Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2004 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 253 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Reliable car with a smooth ride

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride and reliability"

Cons: "Alloy wheels can dent and/or leak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No doubt Toyota/Lexus make very reliable cars. This ES300 model has had nothing but routine maintenance completed. It has been economical to own and a pleasure to drive. It has done performed well in the Northeast in all weather conditions with All Season tires. It rides like you are on a cloud. Gas mileage is reasonable at 20-22mpg in mixed driving on regular fuel. Only shortcomings are perhaps underpowered and the alloy wheels are prone to rim leaks. Otherwise, a superb automobile and a great used car to purchase."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This IS my best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great visibility all round, extremely comfortable"

Cons: "Never could get the incar remote buttons working."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 2001 Lexus and loved it, but this one has exceeded my expectations. Other than oil changes, tires, and brakes, the only unusual item was replacing one of the under-panels that I'd damaged. Mileage in the city is 18 mph and 25 on the highway. It has provided a comfortable and worry-free ride for over 5 years and 70,0000 miles. I highly recommend this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car. Exceeded my expectations.

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2003 Lexus has been reliable, comfortable, easy to drive and offers a smooth ride. I truly hate to part with it but my sales job requires that I get a new car. Otherwise, I would keep this awesome and dependable auto!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned. Steady on the road.

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun features: sun roof, compass, cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable inside. Minimal road noise, quiet engine. Ride is very smooth and comfortable. Heating is very good in cold weather. Air-conditioning works very well in warm weather. The only other cars I have owned that came close to its performance was my Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme and my Volvo. It is reliable in all weather and road conditions. I highly recommend the Lexus ES300 model. This manufacture year, 2002, was an especially good year for this model Lexus."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "No usable cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Glad I bought this car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

An outstanding car!!!

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable, Stylish"

Cons: "Keys are expensive to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Lexus is 12 years old and is still going strong. Minimal repairs have been needed - basically just upkeep costs. People can't believe that it is 12 years old. I have the "sparkly" white paint which very rarely looks dirty. The interior is beautiful. This car is the best investment I have ever made. You can never go wrong buying a Lexus. A great brand."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great quality all around"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car 9 years ago and it is still quiet, dependable and comfortable. My requirements for a car are good handling and turning radius, good acceleration when needed, large trunk, comfortable seats with lumbar support, and good sound system. It has all of these. The only reason I didn't score it 10/10 is gas mileage, but it is an excellent car all around, well built, great on the details"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excelent condition

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great price, low mileage, completely clean, white"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car not used in the winter (Except occasional drive) since I spent all the winters out of town."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Drove Volvos before Lexus. This Lexus is best !

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has had all suggested service by dealer. It has NEVER had a problem. I have loved it. It was important to me as an elderly woman to have a safe reliable car. This is it!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned. Will drive it forever

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome vehicle - best purchase of my lifetime."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Comfortble, reliable and sound

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have not sold or traded this vehicle earlier because I never found one I liked better. Just turned age 80 and want to buy one more new one before I croak. The car is black with almond interior, I added tint to the glass and had it totally detailed a year ago, One scratch on the trunk and another on the rearbumper - otherwise it is in great shape, routine service records available."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

excellent only problem I ever had was alternator

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks good dependable no problems"

Cons: "alternator gave out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"fine car service good would highly recommend it"

The best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"170,000 miles and still running without a single major repair. Tires, brakes and oil. Comfortable on long rides great handling."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, gorgeous interior, nice handling"

Cons: "I have not encountered any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my es 330! This car has been extremely reliable and easy to maintain. I love how smooth the ride is while traveling and in the city, and the cabin seals out road noise wonderfully. The interior is extremely attractive, comfortable, and the controls are user friendly. The ride on this sedan is extremely smooth and it handles well. Overall, I am very satisfied with the purchase and ownership of this vehicle!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Regular gas- good mileage"

Cons: "No built in GPS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never needed a repair except once which was under warranty!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "steering, drive, handling, interior , sound, style"

Cons: "exterior design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car i have ever driven. It is stylissh with a flare of luxury in every move. Sleek interior even though the exterior in minimally lacking. A lacking exterior doesnt take away from the fact that this car is i na class of its own. It makes you know that you have a quality car, in the way it turns, accellerates, and takes bumps in the road. Not even newer cars made today such as the 14 malibu, Kia, Camrys and or any American made car for that matter cant compare to the ride the LExus gives you. The japanese really nailed it in the ES line. I LOVE IT, and would NEVER drive ANYTHING else."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Near luxury Toyota

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, with 4 cyl mpg when needed."

Cons: "No smart phone hook up, bluetooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 5 speed automatic will hunt if you use anything other than Premium fuel. Remember you are driving a Lexus not a Camry! I use a K&N air filter and this helped the throttle response also, every eight tanks of gas I put in a bottle of Seafoam or Slick 50 fuel treatment. Throttle response is tremendous when using the above products. Running synthetic oil will give you better mileage and performance too. I have the transmission fluid changed at the Valvoline Instant Oil Change every 30K miles which results in silky smooth operation. The Navigation is a bit tricky but I got a class when I was out of town at the Lexus dealer after an oil change for free. On pure highway driving I get 28 to 32 mpg. Just depends on altitude, summer or winter blend gas, running the A/C and if I'm going over 80 mph. The reliability is unmatched, comfort, good power when needed and I've driven this in every type of weather with no issues. I've got the old Michelin X All Season tires that have got me thru everything but I know my MPG has suffered a bit due to the attained traction. I a prefer traction and a quiet ride. It is not a 5 series, E Class or A6 so it will not stop as soon, get up to speed as fast, corner tighter than the Germans but the bottom line "NEVER BREAKS" and maintenance is cheap! I know I've owned them all and when you get to my age I rather spend my money on other things than on German unscheduled maintenance. Learned my lesson and I will only buy Japanese luxury which is superior to "my" wallet."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car - nice ride, very reliable

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, very reliable, nice interior"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car used about 4 years ago. So far, we put 60k miles on the car and have just had to maintain the car with oil changes, new tires and a new timing belt. It will probably go forever. We looked at newer models and they don't have the same luxury that the 2006 has - more wood interior and air-conditioned seats. It has held up remarkably well."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Loved this car from the 1st moment!

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Practically everything about this car is a "pro""

Cons: "no bluetooth or navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car the first moment I sat in it, and it has been the greatest car I ever owned. Pearl white, light grey interior, great pick-up, fabulously cushy ride! everything in it has held up nearly-perfectly for over 12 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love My Car

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worry Free Luxury Driving Experience"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my car since 2005, it is the best. I love the worry free pleasure of driving a Lexus. It's getting to be about the time for me to trade in for another car. Very little maintenance needed the entire time I've driven the car and reasonably priced maintenance. You can't afford not to at least experience the drive of a Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2004 Lexus

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride, looks, comfort, low maintenanc, reliability,"

Cons: "not too good in a snow storm"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for its ride and maintainability. Not great in the snow otherwise I really got my money's worth on this car."

solid vehicle, safe and secure

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, safe, secure"

Cons: "navigation system, acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Lexus ES 330 is an amazing vehicle. Comfortable, secure, and safe. There are two issues. The navigation system is way too complicated. I use my iPhone and also have a Garmin portable for backup. To be fair, it is an "05. My second criticism, when you put the hammer down, it takes about 2 seconds for it to kick in. This has been a little dicey at times if you need to move quickly. The dealer said that's just the way it is. I don't think so nor does my mechanic think so as well. I've driven much lesser cars that have immediate acceleration."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I LUV this car!!!!

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles beautifully, luxurious comfort"

Cons: "Trunk is large, but trunk access is limiting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this car since I first test drove it -- the comfort, ergonomics, handling, sound system, looks. I hope I never have to own anything but a Lexus ever again. Have never driven a more solid, quiet vehicle. Seat warmers AND coolers. Multi-disc player for audio books. Long road trips are a snap because this car is sooooo comfortable."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

beautiful car

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth on the road"

Cons: "cabin air filter needed to be changed frequently"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"loved this car, the styling, and it needed so little maintenance and repair costs were low"

Love it

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dependable. Luxurious ride."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals