Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 204 Ratings for the 2007 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Best vehicle I ever owned, including my 2003 ES

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, economical, a joy to drive."

Cons: "Cup holder diameter too small for my cup - Ha!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have two Lexus. The 2003 was a big surprise (still owned). The 2010 is a gigantic surprise. Both purchased new, serviced at dealerships during warranty periods. Neither has ever failed. My 2010 is incredibly comfortable for travel. If I ever purchase another auto, it will be a Lexus. Incredible car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Entry Leve Luxury

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable luxurious car providing a smooth ride."

Cons: "Not a race car, but we are not in Germany....."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car certified from a Lexus dealer with 21,000 miles and it has been a real pleasure to drive. I use it to go to work every day and it is like being in my living room on the way to work. The suspension is great, the sound system fantastic and I really like that the automatic can switch to manual, this really helps in slower traffic and cuts down on using the breaks. I am really happy with this car!"

I love this car.

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It drives great, rides great and is fun to drive."

Cons: "I wish that it used regular gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the color - ruby red metallic. It is a gorgeous car! Handles beautifully, too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice car w/all the options for an older model.

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort car."

Cons: "Could use better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Got all the options as a late model car."

First Time Lexus Owner and Love the Car

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price, comfortable, lots of features"

Cons: "None so far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just bought our first fully loaded 2008 Lexus ES350. I drove it home from the dealership in middle of a snow storm and the ride was great. So many features and lots of comfort, I felt like I was in a different world while it was snowing. Lexus clearly puts alot attention in the design of these cars and caters to what the driver and their passengers want in a luxury vechile. I definitely recommend this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the vehicle new for my wife's birthday. The vehicle drives excellent and she loves it. It gets great gas mileage and is well put together. I would not hesitate to buy another Lexus if she wanted one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A great car.

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great quality"

Cons: "Don't care for keyless ignition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, good gas milage, stylish, comfortable."

I absolutely love this car!!!!!

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car, enjoy driving it"

Cons: "need more interior space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Cadillacs in the past and decided to purchase the 2008 Lexus ES two and a half years ago. I must say that I have been very pleased with the drive, comfort and performance of this vehicle. When I arrived at the dealership I requested a vehicle with low maintenance and luxury at an affordable price. This vehicle holds true to all of the above. I especially like the fact that I do not have to remove the keys from my purse to enter or start the vehicle."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great car!

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "seats aren't as comfortable as other Lexus I have"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I think it is an awesome car! I would definitely buy another one."

Great car for sedentary drivers.

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good value and MPG"

Cons: "Frumpy handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Very dependable and comfortable but handling is less than sporty."

Really Great Car

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful and comfortable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Toyota cars and thought they were great. So I bought a Lexis. This is the best car I have ever owned. I like it so much I plan to buy an LS."

Really Great Car

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful and comfortable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Toyota cars and thought they were great. So I bought a Lexis. This is the best car I have ever owned. I like it so much I plan to buy an LS."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, January 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride and Quality"

Cons: "Whats up with there being a cassette player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best I ever owned. It has a very quiet and smooth ride. It has great power and I average 25 MPG. Tis car was built for comfort. the best thing i could say is that I would buy another one"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability and surprisingly good gas mileage"

Cons: "Would like responsive handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned two ES vehicles. Fantastic car. Great comfort, fuel economy and reliability. Handling is a bit cushy, but that's not the hallmark of this car. Yu can't go wrong with this car and will get tired of it before it ever wears out!,,,"

Never had a problem. Good MPG, quiet, comfortable

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet, comfortable reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car!!! I'll buy another when the time comes and recommend to everyone."

Driven by an old lady on Sundays ....

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride; dependable; fuel efficient"

Cons: "Some controls could be more accessible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My mom owns this car. She bought it used and doesn't drive very much. Prior to this she had an older Lexus ES model which had over 200,000 miles on it and while there was nothing wrong with that car she was relocating to another state and wanted to make sure she had a newer car to avoid any problems. She has been VERY pleased with this car ... the fit and finish is gorgeous (a midnight navy blue exterior with a camel leather interior ~ GORGEOUS!). It has been a very reliable and dependable car for her ~ we (her children) don't worry about her vehicle having problems while we're located several states away from her."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, November 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable"

Cons: "A/c hits me directly, too cold ( crazy complaining"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Better than the Mercedes convertible I once owned. Best ride of all the cars I owned, and the service is excellent, I just love it, maybe I will keep it, very difficult decision, I know what I have."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Second Best Vehicle

By on Friday, October 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth, and quite drive."

Cons: "None so far."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought my 2007 ES 350 new. It is the second best car I've ever had. The best being an 1991 LS 400. This is our third Lexus. While not quite the same ride, it comes close to the LS standard. At almost 70,000 miles I've had no problems. Just routine service. I would definitely recommend. Then again, all Toyota products reflect quality."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great driving"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you like the ultimate in affordable luxury, you will love the Lexus brand. I own an ES350 and my wife has an IS250AWD. My car has every imaginable convenience and is great on the road for long trips in quiet comfort. Test drive one for yourslef and see for yourself what a great car it is."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Lexus ES 350

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "2007 116,000 at 12,500.00 as is."

Cons: "I take the car to Toyota not Lexus same parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car does not break down! Smooth ride and very powerful on the road and hills...mainly going up the mountains. The car just eats up the road going up hills. Inside is beige with wood panels, clean, smells new, the engine looks clean just the way a new car engine looks."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

my second lexus for a reason

By on Monday, August 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "most car for the money, high reliability."

Cons: "need more cargo space in trunk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"because of ny experience with my first lesus. buying the next one was a 'no brainer." i previously owned Cadillacs and Buicks, but this import measures up to them in ride and quiet handling with posh interiors to match as standard equipment. plus other features not available on most american luxury brands."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

first and best Lexus

By on Monday, July 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "long lasting."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"would not even think of any other brand. Reliable, good looking, great finish, just plane fun to drive. Of course, the dealer helps maintain and at very reasonable price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great driver and very comfortable."

Cons: "There are no cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car still runs and drives like when it was new. It has all the bells and whistles and I' really hesitant to sell it but we have three cars and it is more than we need. Very comfortable to drive and runs like it did coming off the showroom floor."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

An excellent car overall.

By on Friday, May 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, Decently Fun, Good Looking, Well Made"

Cons: "Some controls are hard to get to, low headroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

My 2007 ES350 the day I bought it.

"I've owned this car for about 2 years. My overall satisfaction is very high and I have not had any major mechanical issues. The seats are comfortable but supportive. You don't feel like you are sinking into an abyss, which allows you to have a more connected feel to the job of driving in my opinion. I am tall and headroom is a bit tight, but lowering the seat as far as it will go and leaning it back slightly was fine. I still have to clean my hair out of the headliner though. The seat cooler works but is not overpowering. At times it might not seem like it is even on, really. Lexus service is generally okay. I've put 100k of the 120k miles on my car and I can tell you maintenance by the mileage schedule for me has been terribly expensive. You really get a lot of car in a 2007, but try to look for a slightly newer model. The 2007 has a couple of frustrating "qualities" about it. For one, they redesigned the center console in later years. The one in the 2007 opens with a button on the top front of the console and it is easy to hit that accidentally. Additionally it does not open as wide as newer ones do. Driving a loaner car while mine was being serviced was eye opening in that regard. The seat heater/cooler switches are also located in a spot where I personally have to lean forward and bend my entire body while looking down and away from the road to see if they are turned on or not. After a while I got the hang of how the roller switches feel and it was okay, but this seems counterintuitive for a feature you should just be able to see. Also, the 2007 cruise control indicator is a little spartan. It doesn't indicate it is actually set, just that the system is on. That sounds small and simple but it is better on slightly newer versions of the ES. I've also had issues that have come and gone with the air conditioner blower. No idea what, but it stopped acting up on its own. I can't remember what they call the feature that makes the headlights move based on whether you are turning or going up/down hills, but that alone makes me hate driving any other car. I will definitely need that feature on whatever car I choose to buy in the future. If you have never owned a Lexus before and wonder how it compares to other brands, I would first point out that you need to be aware of what you really want. The ES is not a race car and it is also not intended to be the most posh luxury sedan either. But if you are looking at optimizing the fully loaded cost of owning a car and getting something reliable, this one is not a bad choice for several reasons. Not to diminish any other brand, but the way I look at it, the quality of a 2007 ES 350 makes any Honda look and feel like a cheap toy and the reliability makes it seem foolish to pay for a BMW. You get style, comfort and quality for a fair price with no major repairs for a long, long time. From a performance perspective, the 2007 ES 350 is okay. The engine pulls nice and strong but it is connected via a transmission that really just wants to take it easy. You can drop it into that pseudo manual mode and control it to some extent, but the fact is this is not a race car. Yeah, you can pull 100 on the freeway and not even know it, so it isn't completely inept. It is a front wheel drive car so you go into it knowing your steering control is affected by that. It's not like a Honda by any means, but it is still affected. In all, it is a smooth and comfortable ride with mild performance characteristics that will probably tone down your desire to get crazy. You won't get overly tired and might consider driving rather than flying on some of those long trips. I've been to Florida several times and trips to DC as well. One last thing. Mine is black. It would be worth it to get one of those clear 3M paint protection coatings put on the front bumper and hood area. Mine looks like it has been sand blasted so it has nice white spots all over the front of it that I need to get repaired."

29 people out of 29 found this review helpful

My 2007 ES350 the day I bought it.

After 5 straight Nissans, I tried a Lexus.

By on Wednesday, May 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. Fun to drive. Smooth and reliable. The only complaint I have is the sound system is not as good as Bose systems I was used to with Maxima and Infiniti."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals