Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2003 Lexus GX

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 207 Ratings for the 2003 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

I was disappointed

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I want this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I was disappointed in this vehicle because it rode more like a truck. We own a Lexus RX 350 and it drove better and handle better than the GX. I was expecting more. I decided to buy another RX 350. Now there's a great car."

5 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Best ever

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,739

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I LOVE MY TRUCK"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best automobile/SUV I have ever owned !!!

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "versatile, fun to drive & dependable"

Cons: "minor drive-line clunk at traffic lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When shopping for a used mid sized SUV, after looking at Chevy, GMC and others, the GX 470 was far superior to anything else I had drove. The GX is superior when it comes to quality, comfort, ride and reliability. For my needs, the size is just right and the 4.7 liter engine has amazing power when needed. Although the horsepower is somewhat low, the 320 foot pounds of torque provide more than sufficient power when towing my 25' travel trailer with ease including the many mountain passes in the Pacific Northwest . I have noticed other reviews complaining of poor gas mileage, they have evidently never owned a similar sized SUV from another manufacturer. I average 18.8 MPG in regular highway/city driving--when towing the trailer it drops to 11MPG which I feel is acceptable. Following proper maintenance recommendations including the use of pure synthetic lubricants-I anticipate my GX to exceed 250K miles without any major repairs."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great car! Great value!

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, fun to drive, low maintenance"

Cons: "N/A for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new in 2004. Great look, smooth, easy ride, easy to maneuver, park, comfortable. Have thought about trading several times but couldn't find anything I liked better. In ten years, the only problem I've had was electrical problem with the speedometer. Low maintenance; great performance!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Belongs in a time capsule

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Flawless full-time 4-wheel drive system"

Cons: "Thirsty, but with solid power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought a 2004 new in December of '04, and although it only has 61,000 miles on it now, I am amazed at the quality and reliability of it. I paid less in 2004 for it than the supposedly comparable vehicles cost at the time, and their current blue book value is half or less of what the GX's is. The all wheel drive system in this vehicle is amazing, with capabilities that fewer than 1% of owners will ever realize or much less utilize! As another reviewer said, I'd recommend this vehicle to the Pope!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this SUV. No issues since day one.

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great realibility and quality"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lexus makes quality cars. This is my 2nd Lexus and will only buy Lexus. We had an Infinity and had multiple recalls."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My favorite vehicle ever!

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, quiet, loaded, great vehicle"

Cons: "........ no cons for me :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the Lexus vehicles! This is my 8th Lexus & you can not beat the quality and comfort. My favorite part about this SUV is the back door that opens to the side - LOVE THIS OPTION! I've always bought a Lexus with the Mark Levinson sound system, too - certainly beats a Bose. ;) This vehicle feels so safe and there is so much room in the cabin & in the back seat. #1 all around!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 365,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Large, Very comfortable, and Good off road"

Cons: "Gas mileage is not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this 2003 Lexus GX470 since 2004 and have put 300,000 miles on it. It has been the best car that I have ever owned!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

MY FAMILY AND I APPRECIATE THE RELIABILITY & VALUE

By on Friday, November 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "THE ELECTRONIC SUSPENSION IS GREAT"

Cons: "THE REAR DOOR SHOULD OPEN UPWARD LIKE RX MODELS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS 2009 LEXUS GX470 IS THE BEST TRUCK I HAVE EVER OWNED. THE VALUE,QUALITY,RELIABILITY AND COMFORT,FOR ME ITS THE BEST TRUCK EVER BUILT....MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS REALLY DO APPRECIATE THE BEAUTY OF THIS TRUCK,INSIDE AND OUT..THIS TRUCKS PERFORMANCE IS JUST AMAZING.I WILL RECOMMEND THIS TRUCK TO MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Auto I have ever owned!

By on Tuesday, October 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great drive, power, comfort, styling, accesories,"

Cons: "gas mileage(but the safety is worth it)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVE this SUV. Previous to my purchase of the GX I had a 325XI which I adored. It was going to take something really special to make me trade it in. Well, the GX did it. I couldn't be any happier with the ride, safety, luxury feel, look/styling, convenience. I really appreciate this vehicle when I get into something else. I can't wait to get back in behind the wheel of my SUV. I would say if you are looking for a SUV that you would put your mother, grandmother and kids all at one time, this is the one! I anticipate it lasting for 200,000 miles so don't look for me in a car dealership anytime soon!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GX near Honolulu. See local deals