Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2003 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 262 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

BEST CAR I EVER OWNED!

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, comfy, safe, reliable"

Cons: "A little under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These engineers thought of everything. Didn't miss a trick. Rides like a dream. Great sound system. Super comfortable. Good GPS. Reliable. What's not to like? Oh, one minor thing... it's a bit underpowered. But then it's a luxury car and 0-60 is irrelevant. Oh and the local Lexus dealer is a bit of a rip off when it comes to service."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

total value and reliability

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort and reliability"

Cons: "trunk space and the back seat does not fold down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable, comfortable and economical. Own the car for the past 6 years no problems what so ever. Just regular maintenance, breaks and belts.it wears the front tires much faster than the back due to the front drive and the weight of the engine. very smooth ride and comfortable on long trips. I would recommend this car as a best value for the price overall."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"VERY GOOD CAR"

great mid-sized car and no major problems 7years

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just a perfect car and still looks good for an 03 year"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

very good car!

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it drives perfect even in the snow!"

Cons: "double cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car it works perfectly good!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable and quiet ride

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,285

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Smooth quiet ride, reliable, quality leather"

Cons: "Occasional hesitation when accelerating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the 3rd owner of this vehicle. I purchased it with approximately 138,000 miles on it from a traveling salesman. Reading the reviews prior to purchasing gave me confidence that it would be reliable. He had all service performed at a Lexus dealer and I was able to obtain a copy of it. In almost 4 years of ownership, I have put 62k miles on the vehicle without a single repair. (only required maintenance and front brakes) I do sometimes have the slight hesitation issue and hard shift some people complain about. For me it seems to happen sometimes if I accelerate slowly. If I accelerate normal to fast it will not ever hesitate and shift smooth as silk. Since I have all the records I know the transmission has never needed repair. I have read that it may have something to do with the “drive-by-wire” system it uses. Anyway, mine has never put us in a dangerous situation. One of the best things about the vehicle is the very smooth and quiet ride. However, I did notice an increase in tire noise when I went to a less expensive brand of tires. My recommendation is to stay with Michelin for the quietest ride. In my opinion if you can find one that’s been well maintained, I wouldn’t hesitate to buy it. I am hoping to get another 100k and 5 years out of mine."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable - - top notch

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Trouble free, easy to drive, totally reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has never let me down. The only regret I have is that I purchased a "black" lexus - hard for me to keep it clean - but when it's clean - looks rich. It has never left me stranded."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

MINT CONDITION

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"one owner bought from dealer show room driven by professional women non smoking garaged kept car has been professionally maintained peril white exterior beige interior must see by appointment only"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All the best qualities an owner would want in a car. I did not have all the extra options that would make the car an even better value."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Reliable car with a smooth ride

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride and reliability"

Cons: "Alloy wheels can dent and/or leak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No doubt Toyota/Lexus make very reliable cars. This ES300 model has had nothing but routine maintenance completed. It has been economical to own and a pleasure to drive. It has done performed well in the Northeast in all weather conditions with All Season tires. It rides like you are on a cloud. Gas mileage is reasonable at 20-22mpg in mixed driving on regular fuel. Only shortcomings are perhaps underpowered and the alloy wheels are prone to rim leaks. Otherwise, a superb automobile and a great used car to purchase."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals