Go

1999 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 286 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Love This Car!!!!

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car in amazing condition with only 92,000 miles on it for $8,400. What a steal! It's the best car I've ever owned. It's 11 years old and there is absolutely no problems with it! It runs like a brand new one! People ask if it's new. I would recommend everyone to get this car or any Toyota product! Scion, Toyota, or Lexus. Toyota knows what they're doing! They're number 1 for a reason!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would not want anything else.....

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, Fast, Fast...."

Cons: "Gas. Small trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I bought my gs 400 after it was recked and rebuilt. It's super fast when you want it to be, and sunday driver when you want it to be. I sold cars for years and drove many. Nothing beats this car in my opinion. You will pay for gas, but it's worth it. I bought mine with 130,000, Have over 170 now and no problems, but I do change the fluids regularly and always put in chevron gas. I just love this car. GS 400 Baby : )"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Sunday, September 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "No radio controls on the steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used with 6000 miles and have now owned it for 5 years and have put 90,000 miles on it. It is a great car. The only thing I have done is the scheduled maintenance. I am having the timing belt changed next week."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

187000 worry free miles. very low maintenance

By on Sunday, August 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "low maintenance"

Cons: "body style not dynamic like BMW and E350"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"turn key car. no running to dealers for ongoing service"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 2, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven a Lexus for the past 12 years, I have always bought used because it is a great car at a great value and the certified pre owned is excellent. I started with the ES first then the GS. Just bought my 4th GS, 2 of the ones i had in the past were totaled in accidents (not my fault), I was not injured in either, this car holds up great in a serious accident. Once you own one you really dont want to drive anything else. Just bought a 2006 IS 250 for my mom, she loves it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love It!!

By on Monday, January 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2nd one Ive owned and I love it! My sister has a RX350 and she loves it. Our family has had BMW, Mercedes and Cadillac. Nothing compares to the whole Lexus line up. They get great fuel mileage and run forever! If you are in the market for a luxury car. Give it a chance and you will be hooked. Hope this helps anyone looking for a new car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 gs best vehicle ever!!!!

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"one of the best vehicles on the road now! i have not had any problems with this car what so ever, and it has 173,000 miles on it. it drives like new, just do the regular oil change and its ready to go. i cant say one bad thing about this car, my next car would be the LEXUS LS430!!!! can't wait"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Surprise Surprise

By on Sunday, June 7, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my car for a number of years and no real problems at all. The car still operates like it did when I purchased it. If I wasn't in financial ruins, I wouldn't even be considering letting my car go, however, I paid nearly $38,000 for the car six years ago and now you can't even get a car lot to offer you $10,000 for it. I know cars loose their value soon as you drive off the lot, but in mint condition with all the bells and whistles, and a $8,500 offer from a car lot was an insult. My custom wheels and tires nearly cost that. I may be in diar need of cash, but I will just let it sit before taking that big a loss especially when I know how good it runs and how clean it is inside and out and how good it looks."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 GS 300

By on Friday, December 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the car since new and never, not even once, has there been a problem. 75,000 miles later not a squeek or rattle. Great performance and handling. Absolutely the BEST car I have ever owned. Been buying cars since 1966, owned them all and this is the best hands down."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, October 4, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"After a fun filled but tiring 8 month search for a used luxury ride within my price range, the Lexus GS300, 2000 model fit the bill! Bought at 60,000, now at 96,000 with no problems, mpg is 21 with mixed driving, and the style just doesn't quit. The ride is smooth, the engine is strong, and the interior is very comfy with plenty of room. What a great car!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Our favorite car

By on Saturday, February 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven a lot of cars over the years, and none comes even close to our Lexus. We bought it used at about half the sticker price and love every minute of owning it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

An outstanding vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the 2nd GS300 we've owned and this one was the best. I think it's one of the most beautiful sedans ever built and it's beauty goes far deeper than skin deep. I'm afraid this is the last one we will own due to retirement and don't have those big paychecks anymore."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still looks great! Reliable, fun to drive"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this Lexus used in 2000. Previous owner had it for six months, 2,000 miles. I am in the process of trading it in for a Camry SE and am going to miss my 13 year old vehicle; hope the Camry stands the test of time like the Lexus has. It has served me well with conventional adjustments (tires, oil changes, engine/cabin filters) and an extended warranty issue with alternater/throttle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

An all around car for everyone

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, no problems in over 10 years"

Cons: "cramped back seat could use a little more leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The GS is a comfortable 4-door sedan that is desirable for your grandparents to your grandson. Throw a set of rims on it and it instantly turns into a boy racer. 13 years later, there have been no problems with the car, still drives like it's brand new. With a little TLC it would look like it was bran new too. The V-8 is smooth and powerful and always has more power on tap than you need. A roomy trunk can hold a weekends worth of luggage, even with a huge subwoofer installed. This is probably the best car I have ever owned next to my '87 Cressida. Toyota knows how to make luxury high end cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Timeless design and amazing quality sports sedan

By on Friday, March 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2003 Lexus GS300 has 110,000 miles on it and it still looks almost brand new inside and out. This car has an amazingly smooth inline 6 that is on par with the similar BMW engine with better overall reliability. The cars interior is extremely quiet even at highway speeds with little to no squeaks or rattles. The car is very soft over bumps, yet stills gives you decent cornering with only moderate body lean. The cars 5 speed automatic transmission is so smooth that shifts go unnoticed. The glove leather seats are both soft and comfortable and the burled walnut accents add class and sophistication. The a/c is very cold and the standard stereo is excellent with great treble and bass."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Toyota/Lexus loyal customer!

By on Wednesday, April 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my lexus. I have NEVER had any kind of issues with it. It drives extremely smooth and is comfortable for the long drives! You get the full value for your buck!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable and fuel economy is great for a V8

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Snowy road"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Apart from regular oil change, I have not taken it to a shop to be fixed for any problem. The only negative I have if driving in the snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very solid and reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used with 25,000 miles. Have driven the car for over 6 years and now have over 165,000 miles. No mechanical issues period. Very reliable and comfortable car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

better than most, good power

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "quality and power"

Cons: "headroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this 300 HP v8 rear wheel drive has good power to weight ratio, however, there is some throttle lag (fly by wire). Handling, braking and fit/finish is very good. Road noise from front suspension/tires is above averaqe, however, good quality touring tires (ie Mich. Primacy) can help a lot. This car is capable of cruising at 100 MPH (maybe Autobahn). Driven normally USA then mileage can be 25MPG"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the best thing is the ride and comfort.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliable and prestige"

Cons: "I wish i could use regular fuel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car i have ever owned and itis over 10 years old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive.

By on Monday, December 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive. Dependable and inexpensive to maintain."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Long Term Value - Bulletproof

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Long term value, very reliable, comfortable, fast"

Cons: "Handling not quite as good as comp European car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car (GS400-V8) used with 29,000 miles on it over ten years ago. I now have 165,000 miles and it still runs great, still gets 22mpg on the highway, and still has plenty of HP. The paint is finally showing some wear after being parked outside next to the ocean for ten years but it still turns over on the first crank every time. The only major repairs were some engine mounts and suspension bushings around 130k miles more due to my driving habits than the quality of the car. Will buy another GS when I get rid of this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great conditions"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, February 3, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car brand new in 2002. I have literally never had a single problem with it. The car wasn't cheap new but I probably would be on my 3rd domestic vehicle by now so it is a wash."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, January 26, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am in the process of buying a 2004 lexus. GS 300The reason is my 2002 lexus GS300 was totalled. I love my GS300. It had 143,000 mile on it prior to the crash. I never had any mechanical problem with it. I just kept up with its schedule maintence. You can not beat the value on this car. Its second to none. Buy it new or buy it used you will come out on top. Enjoy the ride! I brought my 2002 GS 300 in 2006, and was totalled in 2011"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement