Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 258 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Would buy another in a heartbeat!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well built and no rust after 16 years"

Cons: "wish it was AWD!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable. No unusual repairs or problems. Still gets the same gas mileage it did whenI bought it used in 2001. Longest I have ever owned one car."

Would buy another in a heartbeat!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well built and no rust after 16 years"

Cons: "wish it was AWD!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable. No unusual repairs or problems. Still gets the same gas mileage it did whenI bought it used in 2001. Longest I have ever owned one car."

Without a doubt, the best car I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No mechanical problems in almost 11 years. Remarkable!"

Best car I ever owned. Have it 14 years. 1 repai

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely recommend"

Excellent, Quality all around, and Dependable.

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth and ergonomically excellent."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Lexus Aristo (GS 300) is my baby. I am the second owner and it now has a little over 220,000 miles on it. I really did not do more than change oil regularly and tires when needed. I also had all the belts and other fluids changed as recommended. It gives me pleasure and a smile everytime I drive this car. Wonderful car!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

perfect for comfort and speed

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, sexy, power, options, class custimization"

Cons: "when speeding heavy car take into consideration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"super reliable always always always turn key for the 3 years ive had my gs love every aspect floats down the street like a luxury car should but blows the doors off almost and car i need on the highway a pleasure to own i will maintain and own this car till the day it dies...if it doesnt outlive me"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent car! Great body style!

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"98-05's GS's not only look nicer than most new vehicles they are making today. They are also very well made. They can easily still drive like new over 100k. Excellent all around vehicles! My second GS and I absolutely love this model Lexus! Also a great car for customizing which is pretty well known. Very comfortable, drives smooth, classic body style. What else can I say? These cars were way ahead of their time!"

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY GS!!!!!

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great sound system, good on gas, looks incredible"

Cons: "There is nothing missing on the car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am stuck on the Lexus brand and will never go anywhere else. The comfortable ride to the premium sound has me stuck. Great job Lexus!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I RECOMMEND EVERYBODY TO BUY LEXUS THE BEST CAR

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I RECOMMEND EVERYBODY TO BUY LEXUS NO MATTER WHICH MODELS THEY ARE THE BEST CARS YOUR MONEY CAN BUY I OWN 2 LEXUS 2005 GX 470 AND 2003 GS300 I NEVER HAVE TO SEE THE MECHANIC ONLY OIL CHANGE TYRE CHANGE AND THATS ALL ALL I CAN SAY THE BEST COMFORTABLE, RELIABLE AND YOUR MONEY IS WORTH IT I EVEN TELL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY IF I WILL BUY ANOTHER CAR IT WILL BE ANOTHER LEXUS THATS IT BOTTOM LINE"

A luxury car with Toyota Value and pricing....

By on Thursday, September 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In early 2011 we bought this car, it had a mere 18608 miles. It was still in great shape despite not being perfectly cared for. Previous owner traded it in at 10 years old. So far, only regular maintenance. We no longer take the car to Lexus for service as they messed up a set of wheels by applying a caustic wheel cleaner. RWD 4 door sedan, 3700 lbs, 300HP 4.3 liter V8, seamless 5 speed auto trans. Whats NOT to love about it? This car will outbrake a Corvette from the same year. Needless to say, that comes at a price. The brake rotors are known for warpage early in thier life and this reared its head at about 25K miles. We had the rotors cut and put back on... things were fine for about 10K when it started doing it again. New rotors and front pads were ordered, and replaced. in the process it was discovered that someone had installed aftermarket pads, and some of the hardware was missing. All of that now fixed it came far cheaper than taking the car to Lexus, and I know the tech who works on my cars. Outside of that... this is an excellent driving machine. I'm a Musclecar fan at heart, but this is more like sport sedan... and I like it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still looks great! Reliable, fun to drive"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this Lexus used in 2000. Previous owner had it for six months, 2,000 miles. I am in the process of trading it in for a Camry SE and am going to miss my 13 year old vehicle; hope the Camry stands the test of time like the Lexus has. It has served me well with conventional adjustments (tires, oil changes, engine/cabin filters) and an extended warranty issue with alternater/throttle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

98 GS 400, 62 and it's best car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything, a bargain for what you get"

Cons: "Parts are expensive but rarely needed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is safe, beautiful, does everything perfectly, and asks nothing in return. Amazing acceleration and braking. Handles like a sports car and cruises like a land yacht. Excellant climate control and sound system. Who says you can't have it all! If I ever do need to replace it, it will be with another GS. Drive in the snow? Use all season tires and the "Snow" button or get an AWD. I hydroplaned once and the stabilization control kicked in and straightened it right out. Yes, performance takes premium gas, but if you want to play you have to pay."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Thursday, August 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,144

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, all the extras, fun to drive"

Cons: "not the cheapest car to own, maintanance and gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my 2001 lexus gs430 is by far the best car I've ever owned! I don't understand why all cars aren't made for sport and luxury. It is so comfortable, and drives like a dream! I had no idea I would get so much attention from it, especially it being 10 years old when I bought it! It goes to show you, you get what you pay for. My car looks and drives like a brand new car. This will not be the last Lexus I own, that is a fact!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

An all around car for everyone

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, no problems in over 10 years"

Cons: "cramped back seat could use a little more leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The GS is a comfortable 4-door sedan that is desirable for your grandparents to your grandson. Throw a set of rims on it and it instantly turns into a boy racer. 13 years later, there have been no problems with the car, still drives like it's brand new. With a little TLC it would look like it was bran new too. The V-8 is smooth and powerful and always has more power on tap than you need. A roomy trunk can hold a weekends worth of luggage, even with a huge subwoofer installed. This is probably the best car I have ever owned next to my '87 Cressida. Toyota knows how to make luxury high end cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This car is Awesome!!

By on Friday, May 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives and handles well with good safety standards!"

Love my Car, is not for sale.

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought it brand new I would say that this is the best investment for a car I have made. It runs like new.I love the smooth, comfort, security, gas mileage,etc. I always get good complements from people. Even though is a 2002 model, still looks nice parked outside."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Timeless design and amazing quality sports sedan

By on Friday, March 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2003 Lexus GS300 has 110,000 miles on it and it still looks almost brand new inside and out. This car has an amazingly smooth inline 6 that is on par with the similar BMW engine with better overall reliability. The cars interior is extremely quiet even at highway speeds with little to no squeaks or rattles. The car is very soft over bumps, yet stills gives you decent cornering with only moderate body lean. The cars 5 speed automatic transmission is so smooth that shifts go unnoticed. The glove leather seats are both soft and comfortable and the burled walnut accents add class and sophistication. The a/c is very cold and the standard stereo is excellent with great treble and bass."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I LOVE IT!!!!

By on Saturday, February 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,fast,safe,affordable"

Cons: "nothing!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is extremely fun to drive. It's an affordable fast, luxury,reliable and safe car. I bought the Lexus a while ago and can only say for the price you get 20 out of 10 possible. The 4 liter V8 takes you of the line in no time at all. And the gas mileage inst so bad on it either I get about 17-19 combined of course It also matter how you drive yet this car is a BEAST!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

What a car

By on Friday, November 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,110

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quality and reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is truly an amazing offering from Lexus. Being a Lexus you expect that quality and reliability are the highest rated in the market, My car still drives like a new car and far better than any other luxury car in the market."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Most Reliable and Fun to Drive

By on Thursday, October 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast, unsurpassed quality, comfortable"

Cons: "rear seat doesn't fold down,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from with a little over 150,000 miles on it, and I feel in love with it the first time I drove it. Its decent on gas for the size of V6 it has, but its hard not to stomp down due to its responsivness. Its reliablity so far has been unsurpassed, I had a 2005 pontiac grand prix previously, which I had to constantly dump money into. The only time this car was in the shop was for my new tires, and oil changes, (dont have a garage yet) My only complaint is that the hood's paint has started peeling , which makes the car look really bad. I plan on keeping this car till it can no longer drive, I dont care if its old, hard to find its quality today."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love it more and more as the years go by!

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It fun to drive and super reliable"

Cons: "see comment above re: rear wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my third lexus but my first GS. My first two were ES models, and they began to nickel and dime me after about 30,000 miles. This car has been very reliable and has not needed anything besides tires, oil changes and other mundane maintenance - incredible for a 12 year old car. It has rear wheel drive, which I consider a plus, but it can cause skidding when accelerating on wet pavement"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best you can Own

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Engine, trans, ride, super quiet, handling"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned a large used car dealership for 31 years complete with service and detail shops. The 98 one owner GS400 i'm driving now might be one of the best used vehicles on the road today. It has the ride, handling, shift, and silky smooth V8 that make this car one I would drive daily over hundreds of newer cars that just do not come close."

THE Standard of an Exceptional Vehicle

By on Friday, April 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful Design, Reliable, Safe...List Goes On"

Cons: "...None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2000 GS300 is hands down the best vehicle I've ever owned. Elegantly designed inside and out, handles like a sports car and cruises like a Lexus, diehard reliability (zero mechanical problems over 100k miles since I purchased it), 5-Star safety ratings, and it even gets decent gas mileage. If you don't have a GS, buy one. If you own one, I recommend you either keep it, or move into a newer one!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

THE Standard of an Exceptional Vehicle

By on Friday, April 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful Design, Reliable, Safe...List Goes On"

Cons: "...None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2000 GS300 is hands down the best vehicle I've ever owned...elegantly designed inside and out, handles like a sports car but cruises like a Lexus, diehard reliability (zero mechanical issues in the 100k miles I've owned it), 5-Star safety ratings, and it even gets decent gas mileage. If you don't have one, buy one. If you own one, I recommend you either keep it, or move to a newer one!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car - Even better fuel economy for a V8

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "V8 power, fuel economy, luxury feel yet sporty"

Cons: "Seats don't hold up as well as previous cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my GS for almost a year and I've put on 14K miles so far. I used to have a 1999 GS400 so I'm not new to the GS scene. This car continues to amaze me. The V8 is smooth and powerful and I just averaged 26.9MPG on my last work trip (928 miles in 2 days). The Mark Levinson sound system is incredible, the GPS is easy to use, the seats are comfortable and it still has a stylish appearance even though it's an 9 year old car. I plan on keeping this one for quite some time."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals