Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2003 Lexus GX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 214 Ratings for the 2003 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

excellent suv

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,111

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to use, convenient navigation, reliable"

Cons: "weak cupholders, 3rd seat inconvenient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"manual 3rd seat is inconvenient. i'm glad the newer models have auto. 3rd seats"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish the gas mileage was better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle for my wife after much debate. Our objective was to find a third row seating SUV that was not too large and did not have a cross-over body stye. We narrowed it down to the Lexus GX and the Toyota 4Runner Limited. We decided that we did not like the retro look for the 2011 Toyota making it more like a truck. The decision became easy and we LOVE our Lexus!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfortable, smooth, powerful and driver friendly.

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car !!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING!"

Cons: "NONE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car for 6 years and has NEVER been in the shop! Maintenance items only. Great 4WD in snow! Best car I have ever owned!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great but lesser compared to competition

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, Sound system, Styling"

Cons: "Rear barn door, powertrain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2010 GX460 is my 5th Lexus and comparatively to my prior cars it lacks the typical quality fit and finish Lexus is known for. The powertrain although rated to be more powerful feels slow like there is actually a V-6 under the hood by mistake. The interior houses lots of plastics that look great but feel cheap. The fold down 2nd row seats do not fold down completely flat. To find the outside temperature one must cycle to the climate control menu on the navigation screen which is annoying to me when most cars display it where it is always visible. Although I have some complaints overall the cars conservative styling, overall driving habits, reliability and great dealer service outweigh the cons; however, I still feel the GX is not Lexus' best work- they can do better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, quality"

Cons: "Rear door,cruise control, inadiquate HVAC CONTROLS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great vehicle. I have had little trouble with it. My average MPG for the past 40 fill ups is 18.6 which is great for an AWD heavy suv. The climate control system needs improvements as does the cruise control. The CC does not keep a constant speed, it drops a few mph then goes to almost full throttle to get back to desired speed. The rear door also is a terrible set up (barn door swing). They need to put a "normal" suv door in were it is two peice so you have protection from rain and a seat. Overall however a wonderful vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LOVE MY CAR

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So comfortable. Reliable."

Cons: "15/17 mpg. No auxillary jack for iPod."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great car for our family. I have kept up with all of the recommended scheduled maintenance and have had absolutely no trouble with it. It drives like a dream. It is quiet and smooth. We travel a lot and after driving a rental car when we are out of town I am always so happy to slide back into my Lexus. I taught two of my children to drive in it and my third will be getting his permit in 6 mos. He will also be learning how to drive in this car! It's safe and the boxy style makes it easy to park."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever.

By on Tuesday, May 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i had this car since 2003 when i bought it brand new. As of today I have 177500 miles on it with no problems ever. Between 0 miles and 50k, i changed the oil every 5k miles with normal oil, after 50k till present, i used syntetic oil and changed it every 10k miles. I'm getting 16.5 miles per gallon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2nd GX Owner

By on Tuesday, February 22, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my first GX470 in 2006 and drove it 69k miles without a problem. Solid, comfortable SUV. Taken offroad many times. Bought my second GX460 in April 2010 and have driven it 16000 miles (mostly commuting in-town). Exterior quality very good, but the interior quality less than impressive for a luxury vehicle. Third row seat useless for adult passengers. Engine has no guts compared to my 2006 GX470 or previously owned 2004 BMW 5X."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Simply the best

By on Sunday, January 02, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 2004 GX which I bought in Nov 03. Previous cars were a Jeep and a Porsche. Wanted something luxury, able to sit 6 when needed and fully capable to handle bad weather. This Luxury Truck does it all. Soundless on the road, handles like a dream, adapts to any terrain, outstanding amenities and almost problemless over 7+ years. The only issue I had was snow slippage with older tires. Lexus service is unbelievable (even after 7 years) and is less expensive than my Jeep or Porsche service. Bottom line if you want Truck and you want Luxury nothing beats the GX."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

money well spent

By on Monday, August 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"120,00 miles 8 years and no problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

more space

By on Saturday, May 08, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Love this car except for the luggage space. No room in the back for luggage or groceries."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love, Love, Love this Vehicle!!

By on Thursday, February 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the best vehicle I've ever owned! I absolutely hate driving in the snow but this truck gets me everywhere I need to be. Winters in Utah last along time and I wanted a car that was reliable (had a Landrover before, eek!), comfortable and safe. Everything I hoped for in a vehicle I have in my GX. I'll definately buy a new one when the time comes!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever bought

By on Saturday, February 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Last year I bought the GX 470 for our family of 5. Being previous owners of Toyota 4 runner, I was leaning towards buying either a Sequoia or 4 runner again. As our Lexus/toyota dealer is combined, I took this SUV for a ride and just felt in love with it. It has a very smooth ride, ergonomically designed, and handles the turn very impressively. My kids just love it. Over all a great SUV if you can afford it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Unbeatable

By on Saturday, December 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this scar new. It still rides the same drives the same and works the same. It is costly to maintain, and not great on gas but if you can afford to drive a luxury car, you can not beat this family size car. I call mine- Lady"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Pricey but worth it.

By on Wednesday, October 28, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned 2 GX470s. I bought the first sold in Dayton, OH. I even special ordered it. I have loved both of them. they drive like cars and handle offroad better than most all trucks. The all time 4wheel drive eats the gas but man do they handle well in the snow. There is only 1 drawback to the GX470. It is always the last to get the upgrades. It is an amazing automobile anyway."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Bes Vehicle Ever

By on Sunday, October 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We love our Lexus GX 470. Great room for dogs, kids, traveling,etc. I can't imagine ever purchasing another make or model. My only criticism is I would love the hatch back door to go up like the RX, not swing out, other than that I am extremely happy with this SUV. I was a previous BMW owner X-5 , no contest in comfort and ease of use. We are Lexus people definitely !!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 31, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Not only is it a great looking vehicle, it is a fun vehicle to drive. As you would expect, it is another reliable Lexus. It has great pick up, yet still a safe vehicle in challenging weather conditions. My only complaint is the 3rd row seat is tight."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Lexus

By on Wednesday, August 12, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my 5th Lexus vehicle. I am very impressed with the ride. I have owned LS400 and RX. This is my favorite."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, May 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Clearly, nothing drives like a Lexus. We have owned a Hummer H3, an Escalade, 4Runner and another GX470 prior to this one. Hands down, the best overall quality, performance, safety, styling and general satisfaction lies with the Lexus. What a great product. This body style is the original from 2003, with slight modifications up to and including the 2009 model we just purchased. I am a little dissapointed they are redesigning the truck, I hope they don't make it look too much like a Toyota as they have with the LX470 (Landcruiser)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Smoooooth

By on Friday, May 08, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Lexus has everything you could want in a luxury vehicle...but mostly it has the smoothest ride ever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Extremely dependable

By on Saturday, March 07, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 2004 GX470. Purchased new in mid 2003. This has been one of the best purchases that I have ever made; the other being our 2003 GS300. Lexus makes a quality vehicle. I have 70K on it and have had no problems. I changed the tires to some Goodyear Fortera TripleTred which was a fantastic choice. I love driving in rain and snow because of the amazing handling of the 4WD and the great tires. Since Lexus does not change models often a lot of people think my truck is still new. Lexus knows how to build a quality, beautiful and safe vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A Big Boat

By on Thursday, February 12, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

"I have a 2006 GX 470, with only 29,000 miles. There seems to be a real inconsistancy in the ride of the GX470 vehicles. I have test driven a couple GX470 and some of the vehicles have a wonderful ride. I have a lemon. The suspension and the drive train have been continiously worked on and in the Lexus Shop. In reviewing other customers comments there have been a scattering of other customers with defective vehicles similar to mine. I will be trading this vehicle at the end of the lease. I will not be getting another Lexus. This was my third Lexus and my last. Lexus customer service was useless."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SOOOO GLAD!!

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My wife and I (we're newlyweds) traded in our Audi A4 for a GX 470. We're so glad we did. We wanted to get out of the Audi and not lose being pampered, the GX was a huge step up (even though we loves the audi)! The interior is beautiful and comfortable. It drives great - fantastic acceleration when you have to merge into crazy traffic, which was something we didn't have in the Audi. We also just found out we're having a baby! So the security features of this vehicle offer great peace of mind! Hefty price tag, but worth it! We bought it used and saved a bundle - and everyone thinks its brand new (we did, too!!). Great job, Lexus!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GX near Honolulu. See local deals