Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2004 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 277 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

Most reliable vehicle ever!

By on Tuesday, March 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great suspension"

Cons: "Alternator should have been higher up above ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used 11 years ago when is had about 45,000 miles on it. I drove it the last 11 years and pretty much have no major issues. The engine gasket did have leaks, and thus drip into the alternator causing it to went bad every other year. The other issue is the engine light. It went on since 4 years ago, and although after replacing the catalytic converter the issue persist. Overall, very sound and solid car."

air mass sensor needs to be replaced

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"the car has misfire of the camshaft"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Simply incredible....

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 296,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"An amazing car. It just keeps ticking like a fine Swiss watch. Just use synthetic Mobile 1. Keep the fluids topped off. I have never changed the timing belt or chain. Heater is now luke warm at idle. I suppose I'll give it a water pump but not necessary. Hood is chipped but still looks great! Interior seat...driver side I had recovered($200)and the heated seats still work....! Just buy one...take care of it and it will take care of you. Period."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

solid ride w no check engine lights

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quick, handles well and great looking body"

Cons: "would like newer steering wheel design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2000 GS 300. just bought this wonderful car. super clean 80k miles. this car is what all autos should be..controls where they should be...goes when you step on it ...no annoying ck engine lights like my german car...easy to use & and service...new lexus mats still available also! love the rear wheel drive..put on winter snow tires and with the snow mode and traction control I hook up very well. Nice size car also. I previously had an LS430 but wife wouldn't drive it due to 'old man's car' syndrome with the big steering wheel, big nose. She loves this one. It is very comfortable, reliable and great looking. Good size also at approx 190" long. I bought it after looking at numerous reviews on it on this site. This is a secret winner. IF you can find one in nice shape, BUY IT! it will last for a LONG time. The 300 six cylinder motor is perfect for this chasis."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

a well made vehicle

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car as a used vehicle with low mileage 3 years ago. I use it for daily commuting and a few longer trips during the year.The reliability and quality are first rate.The power ,handling, comfort and sound system make it a pleasure to drive. I have driven many cars and trucks/SUVs, this one is the best one for me."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

LEXUS QUALITY AND RELIABILITY

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "HIGH RELIABILITY"

Cons: "NON NOTED"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'VE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 8 YEARS. GREAT CAR."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The LEXUS is a dynamic car.

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and very smooth,"

Cons: "The cup holders are not for those that have handle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I really like my LEXUS and would keep it but unable to maintain two high maintenance cars."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Mechanically: very sound.

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Do not like the rear wheel drive. Even with the "snow package" option, the car performs poorly on wet roads as far as traction. Otherwise the car handles real well. Very reliable, sound car."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Frumpy but Excellent.

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,875

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "truly a fine automobile"

Cons: "tight cockpit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent handling and acceleration. Not as heavy as an MBZ in the same class and year, but overall quicker and smoother. Cockpit is tight and driver seat should adjust to move a little further back. Still, this car is a pleasure to drive and is not as temperamental as the German equivalents. Actually, Lexus quality may have peaked for this class in the early 2000's. Later models have a tinsely feel."

16 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Best auto I have owned

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives beautifully, still tight with 98,000 miles"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals