Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2005 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 225 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

best

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've owned."

Just outstanding, even after 10 years.

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lasts and lasts and lasts without issues."

Cons: "Kinda pricey when new."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very well made, plenty of power and comfort. Heated seats are da bomb. Mechanically ultra reliable, no issues at all. Decent fuel economy, 22 in town, 29 on hwy. May keep this another ten years."

Good car

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives well, nice luxury and looks good."

Cons: "mileage could be a little better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife has had the car over three years and bought it from a side dealership. It is fully loaded with Navigation, sunroof etc. We travel to NY at least twice a year and the car drives well. We only take it to the dealership for oil changes and I have a side mechanic to take care of everything else. The car has over 240,000 miles on it. I would have to say that we just paid it off and I can see we could drive the car for at least another 100,000 miles. The quality of this car is great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This was the best car I ever purchased.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, comfortable, easy to drive."

Cons: "2003 needs an ignition key."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I decided to purchase a Lexus when I rode in someone else's on a 1-hour freeway trip. This is the very best auto I had ever owned. I also purchased one in 2010. That, too, is the best I've ever owned. Both are ES. The comfort, the reliability, the performance are all quality standards. If I need, I will purchase another ES, for certain."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love it!!!

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything!!!"

Cons: "the price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth ride, great quality, no repair problems, totally luxurious"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome reliability and comfort

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth driving, good handling, sharp look"

Cons: "it is not a Masserati"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car has experienced a lot of freeway commuter travel. It has been dependable and a pleasure to drive. It is quite to drive, handles well and offers good acceleration, as needed. It is comfortable, spaciousness, has a good sound system and has offered outstanding reliability. Overall, great car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"great car when first purchased had issue with the tires but got corrected quickly. We don't drive much since this is now 2rd car in family of 2"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my es 330

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth handling, love the interior"

Cons: "2004 model no bluetooth nor ipod adapters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the car, plan to drive it until 200,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful, comfortable ride"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from a friend in 2004, it had 25,000 miles. I have spent very little in repairs and use regular gasoline, unless going on a trip - i.e. freeway driving. It has a "gold package" and is beautiful. I love the car and would buy it again!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe and smooth ride."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One comfortable and reliable car. Clean and smooth drive. This is the only type I will ever have."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Pleasure to drive

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used and have put 160,000 miles on it in 5 years. I spend a lot of time driving on the highway, and this car has the pickup and comfort that make my commute bearable. I average around 26-28 mpg, but the handling and comfort I gain make it a worthwhile compromise."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Lexus

By on Sunday, November 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,214

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "outstand car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I ever own in 10 years of driving I only place the starter and tires. They make the best car I have every own. I just Got my 2013 Lexus and did not trade my 03. I drive the 03 every day no problems."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great driving, love sunroof, heated seats

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "heated seats, cold air, great comfort, smooth ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Heated seats!Smooth riding,very comfortable,perfect size for parking,highway driving,local driving,sunroof. I love this car! Leather interior, cold air,dual control.6cd disk,cassette and radio. Spacious,large trunk,good storage pockets inside each door, glove box and between bucket seats. A/C control for backseat passengers. Theft security system.Remote entry/lock/trunk/unlock."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing quality

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe, luxurious, appealing design"

Cons: "Slightly underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2003 model, but everyone thinks that it is newer than that. For a 10 year old car, it drives better than most new cars on the market today. Styling on the outside and inside are classy and timeless, perfect entry-level luxury car. Soft blue head lights are a nice feature. Minor touches throughout like a chrome tipped exhaust make it look more expensive than it is. Inside, there is plenty of room up front although rear seat room can be tight if the seats are pushed all the way back. Charcoal leather and light gray roof/pillars are an appealing combo. Best part is the California Redwood trim, very high quality. All the amenities you'd expect in a luxury car. The only drawback is the acceleration.. although its flawless and very reliable, it is a bit under-powered. Lexus corrected this for 2004 by putting a 3.3 liter engine in instead of a 3.0 liter. Pedal to the floor if merging on highways on an incline. Otherwise there's sufficient power. Overall, if you want a car that looks good, retains its value, is comfortable and reliable to the point you'll never have to think about it, this is the car. Lexus cars are the best"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

never had a problem, love it!

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent power, gold package, easy handling"

Cons: "NONE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent tires, brakes, battery. exterior is very good as is the interior. my spouse wants me to have a new car even though I can drive this car for at least 8 to 10 more years. all maintenance records"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Comfortable, drives excellent, looks classy

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned. Easy to maneuver. Rides smooth despite the mileage. For an 11 year old car it does not feel old. Design is sleek. Silver is a classic color with black leather interior and wood accents on dash board and panels."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle i ever owned! Handles well any situat

By on Thursday, May 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles well in any situation!"

Cons: "Getting rid of it for a new one. Hard to part with"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ride a bull, go skydiving, own this car! Best ride and handling of any car ive owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Had it since 2008! My first car!

By on Saturday, April 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price, interior features, quiet engine"

Cons: "electric. repairs run high,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car in August of 2008 when I came back from my first deployment. I was going to buy a 2006 Lexus, but the salesman helped me compare the 2002 Lexus and 2006 Lexus ES sedan models which both had the SAME features except one was newer. I am SO glad I bought this car. It has been very good to me. I have taken this car cross country around 8 times and never had a problem. I also drive a lot on the weekends and it has held up well.The only thing that has happened was that the electrical gas pedal went out and I had no warranty on my car which cost me about $500. Recently it needed a throttle clean because the car would start, but then turn back off if I didn't keep pushing down on the gas pedal. I like the features it holds because for it has leather seats that warm up, the moon roof, and nice cherry wood interior. I hope this car lasts me for another couple of years!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I ever had. Very reliable

By on Saturday, March 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car. I never used it for racing."

Cons: "Two blind spots. I compensated for that."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only expense I incurred is for the routine maintenance. In eight years of ownership, I have never raised the hood. I don't know what the engine loo like. I had a lexus, now I have a lexus and I am buying a new lexus.."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car and great value.

By on Friday, November 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good on gas and comfortable to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will probably keep it for another 100,000 miles. I bought it used with 25,000 miles and it runs as good as the day I bought it."

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Sunday, September 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very smooth drive, I Love everything about this car! Although ONE complaint and only one..... my headlights have a yellow tint inside the plastic saw another car (same year and type) had the same thing. But the car overall is great!!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Perfect car

By on Sunday, September 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car, never fail on me"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved driving this car

By on Thursday, July 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Shear delight and comfort."

Cons: "100,000 miles the engine started burning oil."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I loved driving this car. It's very comfortable for long trips, and handles very nicely. My best milage was average 29 MPG/ hwy driving. I had the leather seats, moonroof, and nav system. My disappointment was that at 100,000 miles it started burning oil. I did all my services and felt I took good care of the car and for that I expected the engine to last a lot longer. love you Lexus, but I doubly I by another one."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very Comfortable

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfy"

Cons: "Dark interior shows dust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle and driven over 30000 in 18 months through Az and SoCal. Performed flawlessly, very comfortable, reliable, and a pleasure to drive. I recommend this vehicle."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

very reliable worth every penny

By on Sunday, May 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride , low maintenance costs"

Cons: "paint , scrathes easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2005 es 330 in 2010 with 87000 miles and now have 122500. It has only required regular maintenance and those costs were minimum.After owning two bmw's that's a pleasure, i absolutely love this vehicle it still rides like a new car probably better than most. I will only buy lexus from now on."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals