Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 239 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Overall, love this car!

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,889

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car,reliable,and stylist."

Cons: "Over priced,sound system weak,no room in back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only major problem I had with my ES300 is replacing the timing belt,replacing rotors and brake shoes.I replaced the timing belt at 118,225 miles cosing around 600.00.At 128,889 miles my Lexus stills rides smooth and looks stylish.Although over priced,in the long run you will save with the reliability and longevity of this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nice car

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"overall good car.."

well worth the money

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quality, reliability, durability"

Cons: "cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is just what you get. a quality sedan."

Best vecicle ever!

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive...never a maintance problem"

Cons: "None! Except over priced as all cars are.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No problems. One of the most smoothest car I have ever owned. Never had any problems at all! With the exception of the power window motor on the right back window....and over priced to replace. All in all...wish I could buy a new one. I recommend anyone to buy this car..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent auto. Good power. comfortable ride.

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great ride. a little soft as it got older. Easy on tires. engine did not burn any oil. Reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A Perfect Car!

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxurious, reliable, stylish"

Cons: "Flimsy cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I upgraded from a Camry to a Lexus and have been thrilled with this car. I have owned it for ten years and have had no problems with it at all. I have only paid for routine maintenance and oil changes. The car is very "peppy" so I can merge onto expressways with ease. The interior is beautiful with a leather stitched steering wheel and gorgeous burled oak woodwork on the dashboard and side panels. My Lexus was the best investment I ever made, and even though the car is ten years old the styling of it doesn't look outdated. You will love this Lexus."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Just Keeps Going

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, comfortable ride. Generally extremely depe"

Cons: "Not the best gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I use my car for work everyday and continue to love it. It's comfortable, dependable and roomy. There is plenty of trunk space and peopel love riding in my back seat. I'm looking for a newer Lexus now...why mess with success?"

Can't drive anything besides a luxury car now

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have over 205k miles on this car and it still drives great. Haven't had any major problems. Bought the car with less than 30k miles on it. I love the spacious interior and has a ton of truck space, more space than a lot of SUVs. I'm hoping to get another 100k miles out of it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love the drive

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price"

Cons: "Selling it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very nice and looks good in silver!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Perfectly Comfortable

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfectly Built"

Cons: "Soft ride - All the time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Here she is

"I bought one of these after I was in my friends. We all called it a Camry with leather - but - it only is when it comes to maintenance items. Every item in this car is overbuilt. I now have 150k on the odometer and it runs and drives like a brand new car. I do most of the maintenance myself and was pleased to find brakes and belts to be as cheap to buy as any other car (not Lexus overpriced). If it had one downside, it would be how soft the ride is - it doesn't handle like a sports or even mid-sized sedan at all - more like a Deville."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Here she is

Best car I've owned

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Noothing breaks"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, just put gass in it and go. Nothing other than routine maintance."

Best car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "classy, good fuel mileage(reg or premium), comfort"

Cons: "front cup holdres tend to tip on tight turns."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"50,000 miles on a 2005 ES 330 and I hate to sell/trade it but it's going out of warranty. The only possible drawback is a slight hesitation at low speed as it shifts from a standing start."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfort with style

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, classy look"

Cons: "Lack of cup holders in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car with smooth ride. Roomy interior and spacious trunk. Low maintenance and still going strong."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my Lexus for about 3 years and have had no trouble with it. It has plenty of guts and is very comfortable to drive. I would buy another one or the similiar toyota again in a heartbeat."

Best vehicle for the money

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "luxury ride"

Cons: "2004 not smart phone capable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"sure most luxury cars can provide comfort. But not all provide comfort of knowing that it will perform consistently and do it in style. Zero problems to date. I drive a lot and couldn't imagine going back to my old car now that I have enjoyed this vehicle. Smooth ride, good mpg, all the electronics still work well, and just overall a great experience."

Low total cost of ownership

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, comfort, dependability"

Cons: "Lacks electronics features related to smartphones"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new nine years ago and plan to drive it to its grave (years from now). I don't like to spend a lot of money on cars, so I buy one I know I'd enjoy for 10 to 15 years. No surprise maintenance costs yet. My previous Lexus, an SC300, kept it until 180,000 and only had one major repair -the a/c. Even with that, it was so much less costly than buying a lesser car and getting out of it in a few years. I marvel that this car continues to provide a very smooth, quiet, and comfortable ride at 9 years old."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

UNBELIEVABLE DRIVING CAR

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: BOUGHT A NEWER ES350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS WAS THE 3RD ES I 'VE OWNED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR WITH 58K MILES. I DROVE IT FOR 3 YEARS AND SOLD IT WITH 197K MILES. IT RAN AS GODD AT THE END AS IT DID AT THE BEGINNING. IN 3 YEARS I REPLACED 1 SET OF TIRES, 1 TIMING BELT AND 1 SET OF BRAKES. OH, AND IT GOT 30 MPG ON THE HIGHWAY!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Every thing great. I love it!!!!!

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "powerful, fun to drive."

Cons: "More air condition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I fell in love!!! By default I drove the Lexus. The joke was on me!!! I will never drive another model. Very smooth ride. Low maintenance. Everything about my Lexus is great. You name it, it's great!!!!!"

Looks, feels like new 6 yrs later!!

By on Wednesday, December 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Feels like new; reliable; looks great"

Cons: "The new car smell is gone :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I do preventative maintenance. Car has been very reliable and looks great. Doesn't have all the electronics and cutsey items my 99 Seville had and it was getting old at 100,000 miles/ 8yrs. The 05 ES330 still feels new. A minimal amount of wear on the drivers seat, a few self inflicted scratches, couple parking lot scrapes - that's it. Changed the drive belts, tranny oil, new battery / tires and it rides 'perfect'. Luv the Lexus."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Overall, a disappointing vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Previously owned a LS400, best vehicle I have owned in 50 yrs of driving. The ES is an entirely disappointing comedown. A Toyota Avalon would have been a better and cheaper choice. In the last few years have replaced water pump, $650 struts X4, battery, starter, power steering, ect. Poor exterior paint, has chipped and blistered despite being continually garaged."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Smooth, reliable car; faulty interior components

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Smooth and reliable"

Cons: "Window motors, radio, sunroof all replaced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I have had this car for 6 years and the engine runs great with little or no issues. The issues are with the very pricey interior components. I have had all 4 window motors die and my sunroof had also needed repair. My radio (which cannot be separately replaced) and amplifier have also needed replacement. Again, smooth and reliable car but the features that you would expect in a Lexus have let me down."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Essentially 9 years of maintenence free operation.

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car when it was one year old. Replaced one sensor the entire term of ownership ( which was covered by warranty). Just change the oil every 5k ( synthetic), tires, blades as needed and regular gas to boot. Perfect vehicle for the wife...key in ignition, engage transmission into drive and go, worry free."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

WoW !!! What a car !!!

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Does everything well. Fit, finish, comfort"

Cons: "If pushed for a negative... mediocre gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best that I have owned in my 43 year driving history. Solid, stable driving. Very comfortable and roomy for the driver and passenger. So-so gas mileage (17.6 mixed use, mostly stop and go) After having this car for 4 years, I'm a Lexus "lifer""

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Friday, November 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, drivability, gas mileage"

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for three years and I couldn't be more pleased. It runs like a dream and and the comfort level is tops."

Best vehicle I have owned. Never a problem.

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cup holders are the only issue I have with this car. Everything else is really nice. I mean really nice!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details