Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 249 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Regular gas- good mileage"

Cons: "No built in GPS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never needed a repair except once which was under warranty!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "steering, drive, handling, interior , sound, style"

Cons: "exterior design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car i have ever driven. It is stylissh with a flare of luxury in every move. Sleek interior even though the exterior in minimally lacking. A lacking exterior doesnt take away from the fact that this car is i na class of its own. It makes you know that you have a quality car, in the way it turns, accellerates, and takes bumps in the road. Not even newer cars made today such as the 14 malibu, Kia, Camrys and or any American made car for that matter cant compare to the ride the LExus gives you. The japanese really nailed it in the ES line. I LOVE IT, and would NEVER drive ANYTHING else."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Near luxury Toyota

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, with 4 cyl mpg when needed."

Cons: "No smart phone hook up, bluetooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 5 speed automatic will hunt if you use anything other than Premium fuel. Remember you are driving a Lexus not a Camry! I use a K&N air filter and this helped the throttle response also, every eight tanks of gas I put in a bottle of Seafoam or Slick 50 fuel treatment. Throttle response is tremendous when using the above products. Running synthetic oil will give you better mileage and performance too. I have the transmission fluid changed at the Valvoline Instant Oil Change every 30K miles which results in silky smooth operation. The Navigation is a bit tricky but I got a class when I was out of town at the Lexus dealer after an oil change for free. On pure highway driving I get 28 to 32 mpg. Just depends on altitude, summer or winter blend gas, running the A/C and if I'm going over 80 mph. The reliability is unmatched, comfort, good power when needed and I've driven this in every type of weather with no issues. I've got the old Michelin X All Season tires that have got me thru everything but I know my MPG has suffered a bit due to the attained traction. I a prefer traction and a quiet ride. It is not a 5 series, E Class or A6 so it will not stop as soon, get up to speed as fast, corner tighter than the Germans but the bottom line "NEVER BREAKS" and maintenance is cheap! I know I've owned them all and when you get to my age I rather spend my money on other things than on German unscheduled maintenance. Learned my lesson and I will only buy Japanese luxury which is superior to "my" wallet."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car - nice ride, very reliable

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, very reliable, nice interior"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car used about 4 years ago. So far, we put 60k miles on the car and have just had to maintain the car with oil changes, new tires and a new timing belt. It will probably go forever. We looked at newer models and they don't have the same luxury that the 2006 has - more wood interior and air-conditioned seats. It has held up remarkably well."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Loved this car from the 1st moment!

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Practically everything about this car is a "pro""

Cons: "no bluetooth or navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car the first moment I sat in it, and it has been the greatest car I ever owned. Pearl white, light grey interior, great pick-up, fabulously cushy ride! everything in it has held up nearly-perfectly for over 12 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love My Car

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worry Free Luxury Driving Experience"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my car since 2005, it is the best. I love the worry free pleasure of driving a Lexus. It's getting to be about the time for me to trade in for another car. Very little maintenance needed the entire time I've driven the car and reasonably priced maintenance. You can't afford not to at least experience the drive of a Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2004 Lexus

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride, looks, comfort, low maintenanc, reliability,"

Cons: "not too good in a snow storm"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for its ride and maintainability. Not great in the snow otherwise I really got my money's worth on this car."

solid vehicle, safe and secure

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, safe, secure"

Cons: "navigation system, acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Lexus ES 330 is an amazing vehicle. Comfortable, secure, and safe. There are two issues. The navigation system is way too complicated. I use my iPhone and also have a Garmin portable for backup. To be fair, it is an "05. My second criticism, when you put the hammer down, it takes about 2 seconds for it to kick in. This has been a little dicey at times if you need to move quickly. The dealer said that's just the way it is. I don't think so nor does my mechanic think so as well. I've driven much lesser cars that have immediate acceleration."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I LUV this car!!!!

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles beautifully, luxurious comfort"

Cons: "Trunk is large, but trunk access is limiting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this car since I first test drove it -- the comfort, ergonomics, handling, sound system, looks. I hope I never have to own anything but a Lexus ever again. Have never driven a more solid, quiet vehicle. Seat warmers AND coolers. Multi-disc player for audio books. Long road trips are a snap because this car is sooooo comfortable."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

beautiful car

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth on the road"

Cons: "cabin air filter needed to be changed frequently"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"loved this car, the styling, and it needed so little maintenance and repair costs were low"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals