Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2004 Lexus GX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 207 Ratings for the 2003 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

nice shape

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I want this car

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good shape"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By far the BEST SUV

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Good mpg for SUV V8, Very Luxury, Stable"

Cons: "Too nice to take offroading, but is that a Con?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can't compare any SUV to this one. Maybe the LX or the Land Cruiser but they are such gas guzzlers. My Avg MPG is 19mpg with 200K miles on the Car. I get 23 24 on the freeway. Much more stable then the jeeps and with the Dif Locks it handles like a jeep off road, but in luxury. where you don't jump around the car like a bobble-head. Leather is amazing, reliability is amazing, quiet and smooth on the roads, headlights are bright and clear, Takes easy turns without the tipping over feeling. Its a Lexus, with 200K on the car it still runs like new."

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

The GX-470 is a velvet-lined tank.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can't bet how well it does everything it does"

Cons: "Being scared to get it dirty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had the GX-470 for three years now, and it was the best 'car purchase' I've made. The initial sticker shock is bold, so we bought used. This is our family grocery getter, toddler carrier, and much more. I love the ride comfort, towing ability and versatility. If I was asked to get in my GX470 and drive across the country-anywhere in the country- I would feel COMPLETLEY confident in the mechanical and engineering of this SUV."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Classy, Refined and Reliable

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, versatile, classy"

Cons: "Pricey, Navi cumbersome, 2nd row bench seat std"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very dependable and versatile. Capable of seating 8 when family visits from out of town, but the 3rd row of seats are easily removed and stowed in the garage for the other 50 weeks of the year, leaving plenty of room in the Lexus for groceries and whatnot. Ours is a 2004 model. The navi unit is so outdated that it is pretty much obsolete. The map can be updated, but the functioning of it is extremely cumbersome. Also it cannot be operated while the vehicle is in motion. That is a huge turnoff. Overall, very happy with the quality and reliability. Even at 10 years old and more than 140k miles I would not hesitate to trek across the country at a moment's notice in the middle of the worst heat. All systems still work as advertised except the tire pressure sensor (the light stays on). Runs, drives, steers and handles like new. Very well engineered."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Another great Lexus. 210k miles looks & runs great

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LEXUS quality fit and finish"

Cons: "Can't really think of any. Maybe 3rd row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner of this SUV. Wish the new GX looked this good it would make buying another easy! This is our 5th Lexus"

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very good condition

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury suv"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Clean excellent exterior, interior, DVD package, motor good, no rust, rides and drives wonderful, Third row seat, climate control"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

MPG is the only downside

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "overall Lexus unbeatable quality."

Cons: "MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've owned 3 different Lexus - SC 430 convertible, RX 300, GX 470. The only downside to any of Lexus's AWD SUVs is the gas mileage. Which there was a quality SUV built that could get in the 40 MPG. But I know that just isn't realistic, as you pay for the weight and size of driving a bigger vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My best car ever!

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, and looks great"

Cons: "Navigation not always correct"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had many cars, was. a BMW lover, until I bought my Lexus. Most reliable comfortable dear I have ever owned"

Excellent Vehicle but V8 is overkill...

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,950

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Style, ease of driving, comfortable"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage, rear door mechanism"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car. Only a few minor issues that I am sure Lexus addressed in later models. - V6 would have been a much better engine. To much power and poor gas economy - Rear vent windows should have been electric like the Landcruiser had the same year - Rear tailgate door mechanism arm to keep it open is archaic and if you do not engage it, it will close on you - Did not have good stability in the snow compared to Landcruiser i previously had owned and should have kept - Back seat was just too narrow to get three people across"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GX near Honolulu. See local deals