Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 266 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
 

Great Car

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It’s difficult to think about selling it. But I’m tempted only to upgrade for the 2013 model year or get an LS 460."

Most reliable car ever!!

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfy and reliable!!!"

Cons: "depresiates too fast!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been having this car since 2006, and believe me, never had any problems with it!! It's the most reliable car ever!! As long as u do your regular maintanance you are good to go!!! I really hope I can find something as good as this car in the future!!!!"

A Great Car

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Seats are hard on long trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been very reliable, ride is a bit harsh if you use the higher milage tires that wear longer. The seats are too firm for long distance trips. I love the way it handles like a sports car, quick"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive.

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive. Dependable and inexpensive to maintain."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love, Love Love It!!!

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 237,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives great, comfortable, and nice looking."

Cons: "Parts can be expensive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car when it was two years old, I kept it for 9 years until it was totalled in an accident (thankfully no one was hurt)!!! I would have kept it another 9 years if it were not wrecked. It is beautiful inside and out, it rides great (even at 237,000 miles). I am in the market for another one now. This is a high quality,high luxury car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Very expensive to repair after warranty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. smooth ride, lots of room, very reliable"

My Favorite Car

By on Tuesday, November 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. Very reliable."

One word - Awesome!

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very fun and comfortable to drive. Roomy in back."

Cons: "Not the best in the snow, requires snow tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My favorite of all the cars I've owned. Great power, handling, and comfort. Never had a mechanical issue with it, and it's at around 115k miles."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, reliable, great value!"

Cons: "Parts are expensive if not under warranty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car because I liked the way it looked and because it was a Lexus I knew it would be made well. What I didn't know was that I would love this car and that I would keep it so long because it was reliable and just an all around great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good reputation

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, reliability, smoothness"

Cons: "Size and handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought a 01 GS300 with 90k miles for my wife. The previous owners were families and the old mother-in-law bought it brand new and "sold" it to her son-in-law at 55k miles. She kept a full service record at Lexus dealership. The son was a DIY guy but still kept the car in a good shape. The car got adequate power to accelerate with regard to the engine size, quiet, and smooth. Leather seats have the best material (way much better than the freaking cheap BMW5 "leather" of that age) but the front seats are not quite comfortable. Limited head room and handling is so-so. Love sitting in the back seats though but have to sit in the front to drive it for the most of time:( A/C is ice cold, even colder than my 08 Accord V6 coupe!- very important in the summers of Texas. Sad that it does not have cooled seats:( BTW, the battery still looks like the original one after ten years of use in Texas! (I've read some posting saying the battery on this car lasted for nine years). Read a lot of five-star reviews of this car regarding its bulletproof quality and reliability. Hope I will be one of the happy customers as well after 150k miles:)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Runs and Runs and Runs

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "2 wheel drive in NH"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would strongly recommend this car to anyone. I'm second owner and I did buyer it from a little old man. Babied and only serviced by Lexus dealer."

I love this Vehicle

By on Friday, November 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It drives comfortable. One of the lexurious in most of the lexus models."

I love this car.

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Affordable, Smooth Ride"

Cons: "I'm tall, not a lot of leg room in backseat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this car. I bought it with 36,000 miles on it and it currently has 196,000 miles. I drive a good distance to work so almost all of the miles are highway. I've owned the car for over 5yrs and the most expensive thing I've replaced has been the driver side window/motor. It's a great car and will not let you down."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Long Term Value - Bulletproof

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Long term value, very reliable, comfortable, fast"

Cons: "Handling not quite as good as comp European car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car (GS400-V8) used with 29,000 miles on it over ten years ago. I now have 165,000 miles and it still runs great, still gets 22mpg on the highway, and still has plenty of HP. The paint is finally showing some wear after being parked outside next to the ocean for ten years but it still turns over on the first crank every time. The only major repairs were some engine mounts and suspension bushings around 130k miles more due to my driving habits than the quality of the car. Will buy another GS when I get rid of this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love This Car!!!!

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car in amazing condition with only 92,000 miles on it for $8,400. What a steal! It's the best car I've ever owned. It's 11 years old and there is absolutely no problems with it! It runs like a brand new one! People ask if it's new. I would recommend everyone to get this car or any Toyota product! Scion, Toyota, or Lexus. Toyota knows what they're doing! They're number 1 for a reason!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would not want anything else.....

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, Fast, Fast...."

Cons: "Gas. Small trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I bought my gs 400 after it was recked and rebuilt. It's super fast when you want it to be, and sunday driver when you want it to be. I sold cars for years and drove many. Nothing beats this car in my opinion. You will pay for gas, but it's worth it. I bought mine with 130,000, Have over 170 now and no problems, but I do change the fluids regularly and always put in chevron gas. I just love this car. GS 400 Baby : )"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Ferocious performance with sublte luxury

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "performance, reliability, luxury"

Cons: "only premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car seems pretty rare. I looked for a very long time for this car in my area. I finally found one and snagged it up. To sum up this car its a luxury car with a BEAST under the hood. I put a cold air intake system on it and it could beat Mustang GT's all day long. The look on their faces were priceless. Gas mileage is actually pretty good for a v-8. You cant go wrong with this car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great color, Rides quiet"

Cons: "Tan interior,Headlights need polishing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my parked pride!

"Bought this 1998 GS300 used in 2006 had 56,000 miles in 2011 it has 105,000 I just love my car. Ive only had to replace 2oxygen sensors since I have had car! The only thing the tan interior I never liked it always gets dirty but easy to clean. If I was to trade car in it would be for another GS 300 since 2007 was the last year they were built. So for now I hold on to my GS.... Would recommend car to anyone you'd love also!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my parked pride!

Best Car To Own!

By on Wednesday, September 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "supper fast, ver comfortible and extremly reliable."

Cons: "rear wheel drive. gets about 17mpg city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I bought the car when it had about 90,000miles on it. At the time nothing was yet replaced. I drove it for about another 100,000 thats when i replaced the exhoust, catilitic converter, o2 sensor, and rotors. That cost about 1000bucks. After that i have put about another soon to be 100,000 on it and soo far it still runs great and smooth. I am starting to have problems with the climate controle but thats about it after all that time. Super fun and reliablke car. It is soo fast!!!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great conditions"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Doesn't get better than this!

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, reliable, great interior!"

Cons: "None really! Perhaps could have a bit softer ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have over 122,000 miles on my GS430 and the car drives like new. I have had every major luxury car before and this is the best by far! Car is very fast and gets amazing (26 MPG)gas mileage on the open road. It would be even better if I'd slow down! I maintain this car exceptionally well as my mechanic says this model is far better than the newer one! Told these can go way over 200K miles. I get offers to sell this car frequently!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Sunday, September 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "No radio controls on the steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used with 6000 miles and have now owned it for 5 years and have put 90,000 miles on it. It is a great car. The only thing I have done is the scheduled maintenance. I am having the timing belt changed next week."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car Ive ever owned!

By on Monday, September 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very fast , fun to drive, nice interior"

Cons: "snow tires are a must for winter driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with about 18k miles. I have put over 100k on the car over a ten year period without a single problem. Nice and comfortable interior. The ride is pretty smooth. not to mention it's pretty quick and fun to drive on windy roads. But being a rear wheel drive car snow tires are a must if you plan on driving it in the winter. Other than that it is a great car which I would recommend to anyone thinking about buying one. (I do own the GS 400 which has a 4.0 liter v8 as opposed to the GS 300 with a 3.0 liter v6)"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

piece of junk

By on Sunday, August 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have a 98 gs 400 its now in the driveway burnt to the ground. I int had nothing but problems out of this thing. I knew i shouldn't got it. Next time ill buy a Chevy. Never again will i ever buy anything but a chevy. If you have one of thes. Sell it now"

2 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Very reliable and solid car

By on Saturday, August 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun on windy roads because of the suspension and manual tranny option"

Cons: "the emergency brake is easy to hit on accident when getting into the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've only had one mechanical problem at 185k the water pump went bad. Otherwise just basic maintenance."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

 
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals