Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 277 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive.

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive. Dependable and inexpensive to maintain."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Long Term Value - Bulletproof

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Long term value, very reliable, comfortable, fast"

Cons: "Handling not quite as good as comp European car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car (GS400-V8) used with 29,000 miles on it over ten years ago. I now have 165,000 miles and it still runs great, still gets 22mpg on the highway, and still has plenty of HP. The paint is finally showing some wear after being parked outside next to the ocean for ten years but it still turns over on the first crank every time. The only major repairs were some engine mounts and suspension bushings around 130k miles more due to my driving habits than the quality of the car. Will buy another GS when I get rid of this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great conditions"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, February 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car brand new in 2002. I have literally never had a single problem with it. The car wasn't cheap new but I probably would be on my 3rd domestic vehicle by now so it is a wash."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 02, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven a Lexus for the past 12 years, I have always bought used because it is a great car at a great value and the certified pre owned is excellent. I started with the ES first then the GS. Just bought my 4th GS, 2 of the ones i had in the past were totaled in accidents (not my fault), I was not injured in either, this car holds up great in a serious accident. Once you own one you really dont want to drive anything else. Just bought a 2006 IS 250 for my mom, she loves it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, January 26, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am in the process of buying a 2004 lexus. GS 300The reason is my 2002 lexus GS300 was totalled. I love my GS300. It had 143,000 mile on it prior to the crash. I never had any mechanical problem with it. I just kept up with its schedule maintence. You can not beat the value on this car. Its second to none. Buy it new or buy it used you will come out on top. Enjoy the ride! I brought my 2002 GS 300 in 2006, and was totalled in 2011"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love It!!

By on Monday, January 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2nd one Ive owned and I love it! My sister has a RX350 and she loves it. Our family has had BMW, Mercedes and Cadillac. Nothing compares to the whole Lexus line up. They get great fuel mileage and run forever! If you are in the market for a luxury car. Give it a chance and you will be hooked. Hope this helps anyone looking for a new car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It's been great!

By on Thursday, October 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have really enjoyed this vehicle. It has proven to be most reliable.The next vehicle I buy will be another Lexus, this time it will be in the LS series...I'm moving up!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

TTT___TTT

By on Wednesday, October 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"good car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Got this for my 16th birthday. Did 90k service including timing belt, water pump, break fluid flush, transmission flush and rear differential oil. Very quite and comfortable. This baby got power! Very expensive to maintain though.. Overall, great car! Drives like new and my car has 128,000 miles! Planning to keep the car for a very long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2000 gs best vehicle ever!!!!

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"one of the best vehicles on the road now! i have not had any problems with this car what so ever, and it has 173,000 miles on it. it drives like new, just do the regular oil change and its ready to go. i cant say one bad thing about this car, my next car would be the LEXUS LS430!!!! can't wait"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've had

By on Sunday, April 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Simply the best car that I have ever had; I bought the car new and now it has 205,000 miles with very little problems; I'm not sure how I'm going to replace it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GS400 love

By on Monday, April 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned! I have almost 240,000 miles on this car and have done nothing more than replace the battery twice, and scheduled maintenance. It is still comfy and stylish! I will certainly buy a car like this again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, February 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Friday, January 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"One of the best cars I've ever have. Roomy, nice body, good on gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

RELIABLE CAR!

By on Wednesday, July 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my GS 300 when it was 8 years old in 2006 and took it to my mechanic so he can take a look at it before I bought it. He said the car was in PERFECT condition and whoever had it previously really took good care of it. 3 1/2 years in of owning the car, i've only needed new brakes and a starter and THAT WAS IT! The car has never broken down on me or had any other issue what-so-ever! It's reliable, comfortable and looks great. My friends can't believe my car is 10 years old. GET ONE!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, June 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought car new, maintained by relaxed program (7,500 - 10,000 mile oil changes). Well built, reliable, good performance (fast), good handling, good paint, excellent interior. Audio system LCD display was replaced under warranty. It has failed again after another 5 years - system works, but you can't read the station/CD display. After 165K miles, burns no oil, no leaks, no rattles. Firm suspension, more sporty than luxurious. Gas mileage consistently 20 - 21"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2000 GS 300

By on Friday, December 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the car since new and never, not even once, has there been a problem. 75,000 miles later not a squeek or rattle. Great performance and handling. Absolutely the BEST car I have ever owned. Been buying cars since 1966, owned them all and this is the best hands down."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my GS300!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just bought a used GS300 with 90K miles. From all the reviews, I am hoping that we will have trouble free driving. It's a beautiful, quiet, and refined car. Have driven Audis, BMWs, and Mercedes. I wanted something more reliable this time. This one is not the most powerful car I have owned, but it's comfortable, quiet, and seems to handle very well for a car this size. I am counting on it to be more reliable than the German cars I've owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

flawless!

By on Saturday, November 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'M 65 years old and have owned many vehicles, including quite a few luxury models. This Lexus has 140,000 miles and has never had a major mechanical problem. It is quick,comfortable,and reliable . By far the best auto I've ever owned. Might trade it in when it reaches 250k miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing Comfort and Style

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I simply love a Lexus. I have driven a lot of cars for business travel, but the Lexus suspension delivers one of the smoothest rides you will find. Also a very reliable car, other than general maintenance, I have not put any significant money into this car; it has performed well in the 3+ yrs I owned it. The only drawback, if I can call it that, is the cost of repairs and labor are a bit higher than standard sport sedans, but you are getting quality parts for the price you pay"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Friday, August 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my GS400 new in 2000 and she has done me well over the last 8 years. Still looks like it just came from the showroom. Never had a single problem with the car. By far the best car I have ever owned. Regular maintenance and she will run for decades."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car after 100,000 miles , rides and has my total confidence in reliability.I highly recommend....."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Luxury with a mean engine

By on Saturday, May 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The V8 engine boasts phenomenal performance. For even an older vehicle, it still maintains its sweet sporty style and luxurious appearance. This is a great every day car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliabilty

By on Saturday, March 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have an 01 gs300 for about five years and 150k miles. My car has never been in the shop unless for upkeep. This car is so well built from top to bottom. Unlike my benz who is in the shop almost once a month. One of the most reliable cars out there."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals