Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2002 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 241 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

The best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"170,000 miles and still running without a single major repair. Tires, brakes and oil. Comfortable on long rides great handling."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, gorgeous interior, nice handling"

Cons: "I have not encountered any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my es 330! This car has been extremely reliable and easy to maintain. I love how smooth the ride is while traveling and in the city, and the cabin seals out road noise wonderfully. The interior is extremely attractive, comfortable, and the controls are user friendly. The ride on this sedan is extremely smooth and it handles well. Overall, I am very satisfied with the purchase and ownership of this vehicle!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Regular gas- good mileage"

Cons: "No built in GPS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never needed a repair except once which was under warranty!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "steering, drive, handling, interior , sound, style"

Cons: "exterior design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car i have ever driven. It is stylissh with a flare of luxury in every move. Sleek interior even though the exterior in minimally lacking. A lacking exterior doesnt take away from the fact that this car is i na class of its own. It makes you know that you have a quality car, in the way it turns, accellerates, and takes bumps in the road. Not even newer cars made today such as the 14 malibu, Kia, Camrys and or any American made car for that matter cant compare to the ride the LExus gives you. The japanese really nailed it in the ES line. I LOVE IT, and would NEVER drive ANYTHING else."

Near luxury Toyota

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, with 4 cyl mpg when needed."

Cons: "No smart phone hook up, bluetooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 5 speed automatic will hunt if you use anything other than Premium fuel. Remember you are driving a Lexus not a Camry! I use a K&N air filter and this helped the throttle response also, every eight tanks of gas I put in a bottle of Seafoam or Slick 50 fuel treatment. Throttle response is tremendous when using the above products. Running synthetic oil will give you better mileage and performance too. I have the transmission fluid changed at the Valvoline Instant Oil Change every 30K miles which results in silky smooth operation. The Navigation is a bit tricky but I got a class when I was out of town at the Lexus dealer after an oil change for free. On pure highway driving I get 28 to 32 mpg. Just depends on altitude, summer or winter blend gas, running the A/C and if I'm going over 80 mph. The reliability is unmatched, comfort, good power when needed and I've driven this in every type of weather with no issues. I've got the old Michelin X All Season tires that have got me thru everything but I know my MPG has suffered a bit due to the attained traction. I a prefer traction and a quiet ride. It is not a 5 series, E Class or A6 so it will not stop as soon, get up to speed as fast, corner tighter than the Germans but the bottom line "NEVER BREAKS" and maintenance is cheap! I know I've owned them all and when you get to my age I rather spend my money on other things than on German unscheduled maintenance. Learned my lesson and I will only buy Japanese luxury which is superior to "my" wallet."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car - nice ride, very reliable

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, very reliable, nice interior"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car used about 4 years ago. So far, we put 60k miles on the car and have just had to maintain the car with oil changes, new tires and a new timing belt. It will probably go forever. We looked at newer models and they don't have the same luxury that the 2006 has - more wood interior and air-conditioned seats. It has held up remarkably well."

Loved this car from the 1st moment!

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Practically everything about this car is a "pro""

Cons: "no bluetooth or navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car the first moment I sat in it, and it has been the greatest car I ever owned. Pearl white, light grey interior, great pick-up, fabulously cushy ride! everything in it has held up nearly-perfectly for over 12 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love My Car

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worry Free Luxury Driving Experience"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my car since 2005, it is the best. I love the worry free pleasure of driving a Lexus. It's getting to be about the time for me to trade in for another car. Very little maintenance needed the entire time I've driven the car and reasonably priced maintenance. You can't afford not to at least experience the drive of a Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2004 Lexus

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride, looks, comfort, low maintenanc, reliability,"

Cons: "not too good in a snow storm"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for its ride and maintainability. Not great in the snow otherwise I really got my money's worth on this car."

solid vehicle, safe and secure

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, safe, secure"

Cons: "navigation system, acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Lexus ES 330 is an amazing vehicle. Comfortable, secure, and safe. There are two issues. The navigation system is way too complicated. I use my iPhone and also have a Garmin portable for backup. To be fair, it is an "05. My second criticism, when you put the hammer down, it takes about 2 seconds for it to kick in. This has been a little dicey at times if you need to move quickly. The dealer said that's just the way it is. I don't think so nor does my mechanic think so as well. I've driven much lesser cars that have immediate acceleration."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I LUV this car!!!!

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles beautifully, luxurious comfort"

Cons: "Trunk is large, but trunk access is limiting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this car since I first test drove it -- the comfort, ergonomics, handling, sound system, looks. I hope I never have to own anything but a Lexus ever again. Have never driven a more solid, quiet vehicle. Seat warmers AND coolers. Multi-disc player for audio books. Long road trips are a snap because this car is sooooo comfortable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

beautiful car

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth on the road"

Cons: "cabin air filter needed to be changed frequently"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"loved this car, the styling, and it needed so little maintenance and repair costs were low"

Love it

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dependable. Luxurious ride."

I really enjoy this car

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,264

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really love this car, I'm in the market of buying a new car"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

showroom condition

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent car always garaged bareley ever seen snow low miles immaculate interior and exterior like new"

Wouldn't drive anything else!

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfy"

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Lexus!!! A very safe and dependable car."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Just outstanding, even after 10 years.

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lasts and lasts and lasts without issues."

Cons: "Kinda pricey when new."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very well made, plenty of power and comfort. Heated seats are da bomb. Mechanically ultra reliable, no issues at all. Decent fuel economy, 22 in town, 29 on hwy. May keep this another ten years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives well, nice luxury and looks good."

Cons: "mileage could be a little better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife has had the car over three years and bought it from a side dealership. It is fully loaded with Navigation, sunroof etc. We travel to NY at least twice a year and the car drives well. We only take it to the dealership for oil changes and I have a side mechanic to take care of everything else. The car has over 240,000 miles on it. I would have to say that we just paid it off and I can see we could drive the car for at least another 100,000 miles. The quality of this car is great."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This was the best car I ever purchased.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, comfortable, easy to drive."

Cons: "2003 needs an ignition key."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I decided to purchase a Lexus when I rode in someone else's on a 1-hour freeway trip. This is the very best auto I had ever owned. I also purchased one in 2010. That, too, is the best I've ever owned. Both are ES. The comfort, the reliability, the performance are all quality standards. If I need, I will purchase another ES, for certain."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

love it!!!

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything!!!"

Cons: "the price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Smooth ride, great quality, no repair problems, totally luxurious"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome reliability and comfort

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth driving, good handling, sharp look"

Cons: "it is not a Masserati"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car has experienced a lot of freeway commuter travel. It has been dependable and a pleasure to drive. It is quite to drive, handles well and offers good acceleration, as needed. It is comfortable, spaciousness, has a good sound system and has offered outstanding reliability. Overall, great car!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"great car when first purchased had issue with the tires but got corrected quickly. We don't drive much since this is now 2rd car in family of 2"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my es 330

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth handling, love the interior"

Cons: "2004 model no bluetooth nor ipod adapters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the car, plan to drive it until 200,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful, comfortable ride"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from a friend in 2004, it had 25,000 miles. I have spent very little in repairs and use regular gasoline, unless going on a trip - i.e. freeway driving. It has a "gold package" and is beautiful. I love the car and would buy it again!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals