Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2001 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 289 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Perfect Commuter Car

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great to drive everyday as a commuter or road trip"

Cons: "Looks like every other Japanese car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car with 80,000 miles for it on a deal. I have only had to do basic repairs for the six years I have owned it. The way it drives is excellent. The suspension is my favorite part of my car because I never feel any bumps on the road. The seats and sound system make a comfortable ride to and from work as easy as possible. The only downsize is the looks. It is not the prettiest car and is easily confused with other Japanese cars from the 90s. I do love this car!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very dependable

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Cup holders aren't too good, need better design. Nowhere to put anything, except floor. FYI- Anyone with sun roof... there should be drain holes on both sides, they are small but get clogged with leaves etc... Use very stiff wire to "ream" it out carefully. Mine goes all the way past the top of the doors. When you get it cleaned you will see water"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BMW is waaaaaaaay better

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "reliable, luxury dealership, prestige"

Cons: "noisy, basic, weak suspension, flimsy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"After owning two BMWs I decided to try something different and go with a Lexus, boy am I sorry I did that. Lexus and BMW are two different mindsets. Lexus is an inexpensive luxury car designed to be ultra-reliable. BMW is an expensive top of the line, ultra-luxury car designed to be exciting, fancy, and high performance. Economy is not part of the BMW design goal. That said, having owned BMW, Lexus feels like an economy car. I just hated it. It's loud with road noise, does not include many gadgets (BMW is positively bristling with gadgets and features), the suspension is weak, it has a crummy tiny gas tank, and the list goes on. If want you want is a nice car that's not too expensive and is ultra-reliable and cheap to maintain, a Lexus might be good for you. But if what you want, or have gotten used to, is the nicest car in the world that is fancy and high-performance, and you don't mind paying extra for that, then BMW wins with no contest. Lexus doesn't give you many gadgets and features because the more gadgets they give you, the more likely it is that one will break. Also I have found various weaknesses with the Lexus, like the struts are weak, the suspension bottoms out when the car is loaded with rear passengers, it gets lousy gas mileage (my much nicer BMW 5 gets 31mpg and my economy ES300 gets only 24mpg)."

1 person out of 16 found this review helpful

Great!

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very Enjoyable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

We bought this car brand new 13 years ago and it's

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"been the best car we've ever owned! Will definitely have another one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very dependable and fun to drive

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good pick up and comfortable."

Cons: "Seems like a little wind noise at higher speeds."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really like this car. Comfortable and fun to drive. Everything is laid out well and it has been extremely dependable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid and dependable

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Really fun to drive"

Cons: "cupholders are pointless, gas mileage not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for over a year and it has been a very reliable car with only minor mechanical issues. It is very comfortable to drive I love all of the extra's like the automatic lights the leather, sunroof ect- It's quiet and and sleek and it has a lot of power."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Family Car

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Realiable for a Family."

love it

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive and so comfy"

Cons: "no keyless entry; base is not strong enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"awesome"

unbelivable car

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "not worth noting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its power in cruise control is scary. same today as 1997"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful JAPANESE built import "J" VIN

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car!"

Best car I ever owned

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,260

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the moon roof, heated seats, and smooth ride."

Cons: "Expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Outstanding Service Department at dealer. Car still looks like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome even at 195000 miles!

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will always drive Toyota or Lexus! They never let me down!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vrhicle ever I owned.

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, good design, never tired of it."

Cons: "visibility,good handling driving."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, Very confortable, silent, very good driving and vsibility. The leader seats after 12 years still in very good shape. The cup holders do not hold the water botles well. I will buy another Lexus in the future."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great vehicle. i still get compliments!

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle. drives great. excellent value and reliability."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great history and comfort"

Cons: "cup holders too loose"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 10 years and I love it. Lots of comfort and convenience. Few challenges: The cupholders don't hold regular sized water bottles so drinks can spill easily."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the Best car ever

By on Monday, December 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, smooth, extremely low maintenance"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have had it since 1999, love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dependable and comfortable and gets good mileage

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "less than 20 mpg in the city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has always been reliable and comfortable. It's a great highway cruiser and gets mid 20's on the highway."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

first lexus

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ease of driving. controls are very easy to use."

Cons: "no heated front seat. cups fall out of the holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this automobile used from a reliable dealer on his recomendation and could not have been happier. If not for being given a more expensive cadillac I would drive this car forever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, handles very well, major comfort"

Cons: "Floor mats are price for replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. The reliability and handling are so far above all other cars I have owned it's amazing. I plan to give this car to my daughter (who is 8 years old) when she goes to college. This car is a keeper"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, reliable car - never had an issue

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, reliable."

Cons: "not sure..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car as pre-owned with 42k miles on it and had it for the last ten years. It is an outstandingly reliable car which actually gets decent gas mileage (we are getting about 28mpg ). Anyway, we are moving toward a newer model, but with a heavy heart!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In great condition

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Haven't had any problems with it"

Love this car, so much, I'm keeping it until 300K

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for all kinds of travel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2000 model. I've had minimal repairs done outside of the usual xxx mile checkups. After 168000 miles, it still feels like new. Just wish it still had only 10000 miles on it!"

Great Car

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drive it. You'll love it."

Cons: "Wish it got a couple of more miles per gallon."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my 1997 Lexus for 14 years and going to keep it until it dies. It has been the most reliable automobile I have ever owned. Regular oil changes and maintence keeps it running smoothly. One major repair has been the timing belt, but guess what it will probably out live me. I'm 65 years of age."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

this is the best car ever!!!

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very fun to drive and very comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car, minimum maintenence, had my lexus for 10 yrs and only thing that I have had to replace is the starter. Very good car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals