Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 264 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Most Reliable and Fun to Drive

By on Thursday, October 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast, unsurpassed quality, comfortable"

Cons: "rear seat doesn't fold down,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from with a little over 150,000 miles on it, and I feel in love with it the first time I drove it. Its decent on gas for the size of V6 it has, but its hard not to stomp down due to its responsivness. Its reliablity so far has been unsurpassed, I had a 2005 pontiac grand prix previously, which I had to constantly dump money into. The only time this car was in the shop was for my new tires, and oil changes, (dont have a garage yet) My only complaint is that the hood's paint has started peeling , which makes the car look really bad. I plan on keeping this car till it can no longer drive, I dont care if its old, hard to find its quality today."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love it more and more as the years go by!

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It fun to drive and super reliable"

Cons: "see comment above re: rear wheel drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my third lexus but my first GS. My first two were ES models, and they began to nickel and dime me after about 30,000 miles. This car has been very reliable and has not needed anything besides tires, oil changes and other mundane maintenance - incredible for a 12 year old car. It has rear wheel drive, which I consider a plus, but it can cause skidding when accelerating on wet pavement"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best you can Own

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Engine, trans, ride, super quiet, handling"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned a large used car dealership for 31 years complete with service and detail shops. The 98 one owner GS400 i'm driving now might be one of the best used vehicles on the road today. It has the ride, handling, shift, and silky smooth V8 that make this car one I would drive daily over hundreds of newer cars that just do not come close."

THE Standard of an Exceptional Vehicle

By on Friday, April 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful Design, Reliable, Safe...List Goes On"

Cons: "...None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2000 GS300 is hands down the best vehicle I've ever owned. Elegantly designed inside and out, handles like a sports car and cruises like a Lexus, diehard reliability (zero mechanical problems over 100k miles since I purchased it), 5-Star safety ratings, and it even gets decent gas mileage. If you don't have a GS, buy one. If you own one, I recommend you either keep it, or move into a newer one!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

THE Standard of an Exceptional Vehicle

By on Friday, April 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful Design, Reliable, Safe...List Goes On"

Cons: "...None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2000 GS300 is hands down the best vehicle I've ever owned...elegantly designed inside and out, handles like a sports car but cruises like a Lexus, diehard reliability (zero mechanical issues in the 100k miles I've owned it), 5-Star safety ratings, and it even gets decent gas mileage. If you don't have one, buy one. If you own one, I recommend you either keep it, or move to a newer one!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car - Even better fuel economy for a V8

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "V8 power, fuel economy, luxury feel yet sporty"

Cons: "Seats don't hold up as well as previous cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my GS for almost a year and I've put on 14K miles so far. I used to have a 1999 GS400 so I'm not new to the GS scene. This car continues to amaze me. The V8 is smooth and powerful and I just averaged 26.9MPG on my last work trip (928 miles in 2 days). The Mark Levinson sound system is incredible, the GPS is easy to use, the seats are comfortable and it still has a stylish appearance even though it's an 9 year old car. I plan on keeping this one for quite some time."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Toyota/Lexus loyal customer!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my lexus. I have NEVER had any kind of issues with it. It drives extremely smooth and is comfortable for the long drives! You get the full value for your buck!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR!!!!!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, and fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall you cannot buy a better car."

Very reliable and fuel economy is great for a V8

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Snowy road"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Apart from regular oil change, I have not taken it to a shop to be fixed for any problem. The only negative I have if driving in the snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Ageless Class

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"An ageless stylish car that is comfortable inside. Been very reliable for 14 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Extremely Reliable

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

""This car has been trouble free in the 10 years (180k) I've had it. I’ve done basic maintenance (brakes, rotors, timing belt, water pump, and tires) but that’s about. I would buy again!"

First Lexus. Like the brand. Extremely impressed!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "cheap radio, poor sound, cramped rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First Lexus, switched from Infiniti Q45"

Very solid and reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used with 25,000 miles. Have driven the car for over 6 years and now have over 165,000 miles. No mechanical issues period. Very reliable and comfortable car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

better than most, good power

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "quality and power"

Cons: "headroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this 300 HP v8 rear wheel drive has good power to weight ratio, however, there is some throttle lag (fly by wire). Handling, braking and fit/finish is very good. Road noise from front suspension/tires is above averaqe, however, good quality touring tires (ie Mich. Primacy) can help a lot. This car is capable of cruising at 100 MPH (maybe Autobahn). Driven normally USA then mileage can be 25MPG"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Did I mention it's fast?"

Cons: "MPG, leans a little too much in the corners"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is FAST. Very torquey engine, but keeps going at high rev's too. I just wish it got better gas mileage. Overall, it's very enjoyable to drive. The way it builds speed is so smooth; and the sound of the engine - not loud, just a sweet mechanical symphony - brings a smile to my face."

Competent vehicle that is comfortable

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable, a parent's car"

Cons: "generic, a parent's car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with about 75k miles on it 6 years ago. It has been totally reliable and overall a great car. Just like most cars, the services at the dealer are outrageous, but I have always gone to the dealer for service. Because of that, it really does still drive like brand new. I think I want a new car, but this one is so reliable it is hard to justify spending the money on a new one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mostly everything."

Cons: "paint could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I just got this car. Its old and has alot of miles but is one of the best cars I have ever driven. I was pleasently surprised with the speed and interior ,which has beautiful leather.Overall, Stunning!"

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a blast to drive and looks great too"

Cons: "a little tough on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car goes like a rocket, handles like a sports car, and rides like the luxury sedan that it is."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best for the buck

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very fast fun and modern bodystyle"

Cons: "they dont put the 1uzfe engines in the newer gs's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"these cars are amazing. they have a tremendous amount of power so you can baby the thing while your doing 100mph down the highway at 2rpms very comfortable. no other 98' to 02' bodystyle will turn heads like this with toyota v8 reliability."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A keeper

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, quiet, has zip."

Cons: "Pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2000, and now 11 years old w/ 130K miles, original powertrain. It's in good driving condition and I'll probably keep it til it dies."

Smooth drivin, totally reliable

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A blast to drive FAST FAST FAST."

Cons: "Interior cup holder/glove compartment cd clumsy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Perfect for weekend camping in Big Basin, CA

"Love my SportDesign 300GS; it's never stranded me (2003, purchased used in 2006, this review Jan/12); with upgraded tires, very low road noise; love the adjustable heated seats and 2-driver configuration memory. Totally smooth ridin, takes curves like a gazelle, excellent for twisty paved mountain roads; goes like a rocket to get onto the freeway from short on-ramps; capacious trunk space. Wish it had more cup holder options, a less-clumsy multi-CD player or retrofit for MPx player and a place for my purse other than the back seat or trunk when someone is in the front passenger seat. Love the sunroof, great turning radius, enough space to fit adults in the back seat although anyone over 6-ft will have to duck his head."

Perfect for weekend camping in Big Basin, CA

the best thing is the ride and comfort.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliable and prestige"

Cons: "I wish i could use regular fuel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car i have ever owned and itis over 10 years old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid Vehicle

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, Super Sound System (nakamich) Reliable"

Cons: "Touchy window units(up and down is jumpy)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle from the second owner with 239k miles on it and could not be happier. I've been able to put 40k on this car this year alone and has been flawless. Still has excellent acceleration and besides the general wear from having so many miles the engine still purrs and tranny shifts nicely. If someone were to make this their daily driver and kept it maintaind I believe this thing has at least another 50k left before any major failure. This car was light years ahead of anything on the market."

Great Car

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It’s difficult to think about selling it. But I’m tempted only to upgrade for the 2013 model year or get an LS 460."

Most reliable car ever!!

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfy and reliable!!!"

Cons: "depresiates too fast!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been having this car since 2006, and believe me, never had any problems with it!! It's the most reliable car ever!! As long as u do your regular maintanance you are good to go!!! I really hope I can find something as good as this car in the future!!!!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals