu boat with it with no problem. With 40000 miles on it now the only problem I have is the check engine light has come on several times with a fuel issue(gas cap not on tight). I made sure it is on correctly so it's either bad or there is another fuel line leak/issue."

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING!"

Cons: "NONE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car for 6 years and has NEVER been in the shop! Maintenance items only. Great 4WD in snow! Best car I have ever owned!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A terrific vehicle. Absolutely reliable.

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds a great amount of stuff"

Cons: "hate the rear door set up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2nd Lexus SUV I have owned. 1st one I traded in at 160000 miles. Ran like a top."

it's just awesome

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very nice SUV"

Great but lesser compared to competition

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, Sound system, Styling"

Cons: "Rear barn door, powertrain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2010 GX460 is my 5th Lexus and comparatively to my prior cars it lacks the typical quality fit and finish Lexus is known for. The powertrain although rated to be more powerful feels slow like there is actually a V-6 under the hood by mistake. The interior houses lots of plastics that look great but feel cheap. The fold down 2nd row seats do not fold down completely flat. To find the outside temperature one must cycle to the climate control menu on the navigation screen which is annoying to me when most cars display it where it is always visible. Although I have some complaints overall the cars conservative styling, overall driving habits, reliability and great dealer service outweigh the cons; however, I still feel the GX is not Lexus' best work- they can do better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, quality"

Cons: "Rear door,cruise control, inadiquate HVAC CONTROLS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great vehicle. I have had little trouble with it. My average MPG for the past 40 fill ups is 18.6 which is great for an AWD heavy suv. The climate control system needs improvements as does the cruise control. The CC does not keep a constant speed, it drops a few mph then goes to almost full throttle to get back to desired speed. The rear door also is a terrible set up (barn door swing). They need to put a "normal" suv door in were it is two peice so you have protection from rain and a seat. Overall however a wonderful vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

They should have left the 5.7 V-8 in this one

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had a 2005 GX470 but had electrical problems that the dealer was unable to rectify in 20 attempts. Toyota bought the car back from me. The main thing that I notice is how the 2010 with the 4.6 slows down going up even small hills. It suposedly puts out about 30 more horsepower than the 5.7, but it sure does not show it. Fuel useage is about the same, but now it requires premium."

Perfect for my needs

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Rides great, powerful, looks good"

Cons: "GPS is hard to operate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great small SUV with all the extras..."

Great SUV!

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, comfort, handling, decent mpg for SUV"

Cons: "Automatic Climate Control iffy, not hybrid"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our Lexus GX 470 is 8.5 years old and has served my family well. At over 99k miles, it still gets the same gas mileage which at 16.5 city/hwy and 22 hwy is pretty darn good for a heavy SUV. As outdoor enthusiasts, we have put it through its paces whether it be trudging up to the mountains for a ski trip or hauling bikes, camping gear or grimy kids and dogs (well, grimy adults, too), and it provided us the comfort, safety, and room that we require.It's been on numerous multi-week road trips and we have yet to have any trouble with the car. The only negative comments I have is that the climate control could be better programmed as it has a tendancy to blow out cold air when it should be blowing out warm and vice versa. Iy was not equipped with the greatest of tires for snow and ice so when it came time to replace them, I upgraded to a better tire. An auto like this should come with the top of the line tires. Lastly, we had one problem with the transmission when it was out warranty, but as it was a known issue and we had mentioned occasionally some inconsistent issues we were having, Lexus paid for the vast majority of a new transmission. I've never had a problem with the car since it was replaced many years ago.I highly recommend the car. I only wish they would come out with a fully electric or hybrid model. The technology has to be there by now."

One of the best

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice"

Cons: "Non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"all I can say it's a very luxuries car wow amazing"

Outstanding Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safety, Luxurious ride, Quiet"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most important comment I can offer is that this vehicle saved my life, literally. I owned this same model purchased in 2005, which I was driving on the Interstate at 55 MPH when another vehicle collided head-on with me (I was not at fault). Although my vehicle was severely damaged (totaled), I escaped with only a broken wrist caused by airbag deployment. The occupant of the other car (Ford Taurus) was hospitalized for 8 weeks. I replaced the 2005 model with a 2006, which is virtually identical. It performs very well. The only repair that has been required (other than standard maintenance items) has been a rear height sensor, although that was expensive to replace ($900). Otherwise the car handles every possible driving condition with confidence."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my Lexus

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "wonderful ride sound system is great"

Cons: "fine line dashboard crack"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only con I have with my Lexus is the dashboard cracked from one end to the other after six years. The leather cracked on the armrest after six years. My lexus drives as well as it did when it was new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GX near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details