Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 270 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next

ahead of its time

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best car I have ever owned, accelerates like a slingshot total class, new platform gives it unbelievably great handling and performance,must test drive yourself"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

beware of costly repairs

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

"When I bought it, it has 104K miles. Good styling, reasonable comfort, great interiors, smooth engine. That's it. And, within 2 weeks of purchase, AC compressor was burnt while driving normal. I never abuse cars. Yet, AC compressor, AC clutch, exp. valve, Rec. dryer have to be replaced and pieces of burnt compressor has to be cleaned up from the AC system. Total repair cost $2600 (including parts $1520). Japanese OEM parts are much more expensive when needed replacing. It might be a reasonably reliable for some people, but when it broke down, be very aware of extremely expensive parts. Not recommended. It is just a hype of being "so-called great" luxurious Japanese cars. If you want it, better buy brand new. Never buy used no matter what condition it is in."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Smooth and quiet sedan

By on Saturday, October 20, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this car new and it is the best car I have ever owned. The in line six is very smooth and has adequate performance. The only problem I have had was the Homelink unit which was replaced under warranty. After eight years and 61,000 miles, the car still seems like new."

By on Tuesday, October 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Excellent!

By on Monday, October 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent Ride! Beautiful with chrome wheels!"

HOT

By on Friday, October 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for for 4 years and have 210,000 miles on it, the purchase price was well worth the reliability!! I drive for a living and there is no better way to live then in this vehicle.. Ill drive this car till it dies or i do.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

never in the shop!

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"the nicest auto I have ever owned...bar none, unbelievable performance and very comfortable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

ok so so

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I've had this car for almost 3 yrs now, got it used a 2001 model. so far had to replace oxygen sensor, did it myself saved a bundel. The good: smooth ride, resonabley quite, the best engine ever. The bad: i have good hearig so i hear a lot of squeaks and rattles, unaccetable for lexus. too much plastic interior makes it look cheap. The nav system sometimes goes crazy. heater on passenger side no longer works, strange noises from the hvac system."

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

transmission

By on Tuesday, September 11, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"seemed a little unsure as to when it was going to shift at times. When seem to drag out to the next gear."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, September 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

An outstanding vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the 2nd GS300 we've owned and this one was the best. I think it's one of the most beautiful sedans ever built and it's beauty goes far deeper than skin deep. I'm afraid this is the last one we will own due to retirement and don't have those big paychecks anymore."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 27, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Reliability, luxury, and fun!

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We've owned ours for over 7 years and +155K miles! No major mechanical problems, and still drives smooth and fast. The manual shifter is fun, once you get used to it. We only wish we could afford the new model!"

Great Car

By on Monday, August 20, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"The only reason I didn't give all 5 stars is the brakes. As they wear they begin to pop as you go from drive to reverse and back. Lexus say it's the floating disc and is normal but I think it's a design flaw. It's annoying to me but may not bother most."

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great vehicle

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent vehicle....low maintenance......comfort, luxury and quiet"

Great handling, silent comfort

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is, without a doubt the best cat I've ever owned! As a past owner of a Volvo, Mercedes Benz, and Porsche as well as numerous domestic cars, this car stands head and shoulders above any of the American cars (I wish that weren't true!), and on a par with any other vehicle I ever driven, much less owned. The ride is smooth and relaxed, the interior of top notch quality, the finish beautiful and the performance more than adequate. An interesting feature is the car's ability to turn around (U turn)in a normal two lane city street. I would buy this car again and I'll probably drive it another two or three years. Good job Lexus!!!"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 9 10 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals