Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 270 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Excellent Buy

By on Monday, August 09, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought my 02 es300 in March of 09 w/ only 52k on it...now has 80k on it and nothing has changed since i bought it (except that i need tires) This car is extremely comfortable and very good looking.....I always get compliments on it and people think it's an 06 or 07 because of the awesome styling. This car is very reliable, but also luxurious as well! I would absolutely recommend this car to anyone and I hope that my next car is a lexus es..maybe a new one!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Auto

By on Sunday, July 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our Lexus 2 yrs. ago with 80k on it. It was the best $9k I've ever spent. Have 140k on it now and have done nothing to it. I've been looking at new cars, but the wife doesn't want to give it up - unless its for a newer Lexus..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

"Adequate transportation"

By on Friday, May 21, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Wonderful car - no problems - drives and run great"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

ES330

By on Friday, February 26, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car new. The transmission from the start acted funny. At 5000 miles I took it back to the dealer who changed the oil and told me it was my fault. They had reset the computer and all would be fine. At 10000 miles took it back for another $100 oil change and complained about the transmission again. They said it was the way I drove. They said they reset the computer and all would be okay. Not! I have had instances in intersections where I must get out of the way quickly that the car did not nothing when I pushed on the accelerator. I had to "pedal" it in order to get out of the way of the oncoming cars. Took it back for 15000 mile checkup, was told it would $350 this time. I said no thanks and left. I have had to live with this for five years now. But, I do have the knowledge now that I am not alone. The same problem exists in many other cars. Oh, for $350 I would get an oil change, air filter change and a cabin air filter changed.... what a deal."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Luxury Car!!

By on Wednesday, October 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a used 2003 ES 300 in November 2008, and LOVE the car. It has smooth handling and a very quiet ride. The wood accents are classy, and the entire interior design is fantastic. The seats are so comfortable, the 7 hour drive to the in-laws is even enjoyable! I had warranty work on the catalytic converters at 69,000 miles. The customer service at a Lexus dealer is pampering to say the least. I highly recommend the Lexus brand and dealerships."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not one problem in six years!

By on Friday, June 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We've owned our 2003 ES 300 for six years. No one single issue -- nothing, nada! Highway gas mileage is right around 30 mpg. Both drivers are tall and long-legged, and the car fits us very comfortably. Only one issue -- in the winter when the car is very cold, it can be noisy. Something about the leather -- it has to warm up a bit. We love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my Lexus ES 330! Not only is it a great vehicle for the family (with plenty of room) but it is a sturdy vehicle. I was in a terrible 6 car pile up and walked away with no injuries. My car is totalled but I am so grateful! I am definately going back to Lexus!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

some issues

By on Monday, August 04, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've owned other Lexus' in the past and did not have the problems I've had with this one. The door lock motors and window motors have gone out all the way around after only 3.5 years. Those things should last a lot longer. I like the ride but the acceleration lags a bit. Overall reliability is excellent."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Thursday, July 31, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i've had this vehicle for around 65000 miles and is a great car. best ive ever seen."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The 2003 ES 300

By on Sunday, July 06, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I test drove this car today. Stopped by the dealers used car lot to look at an Altima and a Camry. Then the salesman showed me this car. At first I thought that I'd be taking a step back with a 2003, but apparently in 2003, Lexus was WAAAAAAY ahead of Toyota, Honda, Nissan,...etc.! WOW!!! Quiet engine, smooth and quiet ride (no road noise), extremely comfortable and it just drowns you in luxury. For my very first Lexus experience, I have to say I was blown away! Unfortunately, I still don't believe I can afford to buy it, but even though it's a 2003 with ONLY 46000 miles, they still slapped a 3 year 100,000 mile warranty (practically bumper to bumper) on it! Who does that!!! Oh, and when you turn it in for maintenance, you get a free loaner to drive. Good grief! I've been car shopping for a few weeks now and this is by far the best offer yet! I sooooooo need to win the lottery! If you can afford one, don't hesitate!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

never a problem!

By on Tuesday, June 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of extras (cooled seats, sunshade, etc)"

Cons: "Price, cup holders very shallow (not overly stable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is by FAR the most reliable car I have ever had. I keep the regular maintenance schedule, and the only thing I have had to replace is tires and battery. And the maintenance is reasonably priced (unlike the German cars). Very comfortable car and smooth ride."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

No new car EXCITES me as much as this one!

By on Sunday, May 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful to Drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a dream to own, drive and care for. The navigation system is easy, intuitive and flawless. Dashboard is simple and easy to use. I love it and would drive it another ten years if I can."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent, Clean Car

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Clean, Very good condition, No accident"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car for one to purchase"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car - nice ride, very reliable

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, very reliable, nice interior"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car used about 4 years ago. So far, we put 60k miles on the car and have just had to maintain the car with oil changes, new tires and a new timing belt. It will probably go forever. We looked at newer models and they don't have the same luxury that the 2006 has - more wood interior and air-conditioned seats. It has held up remarkably well."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love it!!!

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything!!!"

Cons: "the price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth ride, great quality, no repair problems, totally luxurious"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my es 330

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth handling, love the interior"

Cons: "2004 model no bluetooth nor ipod adapters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the car, plan to drive it until 200,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe and smooth ride."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One comfortable and reliable car. Clean and smooth drive. This is the only type I will ever have."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle i ever owned! Handles well any situat

By on Thursday, May 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles well in any situation!"

Cons: "Getting rid of it for a new one. Hard to part with"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ride a bull, go skydiving, own this car! Best ride and handling of any car ive owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car i owned so far ( 7 cars before it)

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is one of the best cars i drove so far. It is so comfortable although it had over 170000 mile on it. I am looking to sell it and upgrade to the 2012 version. I always trust Lexus and always will."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love the Ride!

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Lexus

"This is the best car I ever owned. I enjoy the comfortableness of the ride. The heated seats are the best in the winter."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Lexus

Great Car. would buy it again.

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "wonderful overall"

Cons: "Cup holders not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car for our 40th wedding anniversary in 2002. We couldn't be happier. No problems whatsoever but we do maintain per manufacturer's specs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A superior product!!

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super performance, great pick-up, very reliable"

Cons: "no iPod plug-in; installed Sirius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Lexus; I owned the first one for 10 years and had absolutely no hesitancy in buying the second Lexus. They're simply top-notch. One minor point - have had a bit of a "coughling" when shifting fm 3rd to 4th but dealer unable to locate and correct."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love the drive

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price"

Cons: "Selling it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very nice and looks good in silver!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "classy, good fuel mileage(reg or premium), comfort"

Cons: "front cup holdres tend to tip on tight turns."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"50,000 miles on a 2005 ES 330 and I hate to sell/trade it but it's going out of warranty. The only possible drawback is a slight hesitation at low speed as it shifts from a standing start."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals