Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1998 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 290 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

I bought my 1997 pre-owned Lexus in 2000, Love it!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "pricey! Burt great quality...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The only thing I would improve is the seats to include a better lumbar support... I learned to never buy another silver or grey colored car! Other drivers don't see me."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very dependable

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Cup holders aren't too good, need better design. Nowhere to put anything, except floor. FYI- Anyone with sun roof... there should be drain holes on both sides, they are small but get clogged with leaves etc... Use very stiff wire to "ream" it out carefully. Mine goes all the way past the top of the doors. When you get it cleaned you will see water"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

first lexus

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ease of driving. controls are very easy to use."

Cons: "no heated front seat. cups fall out of the holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this automobile used from a reliable dealer on his recomendation and could not have been happier. If not for being given a more expensive cadillac I would drive this car forever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

this is the best car ever!!!

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very fun to drive and very comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car, minimum maintenence, had my lexus for 10 yrs and only thing that I have had to replace is the starter. Very good car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Sunday, October 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive. great style"

Cons: "bad cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. i plan on getting another as soon as this one gives out which is going to be a long time. 140000 miles and it is still running smoothly with no problems."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my car

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car has 245,000 miles...and still runs great!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I ever Owned!

By on Wednesday, June 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun and reliable"

Cons: "wish they would include GPS on all vehicles but $100 easy add on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car has 180k, I used to communte to work 80 miles per day and never had problem. Change the oil 3k and timing belt, brakes. 1 O2 sensor fail that is all. It drives great still. I purchased it used 40k and could not ever known that the vehicle had any miles. Handles as well as my former corvette and with wonderful ride and quiet that you cannot find in other vehicles. I had a BMW and well it was a baby. This is reliable and comfort. I will purchase another for the wife soon."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding 11 yr old!

By on Monday, February 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just replaced the timing belt and water pump, thermostat and spark plugs after 106K to make sure it will last me another 10 years. I bought this 2001 Es 300 in 2006 and will finally pay it off in Oct. 2011. I will keep it for at least 5-7 years and decide if I need a new car. For now, I am enjoying my 11 yr old "brand new" car immensely!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, December 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best value I've ever had in a car. It is extremely reliable and delivers you in comfort."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

third one and wont be the last

By on Monday, September 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"fantastic car this es 300 .had 2 ls 400.s before this loved em all although the 400s were much nicer the es is more than most other cars. smooth ride and best bells and whistles of most in its class. im hooked and would rather own a used lexus than almost any other new car. have over 100k and still no major problems only an ignition coil ($100) and battery in the 2 years i own it. cant beat that ...try one you will love it"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lovin' it!

By on Friday, April 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 98 ES300 off of a used car lot 12/06. I was a little sceptical but the test drive I took it out on won me completely over. I got onto the highway and was going 90mph in about 8 seconds! Talk about get up and suprised. Downside, LCD screen payed out a month or so after buying it however the cd changer/radio/cassette still work perfect. Leather on the front driver seat cracked a bit so now I use this leather softening and conditioning gel. Need to replace the sencors(87 bucks a pop and there are 4 I beleive). I bought it at 87,000 miles and I now have 124,000. I drive this car everywhere and feel very confident in it. I also rode passenger on a long trip and was suprised at how confortable the backs seats were. When I do go to buy a new car, I AM getting a Lexus. expensive but very much worth it!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good Value

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Our 97 Lexus did well for us. We bought it used. However, the electrical system seemed to be unreliable. Sometimes the fan would work for the heater/AC; the window mechanism broke and the CD player/radio needed to be replaced because it was shot. Also, the seat heater on both front seats went out! But other than the electrical, the car was great!. We ended up getting a different CD/radio system. We tore the doors apart and fixed the driver's side outside handle and window mechanism, OURSELVES, instead of paying the dealer $500!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car for price

By on Thursday, January 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my ES! It's quiet, comfortable, reliable and the best deal for the money. I have owned two since 1998 and will be purchasing a third by the end of 2008. A car like this deserves loyality."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

What a great car

By on Friday, December 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I found this car for half of the KBB and my gosh is it worth so much more then what it books for. This car was $35,000 new and it's still to this day worth every penny. Found this beautiful gem for $3900 and it now has 180,000 runs like the day it was made. (Lucas and Seafoam additives help). I will drive it till the wheels fall off! Love it!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

350ES

By on Thursday, December 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My wife and I have had this car for almost 19 months. It is our third Lexus and is proving to be the best of the three. Plenty of power, great styling inside and out, and no problems to speak of. We get compliments all the time. Several people have complained of the gas mileage but I check ours often and my wife gets 22 to 23 in town and we get 33 or better on the hwy. For 270 horspwer you can't get better. Great car all around and won't be our last Lexus."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Beats the rest

By on Monday, December 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this car for a couple of months now and it simply beats the competition.Value for money."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Car of Cars

By on Monday, November 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you are looking for a dependable, reliable, strong, and good all around vehicle. Well I would recomend purchasing this car. As far as crash test, no other car would I recomend. The old school hard unibody construction and a added plus of having rear wheel drive. you can not ask for more. And everyone that you look at will be fully loaded compared to other vehicles in the price range. Buy it you will love it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding Quality!

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Seems my 2004 Mercedes was in the shop every month, so in 2005 in purchased the ES330. After 38K miles in heavy driving, not a single problem. I traded up to the new ES350 last Dec 06, and after 18K miles, not a single problem. This car is extremely comfortable, stylish with outstanding quality, and best of all I average 26mpg city/hwy. Vented seats are the best for the hot AZ summer. All of this for under 40 grand, this vehicle is a great value!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Highly recommended

By on Sunday, September 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought the car with 24K miles and haven't regretted my decision once. It's got 58K now and other than routine maintenance and a heater fan replaced under warranty it's been perfect. It is no sports sedan but awfully nice to get into and drive a long distance in total comfort and quiet!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, September 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2004 Lexus ES 330

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this vehicle new in February 2004 and now have 51,000 miles on it. I have had many luxury and non-luxury vehicles. I completely love this car! I have never loved a car like this one! With 51,000 miles, I have never had to have any work done to this vehiicle except routine maintenance. This is an exceptional car and definitely worth every single penny!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

14 years later I still love my car.

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Responsive, comfortable, reliable."

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"14 years later I still love my car. Best car ever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Car expenses

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Need bigger cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car for 14 years, and except for tires, oil changes, and batteries have spent about $3000.00 OR APPX. $200.00/YEAR ON MAINTENANCE."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Quality,comfort,sporty design.

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Lexus makes fine cars but the '01 ES 300 is a much sportier, better looking car than later models."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals