Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 283 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next

Best vehicle I have owned.

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, great riding & comfortable on long trips"

Cons: "Repairs are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1999 ES-300 still looks like new and gets decent gas mileage. Usually it gets 25 mpg. Repairs are expensive but all service work was done by Lexus. I really appreciate the fact that the dealer where I live always gives me a loaner despite the fact that the car is 15 years old. The loaner is always a year old or newer. The Lexus service experience is like none other. You are certainly spoiled. Timing belt was replaced at 90-100,000 miles and service was done according to maintenance schedule. I will definitely purchase another Lexus from our local dealer."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great looking car

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stylish, dependable, luxurious"

Cons: "17 MPG in the city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from a fireman about a month ago who took great care of it, to use around town and on long trips to save miles on my BMW M3,to my surprise the car is very comfortable and elegant, even with the high mileage still runs and drives great, no engine or transmission issues, very dependable so far."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car ever. It just runs. Low maintenance!

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price. Low maintenance. Reliable."

Cons: "Cup holder problematic too shallow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable car I've ever owned. Low maintenance -just oil changes and tires. Very reliable as it has never failed to perform. She just keeps on moving. I kept her for my winter car, but ended up driving it more than a newer model that I own."

This is the best car that I ever owned. -Period!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I'm so glad that I bought it."

Cons: "When buying a vehicle-please have it checked out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All thou it's 17 years old, I've had it for 8 years now. I don't who the past owners but, I will very soon. Since buying this vehicle, I've replaced certain parts to my baby from a past poor maintenance program. Now, my vehicle is back on track. Changing oil every 3-5000 miles & having my mechanic check it thoroughly if any problems that will occur in the future. So far,so good. An excellent buy!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, cost effect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for 12 years. I rarely had to perform maintenance on it. I never broke down and left me stranded. It was quiet and comfortable to drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals