Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 269 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Frumpy but Excellent.

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,875

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "truly a fine automobile"

Cons: "tight cockpit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent handling and acceleration. Not as heavy as an MBZ in the same class and year, but overall quicker and smoother. Cockpit is tight and driver seat should adjust to move a little further back. Still, this car is a pleasure to drive and is not as temperamental as the German equivalents. Actually, Lexus quality may have peaked for this class in the early 2000's. Later models have a tinsely feel."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best auto I have owned

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives beautifully, still tight with 98,000 miles"

I just came back from Vegas, great ride a pleasure

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Runs great, alway well maintained, looks like new, Still has a great ride. A real good buy...."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lexus forever!!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car used, 6 years/ 45,000 miles. Has been faultless except for rear door lock module failure (both) and oxygen sensor failure (both). I have never had a problem with either of these systems on my other cars and have had many. Mostly I have driven luxury cars. Note; for all cars for at least 30 years I used only Amzoil Prod- exclusively. Current odometer on this 2001 GS is 110,000."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The VERY BEST....... 1 Owner.... Have loved alway

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT PRICE AWESOME to drive..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend Lexus Cars to everyone..... SAFE.... Quiet.... EXCELLENT VEHICLE.... This is a Superb.... Sports...Family Car.... It has POWER...and COMFORT..."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Champion

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Silent, great power and fantastic handling"

Cons: "Seats too plush for people w/ lower back issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is going to be hard to find another car that will run for 15 years trouble free."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great ride with good gas mileage

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "interior seats needs to be repaired."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just drove this car to Tulsa Oklahoma from south Florida and it rode like a charm. Averaged 26 miles per gallon and the air conditioning never got above low. I love Lexus cars they are the best. I have had the car for 8 years now and it only has 108000 on it. It is a 2000 so that is less than 8,00o per year and it gets it's regular maintenance."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Car I have ever owned. Reliability is key.

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Car ever"

It is the most reliable and comfortable riding car

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I can't think of anything bad about this car."

Cons: "Just want an American made car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car from lexus dealer and have kept it in top notch shape. no major mechanical problems. new tires"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

the best car i have owned.. it glides, is reliable

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, best drives, silky ride, accelerates"

Cons: "dashboard no space for anything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most reliable car, nothing goes wrong with this car. its fast, its light weight, it parks easily, it feels safe."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals