Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2003 Lexus GX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 198 Ratings for the 2003 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Great SUV

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of visibility. Nice ride"

Cons: "Dashboard cracked when it was 7 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 40,000 miles on my 2003 GX 470 and this SUV is great! Very comfortable seats and smooth ride. Bought the car for towing my 22' boat, which is a breeze. Only downside is the not so great gas mileage, but it's a terrific SUV."

LOVE MY CAR

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So comfortable. Reliable."

Cons: "15/17 mpg. No auxillary jack for iPod."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great car for our family. I have kept up with all of the recommended scheduled maintenance and have had absolutely no trouble with it. It drives like a dream. It is quiet and smooth. We travel a lot and after driving a rental car when we are out of town I am always so happy to slide back into my Lexus. I taught two of my children to drive in it and my third will be getting his permit in 6 mos. He will also be learning how to drive in this car! It's safe and the boxy style makes it easy to park."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great driving car! I travel a lot and this car is so comfortable. It is just a little bigger than I want but the comfort outways the size. The only design issue is. . .my husband is 6'5" and his knee hits the radio knob. I guess Lexus didn't design the car for this."

My second GX470

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability and class rolled into one"

Cons: "Can not control the radio from the backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second GX470, my first was a silver 2005 GX470. I loved it so much I chose to buy 2009 edition of the exact same model, but in white this time. I love it because of its reliablility, it is easy to park and holds it value based on the resale of my last car. I can't think of another car I would rather own and may even consider this same class of car for my next purchase."

I love my lexus GX470

By on Saturday, October 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive and great Sound system"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome vehicle - loaded with DVD, Levison sound system and Navigation. The best SUV for the money!"

Bought it used - one great vehicle

By on Thursday, September 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned an LX470. Found this GX470 used and couldn't be happier. A few perks I miss, but it can really get up and go. Both vehicle have an unbelievable turning radius for any vehicle. The gas mileage on the highway is about 18. Rides nicely. The bluetooth phone needs improvement - which I am sure they have done since 06 and there is no connection for an mp3 or iphone."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best SUV I've Owned

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fit and finish, engine, powertrain, reliable, roomy."

Cons: "Rear hatch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had two SUVs prior to the GX. Both were Mercedes MLs and both were less than adequate. I purchased my GX in 2005 and have 72000 miles on it. This SUV has never given me any trouble, rides better than some sedans, and is extremely reliable. I've also found a great dealership that actually treats it's customers like royality. Fit and finish, engine and powertrain are excellent. I've took the GX off road several times and it performed great. At 72K miles I still have the original tires. However, I have one complaint. The rear door (rear hatch) opens to the left. It would be nice to have it open up. Other than that this is a terrific vehicle, and I would recommend it to anyone interested in purchasing a SUV."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great SUV... For Soccer Moms

By on Thursday, September 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great ride! Superb reliability - gas"

Cons: "Very feminine. Not rugged. White interior is impractical."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best ride and reliability of any SUV I have ever owned. But, the "U" is pretty limp as this the GX is not really designed with hauling and off road driving in mind. Styling is pretty tame but hey, it's a Lexus so that should be expected. White interior, especially in an SUV is a gallacticaly bad idea. Will never get that again. Had to replace the floormats"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Unbelievably solid vehicle.

By on Monday, August 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sleek looking, reliable, safe"

Cons: "Would like more room inside in the back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hit an elk going 78 miles an hour, and did not get a scratch on me. Most unfortunate for the elk however. The front end of my truck took the impact of the hit like a powerhouse. Due to the high value of the vehicle, it was not totalled. I received a new engine and a new transmission and thanks to a first rate body shop in Scottsdale, Arizona....my vehicle drives like it did the first day I bought it. I have owned the Cadillac Escalade which I traded for the Land Rover which I traded for this. Love it. Would like more interior space so probably will go up to the LX next. Great vehicle all the way around."

Best SUV I've ever owned

By on Sunday, July 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Interior, Good mpg for a V8 engine."

Cons: "Not very agile"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently bought the new 2011 Lexus GX460 and I could not be happier with my purchase. The gas mileage is great for a v8 engine, and it accelerates like a car. This SUV has the best interior of any SUV I have ever seen. I have taken it off road twice, and it performed very well. The only negative to this vehicle would be that it feels a little top heavy when you take sharp turns, but its a large SUV so thats no surprise. As a first time Lexus owner, I am extremely satisfied with the reliability and the performance that the GX460 offers."

2006 GX 470 no KDSS and rear entertainment

By on Friday, June 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "weird rear door, 3rd row sears are for amputess,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Once in a while you get a car thats hard to let go and replace. This is it. it might have it flaws like rear door opens the wrong way, its V8 is slightly underpowered, its suspension maybe too soft or too hard depending on the number u choose for the day. But overall ive been thinking of trading it in for a ? nothing is actually better other than a bigger lexus or the newer 2010 model. This lexus is simply PUt comfortable, reliable and SAFE. so when u think its time is up what is better? i tested audi q7 nope, mercedes GL better but huge relaibility issues, X5 its not that great losses out in the luxury dept. So i think im going to spend the money on a facelift for her put some Jaos bullbars change her rear lights to LED and wahlah ! she will be back in business. LEXUS GX and LS 460 no one does it better."

Best SUV ever.

By on Tuesday, May 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i had this car since 2003 when i bought it brand new. As of today I have 177500 miles on it with no problems ever. Between 0 miles and 50k, i changed the oil every 5k miles with normal oil, after 50k till present, i used syntetic oil and changed it every 10k miles. I'm getting 16.5 miles per gallon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome! Buying another one

By on Thursday, May 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my vehicle fully loaded and new in 2006. Lexus brand was highly reccommended by others who owned the vehicle. All said love the vehicle, never have any problems with it, will buy another one. After almost 5 years of owning mine I say the same, love my vehicle, never have any problems with it, I am buying another GX at the end of the year:-). It is stylish and can perform under the toughest conditions. Excellent choice!"

By on Monday, May 09, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Good SUV

By on Tuesday, April 26, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my vehicle for 2 years. I enjoy the ride very much. The car has been reliable and have had no service issues. My criticism is lack of storage in front area and the navigation system is a bit unreliable. I also have tried and tried to sync my Blackberry to work hands free and NO ONE can hear me. Lexus blames the Blackberry and Blackberry blames the Lexus. I have been able to use it hands free in my GMC Acadia and in my Acura in the past. Perhaps a bit over rated."

By on Wednesday, April 06, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2007 GX470

By on Thursday, March 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This SUV is a powerful and "smooth operator"! I love it! The powerful V8 engine growls like a happy beast. With gas prices so high these days, this baby sips gas efficiently given its size. It handles like a car and commands respect on the road. The interior is cavernous and has all the luxurious and styling comforts of a European vehicle, but with a Japanese price tag. I bought mine fully loaded since it was an Exhibition Car Show SUV. The resale value holds up better than other SUV, despite high gas prices. The reliability is fantastic. Other than routine maintenance, I've had no problems or issues with the SUV. I highly recommend it. This ones a keeper!"

By on Wednesday, March 09, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, March 05, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

175k miles

By on Saturday, March 05, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have 175k miles on that car and never had any problem with it. i had it since brand new"

2nd GX Owner

By on Tuesday, February 22, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my first GX470 in 2006 and drove it 69k miles without a problem. Solid, comfortable SUV. Taken offroad many times. Bought my second GX460 in April 2010 and have driven it 16000 miles (mostly commuting in-town). Exterior quality very good, but the interior quality less than impressive for a luxury vehicle. Third row seat useless for adult passengers. Engine has no guts compared to my 2006 GX470 or previously owned 2004 BMW 5X."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

solid vehicle

By on Sunday, February 20, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Nice solid vehicle, had a 2004 GX470, Bought 2010 GX460 Premium model, altho the new GX460 has 301HP V8, its not as peppy and as quick as 2004 GX470, with 65HP less, very disappointing, with little explanation from the dealership. Software features on GX470 that claim tobe much improved haven't been ie...the calender, you can't input any data for special events. The navigation system and levinsen system, are greatly improved. Overall another great lexus, needing abit if tweeking!"

By on Monday, January 31, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, January 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"unbelievable a vehicle could be this good"

Great Vehicle

By on Monday, January 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchase an '04 from the factory to avoid the 3rd seat. With just 2 family members it has plenty of room and great gas milage for the size. Have only put 42000 on it and expect to drive it for some time. If planning on keeping a vechicle for an extended time this is it."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GX near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details