Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 275 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Simply incredible....

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 296,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"An amazing car. It just keeps ticking like a fine Swiss watch. Just use synthetic Mobile 1. Keep the fluids topped off. I have never changed the timing belt or chain. Heater is now luke warm at idle. I suppose I'll give it a water pump but not necessary. Hood is chipped but still looks great! Interior seat...driver side I had recovered($200)and the heated seats still work....! Just buy one...take care of it and it will take care of you. Period."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

solid ride w no check engine lights

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quick, handles well and great looking body"

Cons: "would like newer steering wheel design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2000 GS 300. just bought this wonderful car. super clean 80k miles. this car is what all autos should be..controls where they should be...goes when you step on it ...no annoying ck engine lights like my german car...easy to use & and service...new lexus mats still available also! love the rear wheel drive..put on winter snow tires and with the snow mode and traction control I hook up very well. Nice size car also. I previously had an LS430 but wife wouldn't drive it due to 'old man's car' syndrome with the big steering wheel, big nose. She loves this one. It is very comfortable, reliable and great looking. Good size also at approx 190" long. I bought it after looking at numerous reviews on it on this site. This is a secret winner. IF you can find one in nice shape, BUY IT! it will last for a LONG time. The 300 six cylinder motor is perfect for this chasis."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

a well made vehicle

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car as a used vehicle with low mileage 3 years ago. I use it for daily commuting and a few longer trips during the year.The reliability and quality are first rate.The power ,handling, comfort and sound system make it a pleasure to drive. I have driven many cars and trucks/SUVs, this one is the best one for me."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LEXUS QUALITY AND RELIABILITY

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "HIGH RELIABILITY"

Cons: "NON NOTED"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'VE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 8 YEARS. GREAT CAR."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The LEXUS is a dynamic car.

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and very smooth,"

Cons: "The cup holders are not for those that have handle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I really like my LEXUS and would keep it but unable to maintain two high maintenance cars."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Mechanically: very sound.

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Do not like the rear wheel drive. Even with the "snow package" option, the car performs poorly on wet roads as far as traction. Otherwise the car handles real well. Very reliable, sound car."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Frumpy but Excellent.

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,875

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "truly a fine automobile"

Cons: "tight cockpit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent handling and acceleration. Not as heavy as an MBZ in the same class and year, but overall quicker and smoother. Cockpit is tight and driver seat should adjust to move a little further back. Still, this car is a pleasure to drive and is not as temperamental as the German equivalents. Actually, Lexus quality may have peaked for this class in the early 2000's. Later models have a tinsely feel."

15 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Best auto I have owned

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives beautifully, still tight with 98,000 miles"

I just came back from Vegas, great ride a pleasure

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Runs great, alway well maintained, looks like new, Still has a great ride. A real good buy...."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lexus forever!!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car used, 6 years/ 45,000 miles. Has been faultless except for rear door lock module failure (both) and oxygen sensor failure (both). I have never had a problem with either of these systems on my other cars and have had many. Mostly I have driven luxury cars. Note; for all cars for at least 30 years I used only Amzoil Prod- exclusively. Current odometer on this 2001 GS is 110,000."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The VERY BEST....... 1 Owner.... Have loved alway

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT PRICE AWESOME to drive..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend Lexus Cars to everyone..... SAFE.... Quiet.... EXCELLENT VEHICLE.... This is a Superb.... Sports...Family Car.... It has POWER...and COMFORT..."

4 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Champion

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Silent, great power and fantastic handling"

Cons: "Seats too plush for people w/ lower back issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is going to be hard to find another car that will run for 15 years trouble free."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great ride with good gas mileage

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "interior seats needs to be repaired."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just drove this car to Tulsa Oklahoma from south Florida and it rode like a charm. Averaged 26 miles per gallon and the air conditioning never got above low. I love Lexus cars they are the best. I have had the car for 8 years now and it only has 108000 on it. It is a 2000 so that is less than 8,00o per year and it gets it's regular maintenance."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Car I have ever owned. Reliability is key.

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Car ever"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It is the most reliable and comfortable riding car

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I can't think of anything bad about this car."

Cons: "Just want an American made car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car from lexus dealer and have kept it in top notch shape. no major mechanical problems. new tires"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

the best car i have owned.. it glides, is reliable

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, best drives, silky ride, accelerates"

Cons: "dashboard no space for anything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most reliable car, nothing goes wrong with this car. its fast, its light weight, it parks easily, it feels safe."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very Bueatiful Custom Vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very beautiful, it is silver with a full body kit with dark tinted windows, it has 20 inch chrome rims with brand new tires, custom halo headlights and custom led tail lights, custom exhaust and a cold air intake system, also a dvd/cd double din screen with 2 mtx 12 inch subs with amp, black on black interior all leather original and in great condition with no rips. This car has a clean title, most of the miles put on the car are all highway miles, I am a district manager and used this car for the first 2 years I had it. Drives very good."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Would buy another in a heartbeat!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well built and no rust after 16 years"

Cons: "wish it was AWD!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable. No unusual repairs or problems. Still gets the same gas mileage it did whenI bought it used in 2001. Longest I have ever owned one car."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Would buy another in a heartbeat!

By on Thursday, April 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well built and no rust after 16 years"

Cons: "wish it was AWD!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable. No unusual repairs or problems. Still gets the same gas mileage it did whenI bought it used in 2001. Longest I have ever owned one car."

Without a doubt, the best car I have ever owned.

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No mechanical problems in almost 11 years. Remarkable!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned. Have it 14 years. 1 repai

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely recommend"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent, Quality all around, and Dependable.

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth and ergonomically excellent."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Lexus Aristo (GS 300) is my baby. I am the second owner and it now has a little over 220,000 miles on it. I really did not do more than change oil regularly and tires when needed. I also had all the belts and other fluids changed as recommended. It gives me pleasure and a smile everytime I drive this car. Wonderful car!"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

perfect for comfort and speed

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, sexy, power, options, class custimization"

Cons: "when speeding heavy car take into consideration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"super reliable always always always turn key for the 3 years ive had my gs love every aspect floats down the street like a luxury car should but blows the doors off almost and car i need on the highway a pleasure to own i will maintain and own this car till the day it dies...if it doesnt outlive me"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent car! Great body style!

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"98-05's GS's not only look nicer than most new vehicles they are making today. They are also very well made. They can easily still drive like new over 100k. Excellent all around vehicles! My second GS and I absolutely love this model Lexus! Also a great car for customizing which is pretty well known. Very comfortable, drives smooth, classic body style. What else can I say? These cars were way ahead of their time!"

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY GS!!!!!

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great sound system, good on gas, looks incredible"

Cons: "There is nothing missing on the car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am stuck on the Lexus brand and will never go anywhere else. The comfortable ride to the premium sound has me stuck. Great job Lexus!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals