Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1999 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 277 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Love It!!

By on Monday, January 17, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2nd one Ive owned and I love it! My sister has a RX350 and she loves it. Our family has had BMW, Mercedes and Cadillac. Nothing compares to the whole Lexus line up. They get great fuel mileage and run forever! If you are in the market for a luxury car. Give it a chance and you will be hooked. Hope this helps anyone looking for a new car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It's been great!

By on Thursday, October 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have really enjoyed this vehicle. It has proven to be most reliable.The next vehicle I buy will be another Lexus, this time it will be in the LS series...I'm moving up!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

TTT___TTT

By on Wednesday, October 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"good car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Got this for my 16th birthday. Did 90k service including timing belt, water pump, break fluid flush, transmission flush and rear differential oil. Very quite and comfortable. This baby got power! Very expensive to maintain though.. Overall, great car! Drives like new and my car has 128,000 miles! Planning to keep the car for a very long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2000 gs best vehicle ever!!!!

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"one of the best vehicles on the road now! i have not had any problems with this car what so ever, and it has 173,000 miles on it. it drives like new, just do the regular oil change and its ready to go. i cant say one bad thing about this car, my next car would be the LEXUS LS430!!!! can't wait"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've had

By on Sunday, April 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Simply the best car that I have ever had; I bought the car new and now it has 205,000 miles with very little problems; I'm not sure how I'm going to replace it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GS400 love

By on Monday, April 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned! I have almost 240,000 miles on this car and have done nothing more than replace the battery twice, and scheduled maintenance. It is still comfy and stylish! I will certainly buy a car like this again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, February 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Friday, January 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"One of the best cars I've ever have. Roomy, nice body, good on gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

RELIABLE CAR!

By on Wednesday, July 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my GS 300 when it was 8 years old in 2006 and took it to my mechanic so he can take a look at it before I bought it. He said the car was in PERFECT condition and whoever had it previously really took good care of it. 3 1/2 years in of owning the car, i've only needed new brakes and a starter and THAT WAS IT! The car has never broken down on me or had any other issue what-so-ever! It's reliable, comfortable and looks great. My friends can't believe my car is 10 years old. GET ONE!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, June 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought car new, maintained by relaxed program (7,500 - 10,000 mile oil changes). Well built, reliable, good performance (fast), good handling, good paint, excellent interior. Audio system LCD display was replaced under warranty. It has failed again after another 5 years - system works, but you can't read the station/CD display. After 165K miles, burns no oil, no leaks, no rattles. Firm suspension, more sporty than luxurious. Gas mileage consistently 20 - 21"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2000 GS 300

By on Friday, December 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the car since new and never, not even once, has there been a problem. 75,000 miles later not a squeek or rattle. Great performance and handling. Absolutely the BEST car I have ever owned. Been buying cars since 1966, owned them all and this is the best hands down."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my GS300!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just bought a used GS300 with 90K miles. From all the reviews, I am hoping that we will have trouble free driving. It's a beautiful, quiet, and refined car. Have driven Audis, BMWs, and Mercedes. I wanted something more reliable this time. This one is not the most powerful car I have owned, but it's comfortable, quiet, and seems to handle very well for a car this size. I am counting on it to be more reliable than the German cars I've owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

flawless!

By on Saturday, November 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'M 65 years old and have owned many vehicles, including quite a few luxury models. This Lexus has 140,000 miles and has never had a major mechanical problem. It is quick,comfortable,and reliable . By far the best auto I've ever owned. Might trade it in when it reaches 250k miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing Comfort and Style

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I simply love a Lexus. I have driven a lot of cars for business travel, but the Lexus suspension delivers one of the smoothest rides you will find. Also a very reliable car, other than general maintenance, I have not put any significant money into this car; it has performed well in the 3+ yrs I owned it. The only drawback, if I can call it that, is the cost of repairs and labor are a bit higher than standard sport sedans, but you are getting quality parts for the price you pay"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Friday, August 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my GS400 new in 2000 and she has done me well over the last 8 years. Still looks like it just came from the showroom. Never had a single problem with the car. By far the best car I have ever owned. Regular maintenance and she will run for decades."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car i ever owned!

By on Saturday, July 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car after 100,000 miles , rides and has my total confidence in reliability.I highly recommend....."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Luxury with a mean engine

By on Saturday, May 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The V8 engine boasts phenomenal performance. For even an older vehicle, it still maintains its sweet sporty style and luxurious appearance. This is a great every day car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliabilty

By on Saturday, March 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have an 01 gs300 for about five years and 150k miles. My car has never been in the shop unless for upkeep. This car is so well built from top to bottom. Unlike my benz who is in the shop almost once a month. One of the most reliable cars out there."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid Car

By on Wednesday, January 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2001 GS300 as a certified Lexus from the dealer and have owned it for 4 years. Overall, minor problems - oxygen sensor and new battery replacements. It's a fun car to drive, dependable, handles great in the rain, and is beautiful inside and out. Everyone thinks it is only a few years old as it has held up so well with nearly 75k miles on it. I had never spent $30k on a car, but glad I spent my money on this one. I plan to keep this car indefinitely."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"had this for 5 years and love it nothing wrong!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car!!

By on Monday, January 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this car for over 7 years. It now has 113K miles on it and still going strong. Problem areas have been air conditioning - door locks - exhaust system vibration. It is a quality engineered vechicle. I was rearended by a Suburban last year. The Suburban sustained more damage than my GS."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

environmentally friendly high performance

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is more fun than my old corvette. How nice to get a true 28 mpg while cruising down the highway at 75 mph. Great handling and dandy luxury features, all with dependable Lexus performance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, January 08, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had this car for 5 years, got it with 20K miles and love it. Service will run you about $1,000 to $2,000 per year with 20K miles per year. Likely will last easily past 200-250K miles. Will have it another 3-5 years. Can't beat Lexus for quality. Engine compartment looks immaculate and I never cleaned it. Has lots of power and really really moves off the line from 0-60. Had problems with 1) Door locks 2) Wheel bearing. Both relatively small repairs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car that I have ever owned. I have had the BMW's, Mercedes etc; This car by far is the best around!!!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals